Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best film of 2006
Watched this with some trepidation. Gangsters, violence, yawn, been there, a am I really in the mood for another Tarantino clone? The beginning lived up to violent expectations but then something strange happened. By putting a child into jeopardy, and keeping him there for the duration of the movie, this director has produced a must-keep-watching gem. The film twists,...
Published on 8 May 2007 by T. Hawksley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A fresh and exciting thriller
In `Running Scared' Paul Walker plays Joey, a low level mobster who has a gun in his possession that was used to kill some crooked cops in a drug deal gone wrong. When the gun is stolen by his young next-door neighbour and used in a shooting, Joey must find the gun before the cops or the rest of his mob do.

This is a very gritty, violent and dark thriller which...
Published on 11 Nov. 2008 by Dr Evil


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best film of 2006, 8 May 2007
By 
T. Hawksley "Tansy" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Running Scared [DVD] (DVD)
Watched this with some trepidation. Gangsters, violence, yawn, been there, a am I really in the mood for another Tarantino clone? The beginning lived up to violent expectations but then something strange happened. By putting a child into jeopardy, and keeping him there for the duration of the movie, this director has produced a must-keep-watching gem. The film twists, turns, dives into adult fairy story, throws in some allusions to Chitty Chitty Bang Bang, bungs in a few hockey putts, and generally keeps you gripping the edge of your seat for its duration. Worth trying out. And in terms of plot construction, script etc - it was very good. Not Tarantino. Much darker. Probably more of a gripper if you are a parent but still - try it. You might like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, Bit Random in Parts ..., 7 July 2006
By 
Mr. A. Woodward (UK, West Midlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Running Scared [DVD] (DVD)
I'll keep this review short, as the description covers most things, with a rather biased slant, of course.

However in this film, it lives up to expectations, with plenty of storyline, as with most crime-related films, a nice plot twist or 2 near the end (which I obviously wont spoil), and plenty of guns, corrupt cops, gangsters, all the cool things you'd expect to be in a movie.

It does get slightly random a couple of times, however to be honest, it remains mostly believable and always gripping.

All in all a great film, I personally loved it, it kept me glued to the screen all the way through, but it may not be to everyones taste. If you unsure, rent it first, but to be honest, its a good enough film to just buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 13 May 2007
By 
M. O. HAYNES "couch magpie" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Running Scared [DVD] (DVD)
I rented this film on the basis that my girlfriend likes the lead actor and I wasn't expecting great things I have to say. From the synopsis it just looks like yet another yo yo boys n the hood white man kicks ass against in the naughty drug dealing world and gets to drive fast into some dustbins at some point. However, the more I watched this the more I got into it until eventually i was totally submerged and ended up shouting at the television trying to tell the characters what to do. Also, for once there is a strong female role which is not limited by 2-D comic book stereotyping (e.g. like the Bride in Kill Bill). Both parts of the troubled family portrayed in this film kick ass and I would recommend this to anyone who has any interest good action films without OTT special effects and pyrotechnics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good, 5 July 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Running Scared [DVD] (DVD)
Not the type of film I would normally watch but I'd encourage you to ignore the undeservedly harsh comments of some other reviewers because Running Scared just might have you as glued to your seats as I was. I would add that some of the "facts" of the plot as described by some reviewers are inaccurate. Perhaps this was done so as not to give away some of the surprises, so, errors forgiven. Yes, the film is violent (very violent), the language is strong, but the plot is neither weak or confusing, the direction is crisp and clever and the acting is generally very, very good; even some of the stereotypical gangster type characters manage to make you believe. The biggest and most wonderful surprise is Paul Walker, who moves out of the "just another pretty face" category and reveals real talent. As I watched the film, I kept saying to myself "Damn, he's good." I hope future roles come his way that take him into new areas that allow him to continue to stretch and develop his talent; the guy has got it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 14 Aug. 2009
This review is from: Running Scared [DVD] (DVD)
WOW!
A real boot in the face bit of cinema.

Frantic, brutal, uncompromising in language and violence, superbly made so as to feel like a hyper-kinetic graphic novel come to life, some balls-out performances (esp by the main child actor and Paul Walker) and with some head-spinning plot twists.
It's wildly over the top, totally implausible and packed with comic strip characters and events, but given a brutal make-over with high melodrama to ensure we care what happens to people.

The basic set-up is like a far more serious, far more nasty "Snatch". Only with a gun replacing a diamond, which takes the various larger than life characters on a mind bending journey into over the top (but wonderful) situations.

You either embrace and go with the harrowing, brutal but comic strip plot or you don't and as such miss out on one of the finest American films to come out in a LONG time.
And how damn unexpected and just plain scary were that couple!!?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Ricochetting Movie, 17 May 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Running Scared [DVD] (DVD)
Ricochetting because it's one of those movies in which the main character gets bounced about and off all manner of characters and situations, in this case in his search for a gun used in an opening shoot out and which, if it falls into the hands of the police, would constitute evidence of the most important kind. Most of the movie is set down in the dark, violent underbelly of low class sleazy gangsterism, both home-grown American and imported Russian. Mixed up in all this is 'The Wife', the kid, the kid's friend (another kid), dodgy cops, and nasty lowlifes, and it all hangs together quite well. Even the kids fit in well and don't grate on the nerves as kids can do in adult films. In fact one of the more bizarre side trips involves a seemingly respectable couple who love children and have an apartment full of toys: they turn out to be dangerously off their heads (I'm trying not to give away too much here). There are a few tangential trips in this film but that provides an unpredictability and diversity in what would otherwise be just another run-of-the-mill crime movie. With good acting, camera work, characterization and sub-plots, this film is recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reference standard blu ray quality, 5 Jun. 2012
This review is from: Running Scared (Blu-ray)
German blu ray Awesome movie, picture and sound

If you are a fan of this movie the German blu ray is a must buy. The version i bought is a reissue and there are none of the dvd extras (i don't know if the original print or 3D blu ray have any of the extras) but this is a minor annoyance. The film as most of you would know is shot in that style were certain colours are over saturated but nevertheless the colour and clarity on this disc are reference quality. The sound really kicks too . The gun shots and explosions made me jump . Some of the dialouge at the start of the movie is balanced a little low in the mix but again a minor quibble. The disc also loads immediately to the movie once you skip the distributor logo - thats more like it ( are you listening Universal?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Paul Walker at his best in a very tense crime thriller, 1 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Running Scared [DVD] (DVD)
Paul Walker's Joey is a henchman of junior mob figure Tommy (played with great charisma by Johnny Messner), and is with him when a drugs deal goes violently wrong. Asked to get rid of an incriminating handgun, he messes up by unknowingly getting seen by his neighbour's son Oleg (played to oddball perfection by Cameron Bright), who steals the gun and sets off a lethal chain of events.
Running Scared then charts the increasingly frantic efforts of Joey to get back the gun that he failed to dump before his unstable and suspicious mob colleagues find out, and before the Police get to it first.
It would spoil the story to give away any more first, except to say that writer and Director Wayne Kramer has crafted a tale of exceptional pacing and tension. The entire movie feels like it runs (appropriately) from one desperate situation to another, with constant danger and nary a breath to relax in between.
It's rich in extremely well-played characterisation and incredibly distinctive roles. Messner is terrific as the predatory mob heir, Vera Farmiga perfect as Joey's tough wife Theresa, and Karel Roden is complex and painfully flawed as Oleg's abusive father. But it's Walker who stands out, with his street-tough accent, messy stubble and nasty attitude. Here, like in Roadkill, he shines as a man struggling not to crack under pressure, and vastly betters his too shiny/too cocky performances in lighter fare like 'The Fast and The Furious' or 'Into The Blue'.
This is a dirty, grimy tale of breakneck speed and tension, with a wealth of distinctive and amazing scenes, and it deserves a place in any thriller fan's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A fresh and exciting thriller, 11 Nov. 2008
By 
Dr Evil (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Running Scared [DVD] (DVD)
In `Running Scared' Paul Walker plays Joey, a low level mobster who has a gun in his possession that was used to kill some crooked cops in a drug deal gone wrong. When the gun is stolen by his young next-door neighbour and used in a shooting, Joey must find the gun before the cops or the rest of his mob do.

This is a very gritty, violent and dark thriller which is completely different from anything I've seen Walker in before. It's action-heavy and extremely tense throughout the whole film and had me guessing what was going to happen next right until the end. It has a very modern feel to it to with some impressive effects, similar to Fight Club, which I wasn't expecting.

Overall this is a decent thriller that didn't disappoint me at all, it exceeded my expectations if anything. Definitely recommended for a rent at least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vera Farmiga at her best..., 12 Aug. 2013
By 
M. Crawford (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Running Scared [DVD] (DVD)
Maybe I'm being a bit of a feminist saying this but in my opinion VF carried this film. Yes PW does his all action bit but she kicked ass especially the "disneyland" scene. Nuff said ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Running Scared [DVD]
Running Scared [DVD] by Wayne Kramer (DVD - 2006)
£4.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews