Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great concept done with style,wit and imagination on a shoestring
This truly is a great film, marred only by a plot hole which is quickly overcome as the viewer is swept along by the storyline.

A burned out cop who's job it is to track down paedophiles and sex offenders through their internet sites is alerted to some deeply disturbing goings on when he comes across a site dedicated to "feeders" - men who literally feed women...
Published on 1 Sept. 2006 by J. Mearns

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars debatable.
not too bad this, and jack thompson always gives a good performance. there arent many films around on this subject, which adds a new slant to the average thriller. sound quality is rubbish though with barely audible dialogue and needlessly loud incidental music.
Published 18 months ago by kc sunshine


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great concept done with style,wit and imagination on a shoestring, 1 Sept. 2006
By 
J. Mearns "Buggalug" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Feed [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
This truly is a great film, marred only by a plot hole which is quickly overcome as the viewer is swept along by the storyline.

A burned out cop who's job it is to track down paedophiles and sex offenders through their internet sites is alerted to some deeply disturbing goings on when he comes across a site dedicated to "feeders" - men who literally feed women to gigantic proportiions for their own (and other's) sexual gratification. The thing is, these women are complicit in this as they believe that the feeding and their acceptance of food is an expression of their deep "love" for each other. He quickly figures out that all is not quite as it seems and that there may be a serial killer out there who quite literally feeds women to death. The film is about his pursuit of the killer and his tussels with his own inner demons.

What makes this film a cut above most other low-budget exploitation films is that it explores a whole range of complex issues within the context of a darkly humourous exterior. What if the person being killed actually "wants" this to happen? What are our own hidden motivations, and how far would we go to express or receive "love"? Is the killer actually a cold hearted killer, or does he truly care for these women?

The film is packed with ideas and leaves you thinking for a long time afterwards. Visually, it has a saturated colour pallete which, depending on whats happenning on screen creates either a dream-like quality or a feeling of nausea. Coupled with imaginative use of camera angles and some great shots this makes the film stand out from the crowd.

Unlike the majority of movies, the director's commentary is really interesting and is a great addition to the DVD - it also fills in the hole in the plot mentioned at the start of this review. If you are a fan of quirky, dark thrillers this is definately the film for you!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Consumption is evolution, 8 Feb. 2007
By 
Deanne Dixon "deanne9499" (Sunny South Shields) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Feed [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
Foremost, I think anyone intending to watch this true-to-life film should be warned of two important points before sitting down to dimmed lights and a cup of coffee. Firstly, I would strongly recommend leaving the popcorn un-popped - there are scenes towards the end of this film that will leave some of you with a more squeamish nature literally gagging (you have been warned...). Secondly, for those of you of a religious inclination, there are one or two scenes within the film that you might find offensive (there is a scene, for example, where Michael (the "feeder") portrayed as the "saviour" to many of the "gainers" he feeds, is juxtaposed with the Eucharest from Holy Communion).

Briefly, "...'Feed' is a heavy-weight thrill-ride through the depths of depravity. A veteran of cyberporn investigations, Australian cop Philip Jackson is no stranger to the dangerous side of sexual fetishes. He may have found his sickest case yet when he discovers a sinister side to an American website devoted to fat-admiring men and obese women called "feeders" and "gainers". Could the man behind it all be force-feeding missing women to death?"

I will address the good points about this film before I get to the brilliant points. Firstly, what is notable about the film is it's clever use of colour. Given the low-budget nature of the film, the use of lighting takes the place of the use of special effects in so-called "bigger films". Not only does the lighting serve to differentiate geographical locations (scenes set in Germany, for example, are largely in blue, whereas the USA is represeneted by yellow)but it also reminds us of the conflicting ("love/hate") relationship the "gainer" has with food. Secondly, the nature of the "horror" in this film is very unique - all praise (and five stars) to the director, not only for picking an original subject, but also for moving away from the traditional slasher/stalker movie of the 90's. What makes this film so different is that the victim doesn't actually realise that they ARE the victim. Even in the final scenes when Philip is trying to explain to Deidre that Michael is trying to kill her, she sides with Michael - forcing Philip to shoot her dead. Praise must also be given to a well-chosen soundtrack - look out for the inclusion of "Tainted Love", a song that seems to encapsulate the true nature of the film. Finally, I must also mention the very final scene of the film. I won't spoil it for those of you who haven't seen it yet but even though, as a hardcore horror fan, I saw the ending coming a mile-off, it still left me with a haunted feeling long-after the credits began to roll.

What makes the film truly brilliant, however, is not the acting or the story itself, but the moral questions it raises. There is no black or white in this story, only grey: to what extent are Michael and his fellow "feeders" helping to give people freedom of choice (quote: "I want to be eaten")? Is Michael really a sociopath given that he is not embarking upon any "anti-social behaviour" per se, or is it Philip who fits the bill given that he breaks into Michael's home? Isn't Michael just trying to restore a sense of "true beauty" by re-iterating the sense of femininity that has been lost through the pressures of fashion? Whose "abuse" is worse - Michael's, for feeding his women, or Philip's for beating his? Is Michael REALLY leading his women to the slaughter (in much the same way as a snuff movie) or would the women have become overweight anyway? Although it's a crime to starve someone, is it really a crime to feed them? Who is the "master" in this scenario - is it really the "feeder" because his ability to control leads to a sense of sub-dominate dependency or is it the "gainer" who dictates the daily routine of the pair? Whose "love affair" lasts the longest - that of Michael and Deidre or that of Philip and Abbey? All of the aforementioned questions are raised in the film, though few are answered - leading us to a sense of thoughtfulness that modern horror rarely does.

For those of you who prefer to let the story-line flow and not over-analyse everything - don't worry, there is enough here to keep you happy. The little touches in themselves would give even the most serious heart a chuckle. I can't finish this review without mentioning by far the funniest and tongue-in-cheek moment in the film... watch out for Michael dancing to "Itsy Bitsy Teenie Weenie..." on the end of Deidre's bed and tell me you didn't laugh out loud at the out and out irony ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I think this is one for the Miike fans., 19 Jun. 2006
By 
Mr. C. Michael Douse "Passionate" (st albans, hertfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Feed [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
This is bound to get some awful reviews, and I can see why. At first i really thought this was a terrible movie, it seemed cheap and without concept, but after a while my mind was dramatically changed.

The whole jist of the movie is about making a monsterous point about a monsterous american and underground fetish. Feeders are people, usualy from america, who feed up fat woman for there own perverted pleasure. It's a sick thing to do and a very good idea to base a sick movie on, leaving a completley stomach churning experiance guilt free. This film has a point to it and although some of the acting isnt top notch and it had the budget of a school play, the director did a decent job. They went a bit OTT on the camera angles at first but this soon died down. The actor who played the killer (Michael) was actually very impressive and did a very decent job displaying this loveable serial killer. Loveable serial killer? Yes, you know.. your Jon Doe from Seven, your Kakihara, your Chucky. The movie had style and very deep suspence, which alot of hollywood rubbish tries hard to accomplish, but fails. I believe some of the sex scenes were perhaps slightly tasteless but well directed and all part of the very subtle characterisation which there is alot of, and well done. All in all the film is cheap and budgeted, but the direction is well done, alhough giving off a slight "i just got out of college" feeling. But the story, script, and screenplay is eccelent and far surpasses that of multi million pound movies this year.

My advice is, if you are one of those "Oh this will be crap" viewer's, then dont bother watching it. But those who apreciate what Miike does, i think you will see many similarities and enjoy the film and the point it tries to make. The ending is spot on, enjoy it. Don't be cynical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars What a hidden Gem in the world of twisted films., 26 Aug. 2013
By 
Mr. N. J. Bevis "BEV_RED_HOT_B" (Suffolk , Eng) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Feed [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
It was not long before I was hooked on this movie. The soundtrack and filming was superb. I know a feeder and this really made me think about what he does !! It is not for the easily offended but at the same time not so bad that its unreal. In fact, it all seems rather real in today's strange world. For £2.00 for a used copy, have a ball and enjoy some sick fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FEED is Delicious, 19 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Feed [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
I have this DVD in 4 versions. I started out with the US version where I live. Then I got a special 2 disc set from region 2, another great US version, now the UK version. I highly recommend the UK version, as it has a great commentary with the film and the deleted scenes by Brett Leonard, the director and producer of FEED.
I have done reviews on the other versions, and I always speak highly of this incredible film. Alex O'Loughlin and Patrick Thompson, the 2 leads of the film, came up with the idea of a movie about "feeders and gainers", and took it to Brett. The result is an exciting and incredibly intelligent film which makes you think about what is "OK" between consenting adults.
If you are buying FEED for the first time, I would recommend that you watch the extras first, especially the interviews and "FEED in Philly", to hear Alex O'Loughin explain how he came up with the idea for the movie. He did months of research on "feeders and gainers". He shines as Michael Carter, the feeder to Deirdre's gainer (wonderfully portrayed by comedic actress Gabby Millgate). Alex and Gabby play off of one another so well, and I love the way you find out from Brett in his commentary that they ad-libbed many of their scenes. Alex did all of his own stunts and his balcony leap is quite impressive. Alex is a brilliant actor - I discovered him on the show Moonlight and bought all of his work on DVD - TV and movies - and it is all outstanding. His career has taken off in the US, even after the ridiculous cancellation of Moonlight, and I am so glad that I discovered his work.
The cast ensemble is outstanding, the writing is clever and intelligent, and I enjoyed the dark humor of the story throughout the entire film. One of the fun things about FEED is that from the very first scene you are riveted to the screen wondering what is going to happen next. It never disappoints.
Another added bonus is the creative use of pop music. I will never hear "Cherish" and "Yummy, Yummy, Yummy" without smiling and thinking of FEED, and to see Michael's (Alex) little dance to "Itsy Bitsy Teeny Weeny Yellow Polka Dot Bikini" is worth the price of the DVD alone.
Buy FEED and watch it many times - you will always see something that you missed before. After you watch the movie, watch it with the commentary by Brett. Great fun to hear how each scene was done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Disturbing, off-the-wall horror, 18 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Feed [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
Couple of plot holes and a most unlikely finale, but kudos to the makers of this for coming up with an original and entertaining film.
Well acted and riveting throughout and well worth your time if you like your horror skewed, bizarre and sleazy/queasy.
Great film. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars debatable., 15 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Feed [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
not too bad this, and jack thompson always gives a good performance. there arent many films around on this subject, which adds a new slant to the average thriller. sound quality is rubbish though with barely audible dialogue and needlessly loud incidental music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm..., 7 July 2012
By 
Cassi and Adam (Huddersfield, West Yorkshire.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Feed [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
An interesting, and often humourous insight into the world of "feeders" and "gainers". Although obviously taken to the extreme, it was an entertaining film for anyone with a strong stomach!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Flubber!, 23 Oct. 2012
By 
PETER FINCH (AYLESBURY, BUCKS.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Feed [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
Another one to avoid whilst dining and that includes snacks. Don't even have a handful of wasabi peas within reach. Watch on a double-bill with Supersize Me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Challenging viewing, 5 Jun. 2006
By 
Mr. F. C. Burling (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Feed [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
I have just watched Feed having no previous knowledge of the movie, except the plot description on this website.

When the movie starts, I found the way it was shot a bit strange and slightly irritating, but as the film progressed it grew on me and I appreciated a new approach to camera angles and shots.

The film may appear 'cheaply shot' at times, but you have to remember that this wasnt a big blockbuster with hundreds of millions of dollars to splash around. It has the edge of a concept film, which although may not be to everyone's taste, I certainly prefer.

The plot itself is very dark and twisted, and gets more disturbing towards the end.

The main thing I loved about this film was the fact that there was no real 'goodie' and 'baddie'.

Sure the feeder is recognisable straight away as evil and derranged, but as you learn more and more about the 'hero' of the movie, it becomes hard to feel any compassion or sympathy for any of the characters!

All in all I enjoyed this movie for its fresh approach to making a thought provoking experience, even if it did make me feel quite uneasy at times!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Feed [2005] [DVD]
Feed [2005] [DVD] by Brett Leonard (DVD - 2006)
£5.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews