Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great discovery
An impulse buy to 'fill a gap' in the collection but one of the most relaxing and enjoyable CD's bought for some time. If you're looking for an accurate and musical rendition of this music, you couldn't do better.
Published on 2 Nov. 2009 by D. Wilson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Bad remaster, lots of low rumble
Published 1 month ago by CeeDee


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great discovery, 2 Nov. 2009
By 
D. Wilson (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: The Four Lute Suites [Great Performances] (Audio CD)
An impulse buy to 'fill a gap' in the collection but one of the most relaxing and enjoyable CD's bought for some time. If you're looking for an accurate and musical rendition of this music, you couldn't do better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bach's Lute Suites on Guitar, 15 July 2012
This review is from: Bach: The Four Lute Suites [Great Performances] (Audio CD)
Mesmerizing! I have been listening to these suites in many forms and they all have their strengths. John Williams's interpretation of Bach's Lute Suites on Guitar are beautifully played and the soundscapes he creates are bound to found a way into your mind. If I listen to these as a drive I simply cannot help myself humming along as they come across as a song. Regardless, these are pieces that you will treasure if you are fond of Bach's compositions and/or the guitar. Bach often used his compositions in many ways (e.g. cello or lute). As another reviewer stated the guitar is the main instrument in this recording from 1975. It is very beautiful and is likely to be a desert island disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lute on the guitar?, 29 Mar. 2013
By 
Sebastian Palmer "sebuteo" (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: The Four Lute Suites [Great Performances] (Audio CD)
This is an excellent recording of some beautiful music.

As a dabbler on guitar, even (albeit timorously) venturing gradually and slowly into classical repertoire, it's particularly of interest. Williams has long been known as a prolific guitar virtuoso of outstanding talent, and this 1975 recording is just one of the many testimonies from his catalogue to bear this out.

Considered on its own merits this is certainly five-star fare. And we love it, having already listened to it numerous times within the first week of owning it. What I would like to observe, however, is that coming to this from Nigel North's fabulous Bach lute set (a glorious 4 disc set from Linn records), one is struck by how much richer and more sonorous the lute sounds.

Keyboard instruments seem to have evolved such that over the years modern instruments typically deliver a richer broader more expressive sonority than do older models and types. The humble guitar, by contrast (and I love guitar, and play it a lot at home), seems a lesser beast, sonically speaking, than a well-recorded lute. I guess it's simply down to the fact that lutes have more strings and a wider range. Perhaps also the age of this recording adds to a slight thinness of tone?

With the above in mind, I would have to say that the best renditions of this repertoire are North's lute recordings for Linn. But they are obviously on lute, and this is guitar. Despite having said all this, first and foremost this is beautiful music played with superlative skill, and as such fully merits five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Bach by Wonderful Williams, 26 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: The Four Lute Suites [Great Performances] (Audio CD)
Superb playing, precise, expressive. Williams plays with attention to detail and makes some very hard music sound effortless and easy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bach, 14 Oct. 2013
By 
Mr. R. P. De Kerbrech (Isle of Wight) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: The Four Lute Suites [Great Performances] (Audio CD)
The Master at work.The definitive version to be played without distraction for effect.Relaxing and soothing. Extremely good value for money,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 21 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: The Four Lute Suites [Great Performances] (Audio CD)
Bach is Bach so you know what you can expect, but how John Williams performs the Lute Suites is astonishing. Superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Remember it's the guitar interpretation, 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: The Four Lute Suites [Great Performances] (Audio CD)
Think I must get the lute recording of this !
Guitar not quite right, but good of its kind!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Read the smallprint, 9 Jun. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: The Four Lute Suites [Great Performances] (Audio CD)
My mistake - I didn't read the cover properly. I wanted the Lute Suites played on the LUTE, not a guitar. Nothing wrong with the recording or performance - just not what I wanted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The lute, 22 July 2014
By 
P. A. Cory "Peter Goatkeeper" (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: The Four Lute Suites [Great Performances] (Audio CD)
Beautiful music beautifully played (of course). What more can be said?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 28 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: The Four Lute Suites [Great Performances] (Audio CD)
Bad remaster, lots of low rumble
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bach: The Four Lute Suites [Great Performances]
Bach: The Four Lute Suites [Great Performances] by John Williams (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews