Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars41
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£22.50+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 August 2011
My family and I watched this film a couple of days ago and we're still laughing at the antics of the Larkins. The script is brilliant, the characterisation excellent and the acting is superb. In fact we liked the Larkins so much we've ordered the four TV series DVD's currently available.

This film is great for a family entertainment evening and one that you can watch again and again and again and still be laughing.

I would also recommend Peggy Mount in the film "Ladies who Do" and the TV series "You're only young Twice."
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2013
In these days where alcohol has taken over from tobacco as the ultimate evil that is causing all the problems in Britain, to sit and watch a film that has, shock horror, a DRINKING CONTEST at one point makes this film seem very dated. But that is in no way a criticism, as this is one of the most enjoyable films I have watched for some time.

Peggy Mount steals the show all ends up with her firey and formidable matriarchal performance; and David Kossoff manages to appear hen-pecked, but not enough to annoy, if that makes any sense. A very understated Leslie Phillips tots up barely 10 minutes of screentime, which is something of a relief as in other films he has tended to be over-used, it seems, mainly to get as much of him as is possible. The same goes for Charlie Hawtrey, who admirably plays the part of a belligerent rat-bag which is totally at odds with the characters he was making so famous in the Carry Ons from that time - a testament to his sadly under-used acting talent.

The film never drags, never confuses or dithers along with any sub-plots. It is, purely and simply, a well written, superbly acted, and yes, actually quite laugh out loud funny in places, comedy which you really should buy right away.

But remember all of you - drinking is bad, so don't so it!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2010
For all the B&W post war film comedy addicts, this is pure gold, lots of stars of the time. Excellent sound and quality. The story of a family moving to a run down pub and making it a sucess, with the local Lord of the manor brewing beer all the locals wanted. The pub is situated in a spot where a motorway is due to be built, the fight of the giants to buy it. the silly son playing at scouting and his mate Billy Bunter (as was). Good all round comedy for the purist
0Comment|37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2011
I gambled on buying this film solely on the basis of being a Peggy Mount fan. I wasn't disappointed, what a comedy masterpiece! I am certainly going to buy the series it came from now!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2010
Good quality product and packaging, brings back memories of the tv programme with david kossoff and peggy mount called the Larkins
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2012
If you are nostalgic about the fifties and have nothing to do on a Sunday afternoon then you will enjoy this classic British comedy. Your children will think you are mad but when they see the old cars, streets ,clothes, etc they will be hooked if a little bemused!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2009
GREATTO SEE THE lARKINS AGAIN.
Peggy Mount as Ada - wonderful
It even has great appeal in black & white.
If only there were some of the Larkins TV programmes left.
11 comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2012
Wonderful. Classic first class British comedy at its best.
The acting from all players is second to none.
With Peggy Mount and David Kossoff heading the cast it can not go wrong and it does not.
Brilliant reproduction.
If you want a bit of hilarious nostalgia them buy this, you will not be disappointed.
Why do we not make films like this anymore? RJC.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2014
Bought it for husband as he had seen it years ago. More for the older person who remembers this way of life than the younger generation. Peggy mount is her usual loud self.

It is funny to certain ages
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2013
A VERY FUNNY FILM ABOUT THE LARKIN FAMILY., WONDERFUL TO SEE PEGGY MOUNT AND DAVID KOSSOFF AGAIN. COMEDIANS TODAY COULD LEARN A LOT FROM THEM. A PITY THERE ARE NO SITCOMS TO MATCH THIS TODAY.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.