Customer Reviews


112 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well, Josh Hartnett CAN act...
...though you can be forgiven for thinking he was relying on his good looks to build himself a career after seeing some of his other films. I don't know how "Lucky Number Slevin" did in the box office, but if there was justice in the world it should have been a hit. As it is... I sincerely recommend it as a rental.

The dizzying interiors notwithstanding, the...
Published on 6 Mar 2007 by Dinky

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, not bad at all!
Now after being branded as the 'Revolver' of the year by Empire, I started to have my doubts however I'm glad I stuck with this because it turned out to be a clever gangster smash, tragically damaged by a poor script and dodgy flashbacks.

Now basically without revealing spoilers, Josh Hartnett plays a guy who is about to have the worst day of his life as a case...
Published on 13 Jun 2006 by Kemp


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well, Josh Hartnett CAN act..., 6 Mar 2007
By 
This review is from: Lucky Number Slevin [DVD] (DVD)
...though you can be forgiven for thinking he was relying on his good looks to build himself a career after seeing some of his other films. I don't know how "Lucky Number Slevin" did in the box office, but if there was justice in the world it should have been a hit. As it is... I sincerely recommend it as a rental.

The dizzying interiors notwithstanding, the plot is slick, compelling, and insufficiently shallow to be dismissable. (And if you're a fan of 70's decor, then the interiors will be dazzling rather than as described.) The acting is uniformly convincing -- nothing less than you can expect from such an impressive cast, I suppose, though disappointments have been known -- and the story twists and turns without falling off the rails of its own ingenuity. The violence can be somewhat startling, but if you're in the mood for a thinking thriller, rent this. Or buy it, if you're a fan of any of the cast. It's a pretty good film to include in their CV's, and the plot is complex enough to warrant repeat viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sit, quiet, watch, end-of., 2 Feb 2010
By 
P. J. Harris (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lucky Number Slevin [DVD] (DVD)
Listen to noone, take no advice, don't take preconceptions or past reviews or opinions. Get it, sit down, don't talk, don't move, don't expect or discuss. Watch and learn. This is a movie for movie lovers, this is not a chick flick, Brit flick, rom-com, thriller or comedy. It writes and re-writes its genre at each turn, you flinch in disgust 2 seconds from a laugh out loud. You think you may have heard a line before but before you identify what heads-up it is and to what film classic - you hear another line you never thought would make in to celluloid. Not a ham part in the house, not a dull moment. Twists are just that, they are not 'Sixth Sense' in impact but then again until that movie came along neither was any other movie. 10/10 in acting, cinematography, style and substance. This is one of only 2 movies in my life I would have entered into blind. Genius, simple genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A goofy thriller, great fun!, 8 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: Lucky Number Slevin [DVD] (DVD)
A very enjoyable film with an excellent and pitch-perfect cast, which reminded me of the season 3 Farscape episode "Scratch 'N Sniff". It maintains a crazy energy throughout, mainly because much of the added narration is conveyed in a succession of quick and oddball images. There is a neat little twist at the end and even if it didn't come as a total surprise, the 'reveal' sequence carries with it a number of smaller twists which you won't have seen coming. What is more the story is strong enough that it isn't spoilt by knowing the ending, and is just as enjoyable on repeat viewing. The set design and wardrobe are almost characters in their own right, very bright and comic-booky during the first part of the film but changing tone for the final part, perfectly complementing the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice one Bruce. And the rest., 18 July 2006
By 
Michael Hammond (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lucky Number Slevin [DVD] (DVD)
Impressively cast, well acted, funny and cleverly written dark comedy that is definitely worth a look. Keeping company with legends such as Morgan Freeman, Ben Kingsley and Bruce Willis (who has been taking more and more great roles recently), Josh Hartnett takes the lead in the title role and plays it well. Freeman and Kingsley are as ever faultless and brilliant. Willis is fantastic in this kind of role. The dark, understated, non-action-blockbuster, big cast thrillers suit him well. Keep it up Bruce. To top off this top-notcher, Lucy Lui is looking gorgeous in her role as the love interest. Put it on your list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what a tangled web we weave, 17 July 2007
By 
T. Noever "Author of the TETHYS series" (Brisbane, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lucky Number Slevin [DVD] (DVD)
Following on from the good things already said by others:

It's one of those flicks where nothing is as it seems, and I'm definitely going to give it a second viewing, because in the end I realized how everything was just so nicely wrapped up and the tangled web untangled itself in that second most pure of motivating emotions: REVENGE (the first one being 'Love' of course). You think 'The Bride' in Kill Bill is p-oed? Kiddo, you ain't seen nothing yet. Just about everybody in LNS dies by bullets, projected from silenced semi-automatics--not swords--but it works just as well. Lots of brains and gore spattering across the place, plus a neat twist at the end in a tale of a gazillion tangles and twists and quick non-linear time warps to explain what the hell was actually going on. And things just ain't what they seem. Nothing ever is.

Revenge in LNS was not a dish eaten completely cold. In the final act, when the worst offender of them all gets his brains spattered across the inside of his car, the purity of the emotion and its raw darkness--and at the same time it's utter inevitability and sheer rightness--is beautifully portrayed by an actor, for whom I have acquired a new respect; for he evidences both, a subtle comic timing that needs to be seen to be believed, as well as a capacity to look like an almost-evil implacable dispenser of justice that had been far too long in coming. Very nicely done. Highly recommended for those of my disposition--though those of more tender sensibilities might find the blood and gore somewhat off-putting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stylish, 26 Jan 2008
By 
OEJ & SKY - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lucky Number Slevin [DVD] (DVD)
Difficult to avoid Tarantino references in any review of this film - not only does it show the same kind of style, it even has some actors QT used in Jackie Brown (Robert Forster) and Kill Bill (Lucy Liu), not to mention Bruce Willis from Pulp Fiction of course. Given the prelude of a family assassination back in 1979 over a corrupt betting ring, it wasn't too hard to figure out that Slevin (Josh Hartnett) wasn't the innocent wrong-place/wrong time victim he makes himself out to be when he's abducted by gangsters and that the character played by Bruce Willis has a big connection with what went down all those years ago. The characterisations aren't quite Tarantino fare but the storyline and overall production design definitely is, and I for one didn't mind it at all. Ultimately it's a tale of revenge and with a liking for the old eye-for-an-eye deliverance. Personally I liked it, although I thought Morgan Freeman was slightly miscast in the role of the big bad gangsta boss. Hartnett impressed more than any other though, as he really showed two different characters in each half of the film: one the nice and innocent good guy, the other a cool and deadly assassin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clever, funny, entertaining, 23 Mar 2008
This review is from: Lucky Number Slevin [DVD] (DVD)
Intriguing from the start, where a sucession of murders are carried out by unknown assasains, and entertaining throughout.

Bruce Willis explains at the start how story began: with "the Kansas City Shuffle". Slevin (Josh Hartnett) (and his towel) have dropped in to stay with Nick. But Nick has disappeared. Lyndsey (Lucy Liu) is the excellent girl from across the hallway, trying to solve the mystery of what has happened to Nick, whilst all the gangsters - The Boss (Morgan Freeman) and The Rabbi (Ben Kingsley) - think that Slevin is Nick...

The film won awards for the soundtrack, but I would have given it awards for the retro wallpaper and the design of the gangsters lairs, which were very stylish.

The film is really enjoyable, although the DVD extras were disappointing. The "making of" film is a succession of actors & film crew just saying how great everyone else on the film is, although the theatrical trailers are a masterclass in editing, but rather full of spoilers.

Watch and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slow start, excellent ending, 7 July 2007
By 
I. Paley (Cheshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lucky Number Slevin [DVD] (DVD)
For the first twenty minutes of the film you'll be sat there trying to work out what the hell is going on and wondering if you're going to have sit through the full 2 hours of the film in pretty much the same state.

Stick with it, the perseverance is well worth it. Bruce Willis, whilst not at his best here, still has enough class to carry the film on his own, but he doesn't need to when he has the support of the supremely talented Morgan Freeman and Ben Kingsley. Lucy Liu is, as always, energetic and refreshing and adds light relief when it is seriously needed as this film would have been a little too dark without her.

My only real complaint is with Josh Hartnett. I'm not a fan, never have been, but he seems to be getting even more wooden with age. Surely they could have found a better young actor for this role?

The plot is excellent, from a slow start it gathers pace nicely and has some decent twist - thoroughly recommend the film to anyone with the patience to let it grow on them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 25 Feb 2007
By 
Tangerine "tangerineman" (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Lucky Number Slevin [DVD] (DVD)
I really, really enjoyed this. Very stylish, executed to perfection with very good performances from Morgan Freeman, Sir Ben Kingsley, Bruce Willis and Josh Hartnett (whose efforts did surprise me). Hartnett demonstrates he can play a far more complex role than I thought. Lucy Liu was also very impressive and I was glad that she wasn't cast as some tough, hard nosed lady which is something she seems to get after her efforts in Ally McBeal. I can't really understand how anyone would fail to 'get' the story. It all works out in the end and is very, very good. All I'd say is that its an intelligent story thats been well thought out. Its well executed too. Get this and don't base your opinion on it until the end. Its one of those rare films these days that works on a the basic principle that all stories should follow. Have a beginning, a middle and an end. Even if you see the beginning at the end it doesn't matter if it all falls into place. You'll know what I mean once you've seen it! Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "This is a Kansas City shuffle. They look right and you...go left", 5 Oct 2007
By 
Sebastian Fernandez (Tampa, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lucky Number Slevin [DVD] (DVD)
After hearing from friends and reading about this movie being associated with Tarantino's work, I promised to myself I would not go for that comparison in my review. Well...maybe promise is too strong a word. There is nothing I can do, because the film is exactly, and I mean exactly, the type of production you would associate with the creator of "Pulp Fiction" and "Reservoir Dogs". And to tell you the truth, those two films are a very good benchmark, if you liked them, you will definitely enjoy this movie.

There is one aspect of the film that is going to put some people off right away: the non-linear plot. If you enjoy a film in which the different scenes have a clear relationship to each other, you may want to skip this one. However, if you have a good time with movies that give you what seem like unrelated tidbits of action, until these are connected towards the end, it is time to check cell number 1. Cell number 2 relates to violence, and this film has a pretty good amount of the vicious type of it, accompanied by loud sound effects. In this sense, once again, think "Pulp Fiction" and if you are good with that experience, you get to check cell 2. Finally, we get to a more common ground among viewers; those that like surprising twists in the plot and unexpected connections among characters that make you go "Aha!", which I think is the majority of people, can check cell 3.

After you get your three checks, add on top of that some really great performances by an all-star cast, and great music Tarantino-style (sigh, I did it again), and you have the full package. Now sit back and enjoy, just as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lucky Number Slevin [DVD]
Lucky Number Slevin [DVD] by Paul McGuigan (DVD - 2006)
£2.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews