Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moray please!
Poor Man's Heaven
I stumbled on this album quite by accident, and am I glad I did. Folk music is alive and kicking if this new brigade of young turks are anything to go by...
Sounding like a Seth Lakeman/Ben Christophers hybrid, Moray shares that particular brand of tender strength necessary to convincingly sell more 'traditional' music to 21st century...
Published on 2 Feb 2009 by Ms. Rebekah Williams

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A curate's egg
I hadn't heard Jim Moray's debut album, but after being badgered by a friend to try him out, I decided to get this one. To be honest, I'm still not totally sure about him.

The best tracks are the ones with the most sympathetic arrangements - Dog + Gun, Nightvisiting and Gilderoy all have subtle, unfussy backing that suits both the lyrics and Moray's voice...
Published on 19 May 2006 by Mr. C. P. Wills


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moray please!, 2 Feb 2009
By 
Ms. Rebekah Williams "Rebekah Williams" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: JIM MORAY (Audio CD)
Poor Man's Heaven
I stumbled on this album quite by accident, and am I glad I did. Folk music is alive and kicking if this new brigade of young turks are anything to go by...
Sounding like a Seth Lakeman/Ben Christophers hybrid, Moray shares that particular brand of tender strength necessary to convincingly sell more 'traditional' music to 21st century listeners.
Skillfully using his voice as the storyteller, this set of songs cross gender and span centuries - and backed by fine acoustic, and sometimes string-soaked musicianship, this album leaves the listener with an unusual and sometimes haunting auditory experience.
'Nightvisiting' is so achingly beautiful, I bet Kate Bush wishes she had written it 30 years ago as the sequel to 'Wuthering Heights!'. 'My sweet Rose' is a towering lament to lost love that almost out-Rufuses Rufus Wainwright in the Gothic-Glam heartbreak stakes.
'Fair and Tender Lovers' provides a sweetly Lilting mood shift, and album closer - 'Magic When your Near' is surely a Valentine's day anthem-in waiting.
Musically akin to the Lovely Seth Lakeman, Ben Christophers, Cara Dillon and that ilk - If you enjoy folk with a twist and songs with substance, then invest in this CD.
Although... quite why Moray looks like a New Romantic reject on the album cover is anyone's guess...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb! Buy it!!!, 11 May 2006
This review is from: JIM MORAY (Audio CD)
This is a stunning return trip from Jim Moray. His experiments in sound on 'Sweet England' were a thing to behold but this record takes it to another level. There are no boundaries here. He simply does what is right for the song. He is not restricted by his perceived standing as a folk artist. He draws in from what must be an astoundingly deep well of music knowledge to express the right soundscapes for each song. The results are spine-tingling, subtle, unique and impossible to describe with words. Buy it and find out for yourself!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly his best?, 28 Feb 2010
By 
Simon Dewsbury (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: JIM MORAY (Audio CD)
Like some others who got here before, I wasn't at all sure about this album on 1st listen - and what was a glamrock cover doing on a folk album? ...but it's probably the one of his 3 albums I come back to most, espeially for 'My Sweet Rose', 'Barbary Allen' and 'Gilderoy'. Lush arrangements, like nothing much else (hence the cover), he's different each time. You either like his voice or you don't - I think it's wonderful. One of the 4 or 5 most significant people making music at the moment? I'd say so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moments of true genius, 9 May 2006
This review is from: JIM MORAY (Audio CD)
The second album can sometimes be a very difficult challenge but Jim Moray has ably risen to the challenge with a beautiful piece of work that, in my view touches genius on a couple of occasions! Very difficult to categorise but there are moments of Prefab Sprout crossed with Elton John and Marc Almond. Highlights for me are "Lord Willoughby" - a triumphant battle tale, the achingly beautiful "My Sweet Rose" and "Gilderoy" and the anthemic finale "Magic When You're Near".

It is truly refreshing to hear some new and fresh music that can transcend barriers and I would recommend this album to anyone who wants to hear something just a little different. For me, the future's looking good for Jim Moray and I cannot wait for what will follow...............
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bravest and boldest?, 8 Jun 2010
By 
This review is from: JIM MORAY (Audio CD)
After the shockingly good debut of "Sweet England", it was hard to know where Jim Moray would go next. With this album, he's produced something that stretches what we think of as "folk" to breaking point and then twists the remnants into a ball. From the cover to the crashing, rollicking opening of "Lord Willoughby", the album announces that it's different. Herein lies it's greatest weakness, in that it's something that the listener either loves or hates. Many people consider this Moray's weakest album - I'd argue it's actually his boldest. Either way, it's certainly worth a listen or twenty. It ranges from heroic to achingly beautiful and back again. It lacks the electronic experimentation of "sweet england" or the folk / grime of "low culture", but it makes up for these with a breathtaking range of styles and moods. All in all, it's probably going to be seen as one of the great folk albums of the start of the 21st century. Buy it now, love it forever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunningly Beautiful, 12 May 2006
This review is from: JIM MORAY (Audio CD)
This album takes english folk music beyond "folk rock". There's a lot of variety on offer hear from ballads to sweeping symphonic epics. He's taken crusty old folk songs, dusted them off and wrapped them into modern, mostly sensible, sometimes over the top, but always interesting and enjoyable arrangements. The end result is pure magic. A wonderful CD that deserves a wide audience. Highlights are numerous, there aren't any lowlights - but "Gilderoy", "Who's the Fool", "My Sweet Rose" standout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why so dour in California?, 11 May 2006
By 
platinum blonde (Pulborough, W.Sussex UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: JIM MORAY (Audio CD)
Please, what is the person from California on about, I love this record.

His debut 'Sweet England' was a classic, and this follow up is a progression on from that album. 'My Sweet Rose' and 'Barbara Allen' are for me the stand out tracks and if you get the chance to see Jim live, do it, he's fabulous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 6 Jun 2006
By 
Mr. Geoffrey M. Teece "gmteece2" (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: JIM MORAY (Audio CD)
In a recent interview Jim Moray said that he hoped he or someone could produce a work as definitive as 'Liege and Lief' or Shirley Collins' 'No Roses'. Whether he has achieved that here is open to debate but this is a brilliant album. It seems Moray does divide opinion but I have to say that, approach this with an open mind and you will appreciate the beauty of 'Barbara Allen', 'Fair and Tender Lovers', 'My Sweet Rose' to name three. When I was going to folk clubs in the 1960s I well remember 'Who's the Fool Now' as a rather boring, finger in the ear folk song. Here Moray transforms it into something actually musically interesting. Beginning with a dramatic 'Lord Willoughby', the album really flows as one song leads into another. Make no mistake, Jim Moray is a major talent. I love this album and it is well worth taking a chance on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A curate's egg, 19 May 2006
This review is from: JIM MORAY (Audio CD)
I hadn't heard Jim Moray's debut album, but after being badgered by a friend to try him out, I decided to get this one. To be honest, I'm still not totally sure about him.

The best tracks are the ones with the most sympathetic arrangements - Dog + Gun, Nightvisiting and Gilderoy all have subtle, unfussy backing that suits both the lyrics and Moray's voice. The latter is the biggest problem - he doesn't possess the most appealing timbre in the world, being a bit mean and weedy. Unfortunately Moray doesn't yet seem to realise his limitations, and comes horribly unstuck on his own compositions, My Sweet Rose and Magic When You're Near; on the latter (which is in any case hampered by a ghastly, faux-80s production) he sounds like Michael Crawford mutating into Kenneth Williams in full "Oh Matron!" mode.

Elsewhere, Barbara Allen is periodically undermined by some nasty soft rock guitars, and the bombastic approach is only really suited to the patriotic, chest-beating Lord Willoughby. Again though, a more commanding voice than Moray's was needed.

So a mixed bag, all-in-all, and whilst Jim Moray's refusal to pigeon-hole his musical style is to be commended, there's still a long way to go before he produces a classic album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Weird cover, 13 April 2009
By 
This review is from: JIM MORAY (Audio CD)
Picture on cover and sleeve notes are weird (see for yourself). Content is less like his other English folk, but definitely worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

JIM MORAY
JIM MORAY by Jim Moray (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews