Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Profound & Moving Live Performance by Du Pre
Personally, I think this live performance of Elgar's Cello Concerto, with Daniel Barenboim, is the most profound and moving of all. There's an uncanny rapport between the cellist and the orchestra, and the longer pauses in crucial moments, especially in the slow movement and the finale, only increase the sense of deep Elgarian longing and inevitability of fate. It is a...
Published on 13 Feb. 2010 by Scriabinmahler

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's a big NO from me.
The Elgar is one of the most beautiful concertos ever written and now a staple in the cello repertoire. It is my favourite cello concerto and I own more than a dozen recordings of the work. I heard this on Classic FM while in the car, when I switched the radio on it was well into the third (slow) movement and...slow it was indeed, pedantic, soporific, lacking emotion, I...
Published 23 days ago by Mikicellist1975


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Profound & Moving Live Performance by Du Pre, 13 Feb. 2010
By 
Scriabinmahler (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Elgar: Cello Concerto; Enigma Variations; Pomp And Circumstance Marches No. 1 & 4 [Great Performances] (Audio CD)
Personally, I think this live performance of Elgar's Cello Concerto, with Daniel Barenboim, is the most profound and moving of all. There's an uncanny rapport between the cellist and the orchestra, and the longer pauses in crucial moments, especially in the slow movement and the finale, only increase the sense of deep Elgarian longing and inevitability of fate. It is a miracle that the couple sustains the perfect marriage of expressive freedom and noble control. This is definitely the one of those performances in which the emotional concentration is so intense and focussed that the music transcends this world.

The performance of Enigma Variations already shows the signs of Barenboim's greatness as a conductor to come. Again, he captures all the subtle nuances and deep lyricism of the music, allowing each voice of the orchestra much freedom to express, while his intellectual grasp of the architecture of the whole work never wavering. There is a timeless quality in this performance, as in Barenboim's account of Elgar's two symphonies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's a big NO from me., 4 May 2015
This review is from: Elgar: Cello Concerto; Enigma Variations; Pomp And Circumstance Marches No. 1 & 4 [Great Performances] (Audio CD)
The Elgar is one of the most beautiful concertos ever written and now a staple in the cello repertoire. It is my favourite cello concerto and I own more than a dozen recordings of the work. I heard this on Classic FM while in the car, when I switched the radio on it was well into the third (slow) movement and...slow it was indeed, pedantic, soporific, lacking emotion, I didn't know who the soloist was. The 4th movement was better, the tempo was better, although some of the passages I found were a bit too harsh, too aggressive. When the radio presenter revealed the name of the soloist and conductor I was very surprised. No doubt Jackie Du Pre' was an extraordinary cellist, a spirited woman and fantastic musician, her life so tragically and prematurely cut off. But I am afraid this version of the Elgar with Barenboim just didn't do anything for me. The Classic Brit award 1985 winning recording with the RPO, Julian Lloyd Webber and Yehudi Menuhin conducting remains for me the best and unsurpassed. Menuhin had recording the Elgar violin concerto with Elgar himself conducting, he knew very well what the composer wanted to communicate through his music. Of course the "favourite" is a personal choice, there are many, many recordings of the Elgar out there. All I can say is that I didn't like this one with Du Pre' and Barenboim at all and I would have been very disappointed by the CD if I had ordered it based on the feedback I saw here. If you are after a recording of the Elgar with Du Pre' try the one with Barbirolli conducting, much, much better!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elgar Cello Concerto, 18 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elgar: Cello Concerto; Enigma Variations; Pomp And Circumstance Marches No. 1 & 4 [Great Performances] (Audio CD)
Du Pre brings a depth to playing the cello that isn't heard elsewhere. Listen carefully and you will hear an audience member cough part way through the performance; but still probably the best recording of this piece available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best versions of these pieces, 9 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elgar: Cello Concerto; Enigma Variations; Pomp And Circumstance Marches No. 1 & 4 [Great Performances] (Audio CD)
I had the vinyl version of this album and the remastering has worked well.
I'm not a big fan of digital remasters and classical music which one might think would benefit most from remastering given its larger dynamic range as a rule than pop or rock. However until fairly recently although the surface noise disappears in digitising the music, it is often left too bright and lifeless as compared with the warmth of an analogue recording. Don't forget that all the instruments in this recording are analogue, so it is only as digital technology has improved that this remastering process has contributed anything at all, apart from the lack of the usual surface noise, pops and clicks of a vinyl recording.
The pieces played here are from two musicians at the height of their powers and even today stands up well against any modern version. I've been a huge fan of the young Barenboim so perhaps I'm biased, but like his original recording of the Moonlight Sonata and the Pathetique this is still a benchmark by which other performances are judged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elgar Cello Concerto, 14 Feb. 2011
By 
This review is from: Elgar: Cello Concerto; Enigma Variations; Pomp And Circumstance Marches No. 1 & 4 [Great Performances] (Audio CD)
I bought this for myself having lost a previous copy. It was wonderful to hear it again - one of the few pieces that brings a tear to the eye. I once recorded a programme about Jacqueline du Pre, where she played this at the end, but in the days of VHS someone recorded over it. What a pleasure it is to be able to listen to this fabulous recording once more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Music, 18 Dec. 2011
By 
J. Makin "45407" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elgar: Cello Concerto; Enigma Variations; Pomp And Circumstance Marches No. 1 & 4 [Great Performances] (Audio CD)
I bought this CD primarily because I like Jacqueline du Pré. Elgar's Pomp & Circumstance Marches and the Enigma Variations are are ecellent pieces, but when combined with Jacqueline du Pré it becomes superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A waste of money., 3 May 2015
This review is from: Elgar: Cello Concerto; Enigma Variations; Pomp And Circumstance Marches No. 1 & 4 [Great Performances] (Audio CD)
Where do you people come from? Without doubt, this is the worst recording of Elgar's Cello Concerto I have ever heard. It is plainly obvious that it has been transcribed form a vinyl LP, for you can hear all of the attributable sounds, and it has been a great disappointment to me as far as an appreciable recording is concerned. I shall now seek a worthy recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elgar: Cello Concerto; Enigma Variations; Pomp And Circumstance Marches No. 1 & 4 [Great Performances] (Audio CD)
This is the only true recording of Elgar's Cello Concerto and played by the 'Master' Jacqueline du Pre. Recorded over 40 years ago it still makes for a truly wonderful listen. Only complaint is that the linear notes could have included information on du Pre and Barenboim.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best yet!, 14 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elgar: Cello Concerto; Enigma Variations; Pomp And Circumstance Marches No. 1 & 4 [Great Performances] (Audio CD)
Intensely feeling. I marginally prefer it to the studio recording and to those of any other cellist..The supporting pieces are also excellently performed, especially the Pomp and Circumstance marches..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Having purchased the original vinyl version of this brilliant performance in the 70's it is most enjoyable to ..., 25 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elgar: Cello Concerto; Enigma Variations; Pomp And Circumstance Marches No. 1 & 4 [Great Performances] (Audio CD)
Having purchased the original vinyl version of this brilliant performance in the 70's it is most enjoyable to be able to play this re-mastered version on disc ! Thank you.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elgar: Cello Concerto; Enigma Variations; Pomp And Circumstance Marches No. 1 & 4 [Great Performances]
Elgar: Cello Concerto; Enigma Variations; Pomp And Circumstance Marches No. 1 & 4 [Great Performances] by Daniel Barenboim, The Philadelphia Orchestra Jacqueline du Pré (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews