Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime
I understand the couple of 1 star reviews, some people don't like change.

This is a bit different than Fresh's previous work, but I adore this album. It is not 15 club DnB tracks, It's an album in the true sense - in the style of Dj Fresh DnB. Production is jaw-dropping.

I'll not try to review this album, but please don't discard it because of the...
Published on 12 Jun 2009 by Mr. J. Russell

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An album of two halves
The first half of this album is very very good. There are three or four real dancefloor mash-ups containing that dirty sound that Bad Company pioneered and Pendulum developed. 'X factor' is simply the tune of the year so far in my opinion, and I am a normally a lover of much darker DnB. The vocals are great - alien invasion stuff that reminds me of that BC tune "the...
Published on 24 May 2008 by J. G. Pryce


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 12 Jun 2009
By 
Mr. J. Russell (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Escape from Planet Monday (Audio CD)
I understand the couple of 1 star reviews, some people don't like change.

This is a bit different than Fresh's previous work, but I adore this album. It is not 15 club DnB tracks, It's an album in the true sense - in the style of Dj Fresh DnB. Production is jaw-dropping.

I'll not try to review this album, but please don't discard it because of the poor reviews - All that Jazz, Closer, and X-Project are all on youtube, Give them a listen, then come back and buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breath of 'fresh' air!, 14 May 2006
This review is from: Escape from Planet Monday (Audio CD)
Amazing album, so nice to see drum and bass producers trying to break the mold. the drum and bass is very small minded sometimes, its great to finally hear some real music from people like dj fresh and pendulum. i always find it amusing how all the closed minded geeks that cherish there precious dark and nasty hardcore drum and bass find it necessary to critisize anything more interesting that goes on within the genre, it really holds it back ..

I particularly like the track with Neil Tennant and DJ shadow, really interesting mix of styles, strong melodies and deep ideas ... buy this as soon as you get the chance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb collection of tunes, 23 May 2006
By 
D. Sandhu "Commander" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Escape from Planet Monday (Audio CD)
DJ Fresh hits us with his debut album and it is quite simply brilliant, from the opening rock influenced 'Nervous' to the crazy edited 'Closer' Fresh takes you on a journey through sound and drum and bass. Other favourites include the classic electropop inspired 'Submarines', the Pendulum collabaration 'Babylon rising' and the dancefloor 'X Project'. If you liked the Pendulum album and prefer the wider sound of Drum and bass, then i can only recommend this album highly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An album of two halves, 24 May 2008
By 
J. G. Pryce "Coyote101" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Escape from Planet Monday (Audio CD)
The first half of this album is very very good. There are three or four real dancefloor mash-ups containing that dirty sound that Bad Company pioneered and Pendulum developed. 'X factor' is simply the tune of the year so far in my opinion, and I am a normally a lover of much darker DnB. The vocals are great - alien invasion stuff that reminds me of that BC tune "the martians are coming this way".

The second half of this album I am not interested in listening to at all. It's really slow. I'm not saying its not good music, but I don't really understand why someone so good at what he does is trying to do the slow stuff. Why would fans of his usual, heavy dirty DnB like it?

I loved Fresh when he first went solo and brought us "Formula 1" among others. Three or four songs on ths album recapture some of those days but the rest is wrong to me. Anyway, it is what it is, and I'm not surprised by the mixture of reviews!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fooking Brilliant, 24 July 2006
By 
SLW "SLW" (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Escape from Planet Monday (Audio CD)
Anyone who says this is a poor album is living in the past. This is pure brilliance, possibly the most diverse range of drum n bass beats since 'World Of Dynamite' and as redefining as 'Hold Your Colour'. The best thing about this album is that none of it sounds the same. Each track is different to those before and after. It is true there are a lot of stolen quote from various old films but still if you can deal with that its quality. Several quality collaborations with Pendulum, Apollo 440's front man and Mc Darrison. Best songs on the album are 'The Pink Panther' which is the most original D n B choon I've heard in a while and the remix of the classic 'Submarines'. All in all i would say this is:

A MUST HAVE FOR ANY TRUE D N B FAN!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not your typical DnB..., 27 May 2006
By 
J. Barton (Sheffield UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Escape from Planet Monday (Audio CD)
There are lots of great tunes on this album.

All that Jazz, Babylon Rising, Closer (with Dj Shadow, X Project, Submarines, Funk Academy,All Strung out are all great in different ways. Undoubtably some of it will be far too cheesy for some, but I personally think it treads the fine line of genius/insanity nicely.

If you're a straight up DnB head you'll no doubt be far more interested in the vinyl EP, but as a CD album this works well, and should appeal to a wide range of people outside of DnB

Pink Panther is an absolute stinker though and should really never be heard by anybody, but this is the only really bad track on here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Months of searching over!!, 9 Mar 2011
This review is from: Escape from Planet Monday (Audio CD)
After many many months of searching record shops and online looking under different names and titles of the artist and album alike, I've finally found a copy of what I think is a particualy an inspired album. great price, fast delivery and many enjoyable hours of listening!

Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I wish I had more hands... So I could give this album 4 thumbs down., 6 July 2006
By 
J. H. Unwin (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Escape from Planet Monday (Audio CD)
`What the hell has happened here?' you may well ask yourself at the sound of the first, horrible sounding bars of `Nervous'. The answer? Fresh has badly lost his way since his BC glory days. It would be facetious to suggest that his desertion to the US has anything to do with this, but one thing is for sure - from start to finish, Fresh completely fails to bring anything original to the table. Trying to sound like Aussie pioneers `Pendulum', but failing miserably, it becomes painfully clear, when listening to this album, who the talent in Bad Company was, and it wasn't Fresh! If you want to see how deep, melodic and original sounding dnb works, check out anything by D-Bridge (one of Fresh's old BC colleague) and you'll see how incredibly far of the mark Fresh is.

Babylon Rising with Pendulum is reasonably good, and Closer with Shadow just about gets by, but almost every track on this album is an embarrassment to Fresh, his label (Breakbeat Kaos), everyone who works on that label and drum n bass as a whole. Why get MC Darrison to shout over everything too? `Shadow, switch it up and re-arrange it briefly for us please! Who MCs like that??? Darrison has never been good, but manages to sink below even his already poor standards on this album - and don't get me started on `Pink Panther', the worst song in the history of the genre. Submarines is quite a different and interesting tune, very trance inspired, but it is also over 5 years old, so why put it on this album? A space-filler, or - more likely - he was just short on quality.

People will say that dnb purists won't like it cos it's not dark enough, but that is twaddle. You don't have to be a dnb purist to realise that this album is offensive to the ears! Look at what Hospital records are putting out, what about Moving Shadow and Signature? There's no filthy ear-bleeding bass stabs there, but instead a plethora of artists evolving drum n bass through blissful melody and electo-sounding vibes, whereas - in this album - Fresh has tried to slightly update his old tricks, which is why it sounds like the musical equivalent of a battered car that has been given a quick slap of paint. He quite simply does not get away with a set of tracks which are completely devoid of any musical quality and any real skill in production. In short, you should only buy this album if you want to be conned out of a tenner, or if you are looking for an expensive and impractical coaster. Hot drink, anyone?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pop D&B, 8 May 2006
By 
J. Fogel "djjj_128" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Escape from Planet Monday (Audio CD)
It's a shame but it seems that a new genre of D&B had grown...it's terrible, I call it Pop DnB because it had fantastic production but is all but bereft of ideas that are original or at all interesting. And for some reason to match with this pop music theme, nearly every single track on this album has a very camp sounding male vocal chorus. It's a terrible album, not least mind numbingly boring, but even the apparent "raver's anthem" on the album, toted to be the track "X-Project" whilst being the highlight of the album, still does not make me nod my head as much as any respectable jump up dubplate. There are no liquid parts I haven't encountered ideas from before let alone enjoy, and some of the melody ideas are literally disgusting to the ears...abrasive in fact.

I have definately enjoyed some of Fresh's work in the past, he has had a hand alongside Pendulum in creating some fine hardcore mixes like Junglesound etc, but...

Avoid "Escape from Planet Monday" like the plague.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor attempt by a former pioneer, 31 May 2006
By 
S. Panchal (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Escape from Planet Monday (Audio CD)
This album failed to meet any expectations I had from the D&B visionary that WAS Fresh. His Bad Company peers must be cringing with every track, because I certainly was.

Weak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Escape from Planet Monday
Escape from Planet Monday by DJ Fresh (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews