Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent, under-rated series
Whilst I hear this is big in The States, in the UK the 4400 gets very little coverage and airtime, which is a shame. I'm not even sure if it's made terrestrial TV, or has only been on Sky

The series is based in the realm of SciFi, with people having special abilities. However, the focus and premise of the whole show is the affects these have on the human...
Published on 3 July 2006 by P. A. Duckmanton

versus
33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic show, but choose R1 instead!
Another great show from former Star Trek - writers and producers, the 4400 continues it's great run into the second season. As a Sci-Fi or mystery-fan you absolutely owe it to yourself to get this, but the region1-version is much better than this european rip-off. The people responsible for this are most likely the same ones that mistreated the code2 release of "The Dead...
Published on 12 July 2006 by Kevin Berne


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic show, but choose R1 instead!, 12 July 2006
By 
Kevin Berne (Nussloch , Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 4400 - Complete 2nd Season [DVD] (DVD)
Another great show from former Star Trek - writers and producers, the 4400 continues it's great run into the second season. As a Sci-Fi or mystery-fan you absolutely owe it to yourself to get this, but the region1-version is much better than this european rip-off. The people responsible for this are most likely the same ones that mistreated the code2 release of "The Dead Zone", where all the extras were missing. Furthermore, as with "Dead Zone" before, the picture quality is significantly inferior to the code1 pendant. It looks like they took the NTSC transfer and converted it to PAL, resulting in a lack of sharpness and some bleeding. Overall, the fantastic visuals even of the first season code2 release, obviously done a little bit more careful, are lost.

The bottom line is, if you have a multi-region player, please do not finance this kind of behaviour by paying 150% of the region1-price for a vastly inferior product without any extras and a lazy low quality image transfer.

Anyway, this show rocks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent, under-rated series, 3 July 2006
By 
P. A. Duckmanton "ducky2108" (Glasgow, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The 4400 - Complete 2nd Season [DVD] (DVD)
Whilst I hear this is big in The States, in the UK the 4400 gets very little coverage and airtime, which is a shame. I'm not even sure if it's made terrestrial TV, or has only been on Sky

The series is based in the realm of SciFi, with people having special abilities. However, the focus and premise of the whole show is the affects these have on the human subjects and their friends, and the show is plot driven rather than by set pieces. While not as fast paced as other SciFi series, the slow, gradual unfolding of the plot makes a refreshing change in a format that can be at times formulaic. After watching all the episodes, I can't wait for the next season.

I'd recommend this to people who enjoy SciFi, but I'd also recommend it to those who don't. It's definitely more of a Lost type series than it is a Star Trek.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great show but no extras!, 12 Jun 2006
By 
Mrs Maturin (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The 4400 - Complete 2nd Season [DVD] (DVD)
The second series of 'The 4400' is much better than the first. It is a brilliant mix of Sci-Fi and drama, making it well worth a watch.

My only quibble is that the Region 2 DVD has no extras, whereas the Region 1 did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A welcome return, 14 Oct 2006
By 
Amazon Customer "Boo62" (Ilkeston Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The first season set the tone, 4400 people are returned to Earth simultaniously having been abducted over the years previously. They return each having been given a power previously unseen, some for good, others not.

So the second season begins with us now waiting to see what happens to the 4400 centre and it's egomaniacal owner, 2 former friends now divided, one the star of the new centre the other seemingly a nobody. The staff of the government office tasked to keep an eye on the 4400, (NTAC), and their personal lives,(the 2 main officers both have 4400 children ),and so on.

Many of the individual shows are their own little story, like the 4400 who has the power to help people lose weight, and are quite able to stand up on their own aside from the main storyline. But it's the main story arc where the show is at it's strongest and provides the most surprises. It would spoil it to say anything about these character based revelations and twists & turns but suffice to say many of the people who you think you've got to grips with take some truly shocking decisions and carry out actions you could not have guessed beforehand, some even die.

To be honest I find myself buying more tv shows than films these days, the effects are often on a par, as are the 5.1 sound and picture quality. But most of all it seems that where Hollywood is intent on mining old ideas television keeps trying for something different and has the time to develop those ideas. That is illustrated perfectly in season 2 of the 4400. It has so much depth as it advances the original tentative ideas of season 1 and instead of just rehashing them takes chances and moves on.

There are making of docs and some commentary extras and the sound and picture are both good.

If you haven't seen the 4400 previously then I would suggest you go for season 1 first as it explains a lot. If you have seen season 1 but have yet to purchase this then rest assured it is even better and gives itself the time to unfold.

This show is well made, acted and developed. The acting is good and it moves forward with flair and imagination. Looking forward to season 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Soapy superheroes, 8 Aug 2012
This review is from: The 4400 - Complete 2nd Season [DVD] (DVD)
Let me start by saying that I quite enjoyed 4400 S1. The whole premise was interesting, if not necessarily realised to the maximum. My criticism with S1 was that the scope and width of the story is too much, too many 'main' characters with too much chopping and changing of scenes between them. It soon felt like Home & Away 'with added superpowers.'

As one might expect, S2 continues in a similar way, and after a dozen episodes, this begins to become such an irritant that I often became bored halfway through each episode. Then came the episode that was told in some Inception-like dream sequence alternate reality. From that moment on, the series 'jumped the shark' for me and I never really cared at all after that. The last episode made some amends, but I won't be bothering with S3.

No extras on the discs felt a bit miserly too, but to be honest, except perhaps for a music video for the theme, I probably wouldn't have watched them anyway. 6/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A solid 3-star season, 18 Nov 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 4400 - Complete 2nd Season [DVD] (DVD)
I thought the first season of `The 4400' was really entertaining television and very promising, with enough suspense and drama to equal Steven Spielberg's `Taken'. But then it went on to carve out it's own sci-fi persona with the surprise revelation in the final episode and I was very interested to begin the second season, especially with the glowing reviews on Amazon. But to my disappointment largely this season fails to deliver anywhere near as well as the previous one.

The problem for me was that often I just couldn't believe in the choices the characters made. Richard and Lilly escape from Jordan Collier at the end of season two, but that threat was never going to be sufficient, because Collier is a character whose motives remain grey in the early episodes of this season and so the writers introduce a very weak story device to increase the couple's anxiety and fears of settling down, spurring them to go on the run once more until (rather anti-climactically) in episode 4- `Suffer the Children' (6/10) they're brought back into the 4400 fold. It was also a mystery to me why Shawn stayed at Collier's side in those first handful of episodes when so often he demonstrated his arrogance, self-interest and abused his powers so readily.

Then episode 6- `Life Interrupted' (8/10) comes along and things start to improve. It begins quite predictably with Tom transported to an alternate reality where the 4400 never existed. But by the end, and with the introduction of new 4400 and love-interest Alana the scope for this series once again broadens. Unfortunately the following episodes don't really follow that trend by exploring the motives of those who created the 4400, but at least the final episode `Mommy's Bosses' (7/10) ties up the few loose ends and hints at some interesting themes in season three.

The scope felt so huge in the beginning, limitless even for the potential of stories for this show and I enjoyed some of the ideas in season two, but the story-arc spread across the season doesn't really grab the viewer and too often it feels as if the main protagonists behave totally out of character only so the season's story-arc can be allowed to develop. Still enjoyable stuff and I'll be tuning into season three to find out all that happens next...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars See for yourself how good this program is!, 19 Nov 2006
By 
This review is from: The 4400 - Complete 2nd Season [DVD] (DVD)
After watching season 1, I was looking forward to the second season, at first I thought it was a little expensive to say there is only 12 episodes but decide to buy it anyway. Now I just think it was a close toss up between DS9, Lost season 1, Battlestar Galactica Season 2 and 4400 season 2, but yes 4400 season 2 just edged it for me, now this is officially the best TV series or television viewing in general including all film, that I have ever seen.

For those of you who have seen season 1 and thought it was ok, you have to by season 2 you wont be disappointed, the story I feel thickens from season one, the characters evolve more, and the series gabs our hole attention from start to finish, and for me just left me counting down the days till I can watch the next season.

There are so many good points to this series that you don't know what to list, the best thing for me is the characters, everyone plays there part extremely well in this series, there is no exception all the characters are good and all the actors bring there character to life.

To really grab the full enjoyment of the show, you will have to watch season 1 first and not miss a single episode which is easy because there are not many, and even once you have watched it there are some episodes that are so good you can watch them again and again.

I sure that this program will continue to grow and grow and cant wait till I have all the box sets once the program is finished, and I shore this is one that I will watch again and again in years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As advertised, thank you., 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 4400 - Complete 2nd Season [DVD] (DVD)
I have'nt seen this for a few year's, so it was a thrill to have it again, really good condition as well, thank's!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars really good, 27 Mar 2014
By 
W Scobie - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 4400 - Complete 2nd Season [DVD] (DVD)
found season one cheap and really got into it so am now getting the rest. great series with an interesting main plot idea cant wait to see how it continues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars buy this, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 4400 - Complete 2nd Season [DVD] (DVD)
I think if you havent seen this series you have missed out on something, if you are a scifi fan, I had never come across it before and couldnt wait to purchase all of the series, so that I had them ready to watch. I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The 4400 - Complete 2nd Season [DVD]
The 4400 - Complete 2nd Season [DVD] by Joel Gretsch (DVD - 2006)
10.82
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews