Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best film of 2006
Watched this with some trepidation. Gangsters, violence, yawn, been there, a am I really in the mood for another Tarantino clone? The beginning lived up to violent expectations but then something strange happened. By putting a child into jeopardy, and keeping him there for the duration of the movie, this director has produced a must-keep-watching gem. The film twists,...
Published on 8 May 2007 by T. Hawksley

versus
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Little known action film.
Well this is a million miles from Paul Walkers normal roles in films. In this he plays a low member of a local mafia gang. After a gun used to kill some undercover bent cops goes missing he has to find it before his own gang, rival Russian mafia or the bent cops can also get their hands on it. Off we set on a frantic chase encoutering all sorts of local scum and low life...
Published on 23 July 2006 by DVD Fan


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best film of 2006, 8 May 2007
By 
T. Hawksley "Tansy" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Running Scared [DVD] (DVD)
Watched this with some trepidation. Gangsters, violence, yawn, been there, a am I really in the mood for another Tarantino clone? The beginning lived up to violent expectations but then something strange happened. By putting a child into jeopardy, and keeping him there for the duration of the movie, this director has produced a must-keep-watching gem. The film twists, turns, dives into adult fairy story, throws in some allusions to Chitty Chitty Bang Bang, bungs in a few hockey putts, and generally keeps you gripping the edge of your seat for its duration. Worth trying out. And in terms of plot construction, script etc - it was very good. Not Tarantino. Much darker. Probably more of a gripper if you are a parent but still - try it. You might like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, Bit Random in Parts ..., 7 July 2006
By 
Mr. A. Woodward (UK, West Midlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Running Scared [DVD] (DVD)
I'll keep this review short, as the description covers most things, with a rather biased slant, of course.

However in this film, it lives up to expectations, with plenty of storyline, as with most crime-related films, a nice plot twist or 2 near the end (which I obviously wont spoil), and plenty of guns, corrupt cops, gangsters, all the cool things you'd expect to be in a movie.

It does get slightly random a couple of times, however to be honest, it remains mostly believable and always gripping.

All in all a great film, I personally loved it, it kept me glued to the screen all the way through, but it may not be to everyones taste. If you unsure, rent it first, but to be honest, its a good enough film to just buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 13 May 2007
By 
M. O. HAYNES "couch magpie" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Running Scared [DVD] (DVD)
I rented this film on the basis that my girlfriend likes the lead actor and I wasn't expecting great things I have to say. From the synopsis it just looks like yet another yo yo boys n the hood white man kicks ass against in the naughty drug dealing world and gets to drive fast into some dustbins at some point. However, the more I watched this the more I got into it until eventually i was totally submerged and ended up shouting at the television trying to tell the characters what to do. Also, for once there is a strong female role which is not limited by 2-D comic book stereotyping (e.g. like the Bride in Kill Bill). Both parts of the troubled family portrayed in this film kick ass and I would recommend this to anyone who has any interest good action films without OTT special effects and pyrotechnics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good, 5 July 2008
By 
This review is from: Running Scared [DVD] (DVD)
Not the type of film I would normally watch but I'd encourage you to ignore the undeservedly harsh comments of some other reviewers because Running Scared just might have you as glued to your seats as I was. I would add that some of the "facts" of the plot as described by some reviewers are inaccurate. Perhaps this was done so as not to give away some of the surprises, so, errors forgiven. Yes, the film is violent (very violent), the language is strong, but the plot is neither weak or confusing, the direction is crisp and clever and the acting is generally very, very good; even some of the stereotypical gangster type characters manage to make you believe. The biggest and most wonderful surprise is Paul Walker, who moves out of the "just another pretty face" category and reveals real talent. As I watched the film, I kept saying to myself "Damn, he's good." I hope future roles come his way that take him into new areas that allow him to continue to stretch and develop his talent; the guy has got it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vera Farmiga at her best..., 12 Aug 2013
By 
M. Crawford (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Running Scared [DVD] (DVD)
Maybe I'm being a bit of a feminist saying this but in my opinion VF carried this film. Yes PW does his all action bit but she kicked ass especially the "disneyland" scene. Nuff said ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reference standard blu ray quality, 5 Jun 2012
This review is from: Running Scared (Blu-ray)
German blu ray Awesome movie, picture and sound

If you are a fan of this movie the German blu ray is a must buy. The version i bought is a reissue and there are none of the dvd extras (i don't know if the original print or 3D blu ray have any of the extras) but this is a minor annoyance. The film as most of you would know is shot in that style were certain colours are over saturated but nevertheless the colour and clarity on this disc are reference quality. The sound really kicks too . The gun shots and explosions made me jump . Some of the dialouge at the start of the movie is balanced a little low in the mix but again a minor quibble. The disc also loads immediately to the movie once you skip the distributor logo - thats more like it ( are you listening Universal?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 14 Aug 2009
This review is from: Running Scared [DVD] (DVD)
WOW!
A real boot in the face bit of cinema.

Frantic, brutal, uncompromising in language and violence, superbly made so as to feel like a hyper-kinetic graphic novel come to life, some balls-out performances (esp by the main child actor and Paul Walker) and with some head-spinning plot twists.
It's wildly over the top, totally implausible and packed with comic strip characters and events, but given a brutal make-over with high melodrama to ensure we care what happens to people.

The basic set-up is like a far more serious, far more nasty "Snatch". Only with a gun replacing a diamond, which takes the various larger than life characters on a mind bending journey into over the top (but wonderful) situations.

You either embrace and go with the harrowing, brutal but comic strip plot or you don't and as such miss out on one of the finest American films to come out in a LONG time.
And how damn unexpected and just plain scary were that couple!!?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Little known action film., 23 July 2006
By 
DVD Fan (london, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Running Scared [DVD] (DVD)
Well this is a million miles from Paul Walkers normal roles in films. In this he plays a low member of a local mafia gang. After a gun used to kill some undercover bent cops goes missing he has to find it before his own gang, rival Russian mafia or the bent cops can also get their hands on it. Off we set on a frantic chase encoutering all sorts of local scum and low life in his search for the gun as it changes hands over the course of one night.

This is a tough gritty, dark film with plenty of swearing, violence. Not that far off in comparison to the likes of Goodfellas, Casino and the other violent gangstar films of the 90's. If you liked those you should like this, if your expecting the nice boy next door Paul Walker of Fast and the furious or Into the blue, you may be shocked. Overall a good film. 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
This review is from: Running Scared [DVD] (DVD)
I am addicted to this film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Running Scared [DVD] (DVD)
Great dvd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Running Scared [DVD]
Running Scared [DVD] by Wayne Kramer (DVD - 2006)
4.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews