Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic World War Two Television series
Pathfinders were RAF squadrons that flew out ahead to mark targets for the heavier RAF bombers during World War 2.
This DVD set is an interesting British TV series originally produced in 1971 and transmitted in 1972-3. And the series celebrates the work of the real pathfinders with fictional stories based on real life experiences of original surviving air crew...
Published 23 months ago by Miss M. Potter

versus
28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Pathfinders
Pathfinders - The Complete TV Series [DVD]
No one seems to mention that there is an episode missing, as there were thirteen filmed. I think the episode was called "Our Daffodils are Better then your Daffodils" possibly shown 6Dec72. As to the series I think it was very good, picture and sound quality good. Also great theme music by Malcolm Lockyer. Look out for early...
Published on 13 April 2009 by H. Willcox


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic World War Two Television series, 17 May 2012
By 
Miss M. Potter "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pathfinders - The Complete Series [DVD][1972] (DVD)
Pathfinders were RAF squadrons that flew out ahead to mark targets for the heavier RAF bombers during World War 2.
This DVD set is an interesting British TV series originally produced in 1971 and transmitted in 1972-3. And the series celebrates the work of the real pathfinders with fictional stories based on real life experiences of original surviving air crew.
The series has many critics but considering the fact that there has been nothing else that has been produced on this aspect of Bomber command the series is very interesting.

During the 1970s and onwards there was a steady increase in interest in World War Two on television. And although there had been the series Manhunt in 1970 and the BBC series Colditz which came out three weeks after the first transmissions of this series, Pathfinders was treated badly in the schedule and over looked. Some ITV regions gave it a poor time slot and others didn't even bother.
I knew of its existance at the time but could not find it in our ITV area and always wondered what it was like. Now, thanks to DVD, and fourty years late, I have finally seen it. I have to say that it was very good considering the time it was made. I enjoyed the DVD set.
Meanwhile back in the 1970s Colditz dominated the diet of World War two on TV probably helped by the fact that it had American financial backing from Universal Television that gave international stars like Robert Wagner and David McCallum.

But this series Pathfinders, had a cast that was less well known and it was not transmitted in some parts of the country. Its not surprising that it did not make much impact.
The series had a Technical adviser Group Captain Hamish Mahaddie. And they used surviving Lancaster bombers and radio controlled Avro Lancaster models for flying scenes and still shots as well as mock up sections.
Also there is the use of genuine wartime colour and blue tinged black and white footage.

The radio controlled models have been heavily criticised which is fair enough but this was a moderate budget British TV series from the early 1970s and generally the objective to create a reasonable visual representation of RAF bomber command, its air base, planes and crew, was reasonably ok. In fact it is very good.

The series stars Robert Urquhart and film actor Jack Watling. There were other stars that were not so well known back then but became very famous later.
This adds even more reason why this series is so interesting. There is Rutger Hauer, Jane Seymour, Bernard Lee, Kate O'Mara, Ray Brooks, Diane Keen and Geoffrey Bayldon. Also there is a young Dennis Waterman before he went on to do the Sweeney and Minder. And Johnny Briggs (Mike Baldwin-Coronation Street) Also Anthony Valentine who also starred in Colditz and Raffles. Tony Selby (get some in) and Mark McManus before Taggart.

The music was by Malcolm Lockyer. And the series was filmed at EMI-MGM studios Borehamwood airfield Hertfordshire and West Mailing airfield in Kent.
There are some excellent stories that help to make the series interesting. Each episode has a different story and between them there is a variety of things going on.
The series illustrates many real life issues of RAF bomber squadrons. Night bombing, locating a target, flak, dense cloud, German planes attacking bombers, onboard fires, wounded crew, damaged controls, fog, Radar testing, downed pilots evading enemy capture, P.O.W camps, escape, mental breakdown, tragic accidents and the loss of fellow officers.

The picture quality and acting is not the greatest in the world but it doesn't matter. This is because generally the scripts are good and there is a terrific atmosphere of a by gone era of the Second World War. The dialogue and picture quality actually seem to add to the feeling of us being taken into that by gone age of bomber command.
There were thirteen episodes but only twelve appear here and there is no explanation as to why. But the surviving twelve are very good. There are no subtitles.
This series is worth seeing if you are interested in World War Two or the RAF during that era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pathfinders, 15 May 2012
By 
AND (Biddenham, Beds, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pathfinders - The Complete Series [DVD][1972] (DVD)
I wasn't sure what to expect with this DVD series. The series was shown when I was a very small child and all I could remember from it was a photo used on the final credits.
It is true to say that the picture quality is a bit iffy on some of the episodes however this enhances the feel that this was from a time long ago.
Given the choice of some poor picture quality or no opportunity to see this series I would always go with the former.
I've really enjoyed watching 'Pathfinders' and glad I ignored negative opinions.
I don't like to give away content or storyline so I'll just add that it has a similar feel to another excellent series 'Danger UXB'.
It's unlikely that there will ever be another series based on bomber operations during WWII so if the subject interests you I would recommend this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sunset Over Stevenage, 31 Jan 2008
This review is from: Pathfinders - The Complete Series [DVD][1972] (DVD)
I'm afraid I disagee with the previous review. I find the 'poor' film/sound quality actually enhances Pathfinders for me and makes it more evocative. I have no desire to see some high-definition image - it's the spirit that is important. I used to watch it as a seven year old with my next door neighbour as my Mum & Dad were out ballroom dancing. It genuinely moves me and fills me with pride and nostalgia for an England that the two great twentieth century wars destroyed in fact - but whose subversive spirit can still be found if you look hard enough (a Britain and a Commonwealth where deference, family meals, respect, rural poets and God, King and Country were the rule rather than the exception).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Pathfinders, 13 April 2009
By 
H. Willcox (Wellingborough, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pathfinders - The Complete Series [DVD][1972] (DVD)
Pathfinders - The Complete TV Series [DVD]
No one seems to mention that there is an episode missing, as there were thirteen filmed. I think the episode was called "Our Daffodils are Better then your Daffodils" possibly shown 6Dec72. As to the series I think it was very good, picture and sound quality good. Also great theme music by Malcolm Lockyer. Look out for early appearences by Tony Selby, Christopher Casenove, Kate O'Mara, Jane Seymour, Anthony Valentine, Rutger Hauer, Edd Byrnes, Mike Pratt, Ray Brooks and Dennis Waterman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Many thanks to the real Pathfinders, 3 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pathfinders - The Complete Series [DVD][1972] (DVD)
Many reviews are knocking the picture quality, though the dvd company could have sorted this out, i have to say i am enjoying it, i am presently reading a book on The Lancaster Bomber,the Pathfinders dvd and book really compliament each other, for instance, 1st dvd episode 2, For better for worse, the aircrew in a pub get all roudy and fight,but reading the book, this is how some aircrews were able to cope with tension and let off steam, while others turned to heavy drinking. Anyway, the original war time scenes are very good, the shows own shots of planes taking off and landing are slightly hazy, but this helps i think to paint a texture on the moment, very well done. some reviewers seem to forget, that in the early 1970's when this show was in production, there were no computer graphics to assist, so stop moaning about the picture quality on your plasma tv's and just thank god that these men in real pathfinders stepped up to the mark so we can live freely today at the expense of their lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pathfinders- the complete TV series (DVD), 10 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. A. Carlin (Elgin, Moray Scotland UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pathfinders - The Complete Series [DVD][1972] (DVD)
A reminder of how British television companies could make good quality drama before selling out to the "reality" and "talent" shows of todays TV. Although limited by the production techniques of its day, the 1970's, this is an excellent drama series that mixes Fact and fiction into compelling stories. The CO played by Robert Urquhart is a thinly disguised Group Captain Hamish Mchaddie for instance.
An excellent series for those with an interest in Bomber Command and WW2, and a good insight for those with little or no knowledge of this important time in world history and the sacrafices and bravery of that generation.
When I was a youngster I used to make sure I came in on the evenings when this series was on, and it has not lost any of its appeal.

I strongly recommend this series.Pathfinders - The Complete TV Series [DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


88 of 102 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor Pathfinders!, 9 Jan 2007
By 
M B. SMITH (Welwyn Garden City, Herts. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pathfinders - The Complete Series [DVD][1972] (DVD)
I, was quite excited, and looking forward to sitting down in front of the TV to watch a series I, remembered as a child. I hadn't seen it for ages, and it's never before been released on video. But boy was I dissappointed! The quality of the original film print is both poor in picture and sound. It's true to say the quality was not much better than that of an illegal Dvd. No effort has been made to restore or remaster the film print, which has not survived well after all the years spent in a can on a dusty shelf! There are no extra features, and not even a booklet of any description, no additional information, nothing at all.
If you remember the series, and were looking to purchase this Dvd, be prepared to be very dissappointed in deed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good world war two series., 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pathfinders - The Complete Series [DVD][1972] (DVD)
Good script.
Could not remember the series shown previously on television. Still viewing the the end episodes but at present an enlightening series showing what these brave pilots went through in WW2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pathfinders the Complete Series., 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pathfinders - The Complete Series [DVD][1972] (DVD)
Very good and worthwhile buying despite all the negative reviews, their is no pleasing some people! I found the quality very good despite it being a TV series from 1972 It is a trip down memory lane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pathfinders, 1 Feb 2012
This review is from: Pathfinders - The Complete Series [DVD][1972] (DVD)
The series is very dated, the mock up of the rear turret and cockpit are very poor. Different types of Lancaster's are shown including type's without mid upper and type's with radar, before radar was introduced in the story line. The CO's medal ribbons have a habit of changing places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa294d08)

This product

Pathfinders - The Complete Series [DVD][1972]
Pathfinders - The Complete Series [DVD][1972] by Robert Urquhart (DVD - 2006)
11.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews