Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great product - I like the concept - thought the rods would be a bit bigger.
I wasn't sure what these were or how to use them; but the concept appealed to me in that it allows explanation of multiple maths concepts using a very simple tool. The cost was very reasonable so I bought them to "try out".
Having played around & read the information book I can see these are going to be a great help for my daughters for years to come...
Published 18 months ago by PMiF

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fair
I had a wooden set of Cuisenaire Rods as a child and loved playing with / using them. The various units were 1 centimetre square and of lengths 1 to 10 cm. They came in a very stout cardboard storage box with size dividers in it so that the rods could be sorted out. and a good tight fitting lid. These rods are made of rather low grade hard plastic and somewhat...
Published 6 months ago by A. Conroy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great product - I like the concept - thought the rods would be a bit bigger., 15 Feb 2013
By 
PMiF (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learning Resources Connecting Cuisenaire Rods Intro Set (Set of 74) (Office Product)
I wasn't sure what these were or how to use them; but the concept appealed to me in that it allows explanation of multiple maths concepts using a very simple tool. The cost was very reasonable so I bought them to "try out".
Having played around & read the information book I can see these are going to be a great help for my daughters for years to come!
Would have been 5 stars - but the rods are small ... perhaps I didn't read the description correctly but the smallest rod is 1 cm in length and less than that width & height.
I will however be using them lots.
5* Delivery - was well packaged & very prompt :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great teaching resource!, 6 July 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learning Resources Connecting Cuisenaire Rods Intro Set (Set of 74) (Office Product)
A superb teaching resource for aiding the learning of numbers and their values. It is particularly useful for children with dyslexia who need a very hands on, colour coded approach. Very good quality too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Connecting Cuisenaire Rod, 13 Nov 2011
By 
L. Vitalis (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Learning Resources Connecting Cuisenaire Rods Intro Set (Set of 74) (Office Product)
These small blocks/rods are great fun for my little one it help's them fine motor skills, counting and fractions great purchase would recommend. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fair, 27 Feb 2014
By 
A. Conroy (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learning Resources Connecting Cuisenaire Rods Intro Set (Set of 74) (Office Product)
I had a wooden set of Cuisenaire Rods as a child and loved playing with / using them. The various units were 1 centimetre square and of lengths 1 to 10 cm. They came in a very stout cardboard storage box with size dividers in it so that the rods could be sorted out. and a good tight fitting lid. These rods are made of rather low grade hard plastic and somewhat smaller; they lack the nice feel of the original wooden ones; they feel cheap. The box is very flimsy and all the rods are tessellated together to an exact fit. Nobody is ever going to go to the bother of putting them back in the box so they will quickly get lost if not stored in something stronger. I am sure that they are a useful tool for teaching basic level numeracy to a young child but today there are much better products available. If you can afford it buy a set of Numicon instead (not the big fancy sets but just the basic box of number blocks) they are much better quality and you can do way more stuff with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointed!!, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learning Resources Connecting Cuisenaire Rods Intro Set (Set of 74) (Office Product)
Do not be tempted to buy these. I bought this set of Cuisenaire Rods after reading the reviews but was very disappointed when I received them. They are very poor value for the amount you receive and the connectors make them impractical to use. There are only four ten rods so you can only count up to forty. Perhaps ok for a Reception aged child but very little use for a Year 1 or 2 child. I wish I had purchased wooden ones as they are easier to use. Once you have connected them they look like the same size rod making it harder for a child to visualise that e.g five lots of two make ten (5 x 2 = 10).
My grandson has a set of Numicon which are far easier to use. I wanted him to have a different resource for his counting but they are more useful as a fine motor skills building set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learning Resources Connecting Cuisenaire Rods Intro Set (Set of 74) (Office Product)
With the changes in the maths syllabus these are in fashion again, recommended by my 80 year old mother for my seven year old daughter to teach her fractions, they give a visual thing she can hold and divide so she can understand fractions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Any ideas?, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learning Resources Connecting Cuisenaire Rods Intro Set (Set of 74) (Office Product)
I wish people would actually try things out for a while before rattling off a review. There are no instructions to tell you how to use them, just a tiny piece of paper telling you how useful they are! Exactly HOW should they be used?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars plastic cuisenaire, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learning Resources Connecting Cuisenaire Rods Intro Set (Set of 74) (Office Product)
Good service in terms of del;ivory, but these plastic rods are not a patch on the wooden ones which I used as a child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fanatstique, 4 Mar 2014
By 
Dakin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learning Resources Connecting Cuisenaire Rods Intro Set (Set of 74) (Office Product)
very useful tool for learning math or hand eye coordination,.
i would recommend as it will be useful for years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Bent rods, 31 Dec 2013
By 
F. Lyczynska (Neath, West Glamorgan United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learning Resources Connecting Cuisenaire Rods Intro Set (Set of 74) (Office Product)
The idea of connecting roads is good but the orange roads were so bent that they don't show equivalence properly.
The company replaced the item with wooden rods but it's a shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews