Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive, immersive, challenging - still a classic
Although "Medieval II" has been out for over a year now, this first "Medieval: Total War" remains a classic. This Gold Edition contains both the original game and the "Viking Invasion" expansion pack, allowing for a variety of campaigns set between the years AD 793 and 1453.

The game is split into two sections. The first of these is the campaign mode. In this...
Published on 28 Nov 2007 by The Wanderer

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Concerning Crashes - 5 star game once sorted.
This is actually a 5 star game, but considering the number of people stating the same fault with crashing on loading the campaign, I'll post here what the problem may be in many cases.

I had the problem with crashes until I realised that the screen resolution on the PC must be the same as that under the video options of the game. The highest setting in the...
Published 7 months ago by Mr. Nicholas W. Le Huquet


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive, immersive, challenging - still a classic, 28 Nov 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Medieval: Total War - Gold Edition (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Although "Medieval II" has been out for over a year now, this first "Medieval: Total War" remains a classic. This Gold Edition contains both the original game and the "Viking Invasion" expansion pack, allowing for a variety of campaigns set between the years AD 793 and 1453.

The game is split into two sections. The first of these is the campaign mode. In this turn-based mode the player uses the map to control the kingdom at large, setting taxes, building units and facilities, managing his/her generals, moving armies and fleets, conducting diplomacy with rival factions and employing spies and assassins. The second mode is the real-time battle mode, in which the players commands his/her armies directly, positioning troops, selecting formations and tactics and engaging the enemy. The level of detail in this mode is excellent; the 3D landscapes are rendered with trees, hills, water and bridges; even the weather changes.

There are 15 playable factions on the standard (European) map and 8 on the Viking (British) map. Each of these have their own characteristic units (longbowmen for the English, Teutonic Knights for the Germans, Varangian Guard for the Byzantines, for example) and each demands a slightly different style of gameplay. The standard map can also be played in one of 3 time periods, chosen at the start of each game, with more or less advanced units and facilities available according to each. There are also five levels of difficulty, making the game adjustable for all levels of expertise. Aside from the main single player game, there are a number of historical campaigns to undertake, including the Hundred Years' War (featuring the Battles of Crécy and Agincourt) and the Third Crusade. There are also four standalone battles (including Hastings in 1066), a custom battle option, a quick battle option (ideal for filling coffee breaks) and a multiplayer mode.

Indeed there are few faults to be found with this game. My biggest disappointment (and it is a small one) is that there is no manual booklet included with this Gold Edition, only a PDF copy on the disc. Because it isn't possible to view the game and the manual at the same time, it does make learning the game somewhat difficult - and it does take some time to master its full complexity. On the other hand, its very complexity means that once learned it is very immersive - almost as if one were really running a medieval kingdom.

Addictive and challenging, "Medieval: Total War" is an excellent game, and even years after its original release, still highly playable. For people with older, lower-specification machines who may be unable to run "Medieval II", the original will prove ideal. Moreover, at the low price Amazon are currently offering it, it is an excellent buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Concerning Crashes - 5 star game once sorted., 20 Dec 2013
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Medieval: Total War - Gold Edition (PC DVD) (Video Game)
This is actually a 5 star game, but considering the number of people stating the same fault with crashing on loading the campaign, I'll post here what the problem may be in many cases.

I had the problem with crashes until I realised that the screen resolution on the PC must be the same as that under the video options of the game. The highest setting in the game under options->video is 1280x1024 resolution. Most modern PC's and laptops are greater than this.

If you right click on the PC screen an option will be screen resoltion. Simply change this to 1280x1024, and when starting the game also change the resoltion to 1280x1024. The campaign game should now play fine.

It took me two years to realise this!

Edit:
The ongoing problem with crashes concerns the graphics card and drivers.
The above solution is correct for the Geforce 210 Nvidia graphics card.

My PC crashed since that revue, and I changed to an ATI Radeon X600 card for a few days. I could not get that card to work at all, not with any fix suggested on the net. ATI cards need an older driver to work apparantly.

I am now using an AMD Radeon 7480D card with the latest drivers. Sometimes the PC will want to auto adjust the resolution, and then while it does this the monitor will eventually go to sleep. Turning off and on the monitor at this point took me to the correct screen? Also the game is less likely to auto adjust if the campaign settings under Options -> Video -> campaign resolution is 1024x768.

Appears there is no single correct solution to the problem, but if you can play the campaign it is very addictive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars fantastic game, lousy edition, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Medieval: Total War - Gold Edition (PC DVD) (Video Game)
first: the game itself, which I have owned and thoroughly enjoyed for many, many years, is fantastic.

but: this gold edition is more or less useless. It is impossible to start and play the campaign game with this gold edition, as soon as you try to start a campaign - any campaign - the game immediately crashes. this is on both XP, which it is made for, and Vista and Windows 7, which I didnt expect it to work on.

it is possible to play custom and historic battles with this gold edition, but that is a meagre comfort when the grand campaign itself for some reason is not playable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars maybe the best Total War games?, 29 July 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Medieval: Total War - Gold Edition (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Ok so a few reviews here have complained about the graphics(this is an old game) and controls which are fine btw, and crashes which is something they could fix with maybe a patch or visiting the total war forums for help, these things can 90% of the time be fixed in most games.

What you should know is that out of all the Total War games the first Medieval game(along with the Viking expansion) is widely thought of as the high point in the series. If you add in some of the excellent player made free mods you can download for it you easily end up with the best game in the series(and i've played them all).

Really it's about the AI and the graphics. For some reason after this game the AI in the total war games went downhill, maybe because the games were getting too complex in the battle engines? But anyway if you want a good challange rather than just a walkover this game is the best of the bunch(bar Shogun possibly). Graphics are fake 3D, the character models are still sprite based rather than the full 3D models that followed in the later games, but really in the thick of battle you wont really notice too much, and importantly this is a game where not most of the development effort went on making nice graphics, this game is more than that.

So dont be put of by the couple of negative comments, get this game(it's very cheap!) and visit the Total War website for patches and mods and enjoy this epic strategy game, the best of the Total War games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Old school classic, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Medieval: Total War - Gold Edition (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Big fan of the genre and this game. The fact that you could randomly win generals for your armies was fun and the devastating impact of some types of troops on enemy lines was a joy to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well., 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Medieval: Total War - Gold Edition (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Good fast delivery and the game was perfectly preserved and ready to conquer Europe with England, this is a must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars As good as I remember it., 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Medieval: Total War - Gold Edition (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I'd not played this game in easily seven years before I picked it up again. Still thoroughly enjoyable, with a very impressive roster of units, a nice selection of campaign maps and an AI that puts that in most subsequent Total War titles to shame. Graphically it hasn't aged well, but given it was over a decade ago when it was released that's hardly surprising. I did originally try this on a 2004 laptop which was well within the specs for this, but suffered an extreme amount of lag; moving it to a newer computer, I've had surprisingly few issues with it, given the mountain of problems with other games from the same era, but there have been a few freezes and occasionally the audio doesn't seem to be in synch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Campaigns won't load., 10 Nov 2013
By 
T. J. Heywood "Tom Heywood" (East Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Medieval: Total War - Gold Edition (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I had previously bought the original game, but had lost somewhere, so a year or two later, I had bought this version and tried to use it with my newer laptop that had Vista. As with a few other users, I cannot get the campaigns to load up. It gets to the progress bar, and once that finishes, it decides to shut down. I'm not sure if it is because the game does not like Vista, but I'd not bother with this.

Shame as the game is actually very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Buyer Beware!, 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Medieval: Total War - Gold Edition (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Have always loved this game and played it to death when I first it bought years ago. However having just re-purchased it looks as though this version has a distinct dislike of newer machines. It refuses to work on my new Lenovo office PC, my year old Samsung laptop AND my three year old Dell home PC. So word to the wise go for Total War 2 and sadly ignore Total War1 (unless you have an old PC!!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's different to say the least, 7 Jan 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Medieval: Total War - Gold Edition (PC DVD) (Video Game)
The game itself is brilliant, but its campaign layout is so different from what I'm used to, I find it extremely difficult. You battle for regional control instead of individual battles. In terms of graphics in the battles I would struggle to find better, even in Empire and Napoleon. For those who have played the total war games, you will recieve negative results but it would be a brilliant game for beginners to the total war saga, as many people can find them complicated :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Medieval: Total War - Gold Edition (PC DVD)
Medieval: Total War - Gold Edition (PC DVD) by Mastertronic Ltd (Windows XP)
Used & New from: 1.04
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews