Customer Reviews


440 Reviews
5 star:
 (387)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of their best
This film was released when I was 1 year old and my mum bought it for me when I was two-ish. I fell in love with it, and watched it so much that you would have thought I'd grow sick of it. But I never have. It's THAT GOOD.
The characters are wonderful. By this point Disney seemed to have realised that all their heroines needn't be blonde, bland and...
Published on 5 Mar 2006

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Bought for kids
Purchased to keep kids quiet not my kind of movie but still it is Disney & I suppose a possible future classic
Published 11 months ago by Steven Clark


‹ Previous | 1 244 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of their best, 5 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This film was released when I was 1 year old and my mum bought it for me when I was two-ish. I fell in love with it, and watched it so much that you would have thought I'd grow sick of it. But I never have. It's THAT GOOD.
The characters are wonderful. By this point Disney seemed to have realised that all their heroines needn't be blonde, bland and harmless. Ariel is very spirited, you might almost call her a bit of a brat, but she's also insanely lovable. The relationship between her and her father is so well played out. I challenge anyone to watch the ending when she says 'I love you, Daddy' and to not shed a tear. Her sidekicks Sebastian, Flounder and Scuddle are all hilarious, especialy the Jamaican crab Sebastian.
However, my two favourite characters are the evil sea witch Ursula, and Louis the French chef. Ursualla is so fabulous yet so evil, like Cruella Devil but with tentacles. You've just got to love her, despite her nastiness. And Louis is only a bit part, but his scene where he tries to capture Sebastian (with the music for the can-can in the background) has me screaming with laughter.
In conclusion: Buy it. Watch it with your children. And your grandchildren. I know this will still be popular for generations to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hans Christian Andersons Masterpiece of The Little Mermaid, 4 July 2008
By 
M. C. Crawley "Martin Crawley" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Hans Christian Anderson would be proud of this magical transformation onto celluloid of one of Disney's finest animation tales.....Ariel wants to see what goes on above sea level against her father's (King Tritan) wishes....she does a deal with Ursula the Sea Witch that could mean the end for her whole underworld kingdom despite being guided by her two underwater friends Sebastion her reggae singing crab friend and Flounder her devoted fish sidekick.....This 2 disc special edition is a real improvement on the older grainy 1 disc version as the colours are cleaner and brighter....On the Audio the sound is improved with Disney's new enhanced mix which surrounds the room on any home cinema surround set-up with great bass depth and clarity....Listen to the hit songs "Under The Sea" and "Kiss the Girl" with a more cinema like surround.....The extra's are many but one of the most touching is the animated short of "The Little Match Girl" this is a real winner.....You will not be disappointed by this fantastic 2 disc Special Edition as it is come very Highly Recommended....enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect addition to the collection - Blu Ray Review, 15 Sep 2013
Starting from when Beauty and the Beast was first released on blu ray with classic numbering on its side, I've found myself collecting the majority of the releases to build up the set, and have been eagerly awaiting this as one of the better installments of the franchise.

The film itself would be an easy 9/10 as there are moments where the animation feels a little stilted and halfhearted (almost entirely in the opening sequence with the very plain dolphins etc) which drag it down, but once we first encounter the characters, the film picks up and never lets it sag for a moment.

The blu ray transfer is flawless, as mentioned in regards to the opening animation, I did have an initial concern when watching that it might look TOO clean and really highlight the flaws to detriment of the film, but this was not the case, and instead the colours are rich and vibrant and sound perfectly balanced between dialogue and musical interludes. Speaking of said musical numbers, absolute highlights of the transfer would be the flashy visuals to Poor Unfortunate Souls, and the enhanced mood and beauty to Kiss The Girl - both have never looked or sounded better. Overall transfer gets another 9/10 due to the slight issue taken with the initial few minutes as mentioned earlier. However if you have never had any issues the style and animation there, than this definately gets the extra point to a perfect 10.
The extra features are nicely varied and whilst personally not many I'd re-watch, all were interesting to at least see the once.

Of the many Disney blu rays I have seen thus far, this is easily one of the best transfers - right up there with the likes of Beauty and the Beast and Tangled and a must buy for any fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Under the Sea, 5 Aug 2005
This delightful children's film is a timeless Walt Disney classic and is based on the fairytale by Hans Christian Anderson. It focuses on life under the sea, in particular Ariel, a mermaid princess who falls in love with a human prince named Eric. She rescues him from the sea when his ship is struck by lightening and sunk. On her quest to win his heart she meets the sea witch Ursula, who's ultimate desire is to rule the ocean, and transforms her from a mermaid into a human but at a price, Ariel's voice. She has 3 days to win Eric's heart but if she fails she will become mermaid once more and be Ursula's forever..........
The Little Mermaid is typical of its genre; it has a certain charm which draws the children (and parents) into watching it. The film includes an array of fun characters including Sebastian, the reggae singing crab, and flounder, Ariel's faithful companion. Sebastian brings a real humour to the film and after a vague start it can be assured that by the end of the film everyone will warm to him. Another amusing character is Scuttle the Seagull who claims to be the expert on all things human. So when presented with a fork from one of Ariel's ship exploration's, declares ' now this is a dinglehopper which humans use to comb their hair with'. The colourful animation keeps children riveted and the Oscar winning sing-along tunes involve the family with the film. Another element which keeps the children engaged is the fact that the film is only 79 minutes long, which as any parent knows the shorter the film, the better, otherwise the small children get agitated and bored. A good storyline is always vital and this Hans Christian Anderson fairytale is the perfect, enchanting tale. It contains key characters such as the dashing prince (Eric), evil witch (sea witch, Ursula), sidekick (Sebastian), protective father (King Triton) and, of course, the damsel (Ariel). As with all successful children's films the story has a happy ending and leaves the viewer feeling uplifted and joyful. Definitely a must see film for all the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best disney film not under walt's supervision., 29 April 2000
By A Customer
The little mermaid is the best.You'll meet Ariel the mermaid in love with a human and her unforgettable friends,flounder the fish,sebastian the crab and scuttle the seagull.You'll also meet Ursula the great villainess and many more characters.Also experience the award winning music(you'll be dancing in your seat.) This movie on DVD is excellent but it could have more features,nevertheless you see this masterpiece in all it's true glory! It is certainly my fave film of all time and I'm a 15 year old lad!Enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Little Mermaid, 5 July 2004
By A Customer
The Little Mermaid is by far the best movie ever. It is a story of love between a beautiful headstrong mermaid called Ariel and a human prince called Eric.She has the most beautiful voice in all of Atlantica. One day she saves the young prince from drowning and falls deeply in love with him. But her father, King Triton, disapproves and destroys her hidden trove full of human treasures. She trades her voice with the evil sea witch, Ursula, to become a human for three days and to make him kiss her otherwise she becomes a mermaid again. But Ursula has plans to take Atlantica and steal Tritons kingdom from him. This has to be the greatest Disney movie of all time and i have loved it ever since i was a little girl (i am 16 now, the same age as Ariel!) and i still adore it. I highly recommend this to anyone. (The soundtrack's great too)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watery Good Fun..., 5 Nov 2006
14 years before 'Finding Nemo' splashed into cinemas, 'The Little Mermaid' had already taught us that it is indeed better, down where it's wetter Take It From Meeee....

where do i start This delightful Disney-fied adaptation of Hans Christian Anderson's tale of the same name still holds its own after all these years of advancements in animation. It's partly because the studio really pushes the boat out, as it were, when it comes to getting the visuals right. But it's also because this is a great story, with a strong female lead, a nice array of supporting characters, suspense and romance in all the right places and some better-than-decent tunes.

Jodi Benson does a fantastic job as the voice of Ariel, the "little mermaid" of the title (actually, she's 16 so not really all that little) For reasons we can only hazard a guess at, she longs to leave her deep sea life behind her and live up-top with the human types. So, despite the strong advice of King Triton (who's also her dear old daddy), she makes a deal with the tentacled seahag Ursula which involves swapping her voice for a pair of legs. The catch? She's got to get the handsome and unfortunately named Prince Eric to snog her before the sun goes down on the third day, or she'll be tossed back into the sea like an old trout Of course, it goes without saying that pop's is gonna chuck a wobbler when he finds out lol

The colourful and imaginative backdrops make for a visual treat, particularly in the underwater scenes, whilst the characters are much better written than many of their counterparts from other Disney flicks of the period. Perhaps the only exception to that is witchy woman Ursula, who's a bit like Madam Mim from 'The Sword and the Stone' only without the comedy value. And you can't help but wonder why, if she's such a great sorceress, she doesn't use some of that magic to make herself vaguely presentable instead of living her life as some sort of aquatic Grotbags.

i hope this review helps. to those who are not already familiar with the little mermaid my advice is simple.. "BUY IT" and if you have seen it my advice again is 'BUY IT' i have been waiting for the release of the little mermaid for years' all we need next is 'BEAUTY AND THE BEAST' :) hope you lovely people of amazon enjoy this film..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best disney film ever made., 4 Dec 2003
By 
The little mermaid is my favourite disney film, and in my opinion one of the best disney films. Although i think that all disney films are all brilliant and loveable, the little mermaid is by far the strongest. The storyline, the characters, the songs, and the animation are all extremely strong. the film does not have ANY weak points. With most disney films you will get great storylines, but it will lack strong characters or good songs. The little mermaid stays strong in all aspects. Brilliant memoirable, loveable, 'real' characters like sebastian. Extremely strong songs(all of them!!!) how could you ever forget 'under the sea', 'kiss the girl' or 'part of your world'...there is not one rubbish song.
And the one of little mermaids strongest points for me is the animation, even before the digitally remastered version came out the animation was incredible. How the light dances on the sea bed...
The film is a masterpiece. It is beautiful, funny, and makes you feel all soft inside. I am 19 years old, and this is my favourite film EVER!!!!! and now after letting my nieces watch it is their favourite as well. They've worn out my tape!!!
For me, it is by far the best disney film ever made. watch it and i promise you will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The new golden age of Disney, 15 Nov 2006
By 
T. Cosens (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Little Mermaid was the film to kick start a flagging company. It re-invented a genre and shed new and interesting light on all animated movies to follow.

To say this movie inspired is an understatment when you look at what has followed in the last decade: Aladdin, The lion King and the sublime Beauty and The Beast!

So why was The Little Mermaid so good? Well to start with you have some of the most memorable characters in Disney history. You'll never forget the panicked tones of Sebastion, the ever faithful crab, or the wicked and fantastically theatrical Sea Witch, Ursula! But most of all you have a brilliantly cheerful and endearing heroine to root for!

And then you have the wonderfully bubbly tunes that help move the story on without clogging the running time or getting in the way. You'll be humming "Under the Sea" for days afterwards.

This dvd does an excellent job of restoring the quality of the picture. It's colourful and bright. The sound is perfectly crisp. I dont usually mention the special features, but even they are worth a mention this time, with an interesting and informative look at the making of a classic and important film in Disney's history!

A film which has been loved for nearly twenty years, will now be loved by more generations to come. Buy and enjoy. This should be in any dvd collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make it a "Part of your world"., 18 Mar 2004
By 
The Little Mermaid is undoubtably one of the best animated Disney films and is one to treasure forever.
The story is loosely based on the Hans Christian Andersan tale of a young mermaid who wishes to be part of the Human world. However, unlike the fairy tale, this has a happy ending.
Ariel is a fantastic heroine, headstrong and independant. She falls in love with the rather wooden Prince Eric and trades her voice with the sea witch Ursula in the hope of his returning her affection.
The story is romantic but also has its fair share of drama in it. The characters of Sebastian, Scuttle and Flounder add the comic relief. The moral of true love conquering all is a very Disney ideal but something you'd definately want your kids to see! I would recommend this highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 244 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Little Mermaid [DVD] [1990] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Used & New from: £8.45
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews