Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I'm not talking about the local cruisers but the big corellian ships now!"
At last! The most iconic Imperial ship has made it to Lego form with all the features for the mini figures - the Star Destroyer.
This kit contains hundreds of pieces and is a massive 60cm long, 38 cm wide and 22 cm tall when fully assembled and has loads of features.
The command tower section has a device that allows the back to open and access to the bridge,...
Published on 25 Aug 2006 by TK-1308

versus
19 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars For adults not children!
My son enjoyed patiently building this model over 4 days at Christmas but found that every time he wanted to play with the model it fell apart as its base is not strong enough to support the model and the engines stick out below the base so they fall off every time it is put down. Finally after months of frustration we contacted Lego who supplied some extra bricks to try...
Published on 3 April 2008 by Nightly reading mum


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I'm not talking about the local cruisers but the big corellian ships now!", 25 Aug 2006
By 
TK-1308 - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars 6211 Imperial Star Destroyer (Toy)
At last! The most iconic Imperial ship has made it to Lego form with all the features for the mini figures - the Star Destroyer.
This kit contains hundreds of pieces and is a massive 60cm long, 38 cm wide and 22 cm tall when fully assembled and has loads of features.
The command tower section has a device that allows the back to open and access to the bridge, which has room for two figures, and also detatches to allow access to the interior.
Inside you have the forward launch bay with an escape pod that you can launch by the press of a button. Behind this is the main area which has a concealed gun rack for the Stormtroopers blasters, a hologram of the Emperor and a holoplatform for Vader to kneel on, Darth Vader's meditation chamber and this great mechanism which allows you to remove his helmet when he's inside.
With great attention to detail this kit is brilliant but definately for the more experienced builder. The box says 9-14 years but the under 12s may have trouble with the hull plate assembly - a little fiddly and I needed and extra pair of hands at times. Assembly time is about 2 hours but well worth it.
All this and you get 10 mini figures. There are 2 Royal Guards, 2 Stormtroopers, Darth Vader, Grand Moff Tarkin (for the first time ever!), an Imperial Officer, a holographic Emperor (kind of like the Han in carbonite) MSE-6 and R2-D5 (who is actually R2-Q2).
All in all this is an absolute must for any Star Wars fan and anyone who just likes a great looking spaceship. Now, where did that Blockade Runner get to.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Where are the Rebel plans?", 17 Nov 2006
By 
CJ (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars 6211 Imperial Star Destroyer (Toy)
The Imperial Star Destroyer is one of the most iconic Star Wars vehicles of the entire series. There has been a Lego Collectors Series version of the Star Destroyer for some time now, but personally this model gets the thumbs up as it is mini figure scale and so has more going on. Plus kids can actually play with it!

Assembly is pretty straighforward and the model is quite sturdy once built, although it isn't particularly well suited to flying through the air...

The top lifts off to reveal an escape pod, Darth Vader's meditation chamber, a hologram of the Emperor, a weapons locker and a few display panels. There is also a command bridge in which you can fit a couple of minifigs. Some very serious liberties have been taken with scale on this model, but these are only obvious when the interior is revealed.

You get a whopping 7 minifigs, plus an R2 unit, mouse droid and the Emperor hologram. Included is an exclusive Grand Moff Tarkin figure.

My 5-year-old loves it and it looks very cool on a shelf so I can't recommend the Star Destroyer highly enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Money well spent, 13 Nov 2006
By 
R. Johnson "Big Kid" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars 6211 Imperial Star Destroyer (Toy)
Had a good sum of money to spend on myself and decided to go for the Lego Star Destroyer. The model looks detailed on the photos and there's a good part count to boost the Lego collection. Received the kit through the post on Thursday and had built it by that Sunday. It was fiddly at times but I was impressed by the way the designers had achieved the different angles on this model. The highlight for my daughter (8 years old) were the minifigs and working "laser cannons" on the sides. She has spent ages playing with the characters inside (with the top off). I thought it was MY present. All in all, it might say 9-14 on the box but I'm 42 and have loved making it. Wholeheartedly recommend it to all adults enjoying their second childhood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Patience game, 28 Jan 2008
By 
A. Sundin "Nick Sundin" (Tyne and Wear, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars 6211 Imperial Star Destroyer (Toy)
One piece of strong advice. You must have unlimited patience to build this. It's not a matter of skill, but the emotional skill - I spent 3 days making this, I pick it up and ... BANG! Base falls out, I spent hours rebuilding it, then give up later after reducing me to tears twice.

There are loads of good points though; it comes with a Darth Vader figure [I have been looking for one for ages], an exclusive, no, two - Grand Moff Tarkin and the mouse droid - and 2 emperor's royal guards. These are especially good - the force pikes, the capes, the AWESOME helmets.There's also an Emperor hologram.

Overall, I'd say buy this if you're not going to play with it. If you like getting stuff out, buy the Troop Transporter - you get a brilliant vehicle, one imperial pilot, 2 sandtroopers and 2 normal stormtroopers.
Patience is everything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very solid purchase, 17 Aug 2013
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars 6211 Imperial Star Destroyer (Toy)
First off, this is a pretty big model. You don't get an awful lot of sets that are bigger than it, so make sure you have room to display it.
It was a great build, although I did run into some problems with getting the plates to stay together. In fact, that's my only real criticism of this model - the ship is very flimsy in certain aspects. A lot of the plating of the Star Destroyer is extremely flimsy, despite being high quality Lego; and due to the top being detachable, the model as a whole can be quite easy to push around. The top part of the ship is quite loose, as it simply sits on top of the rest, attached by absolutely nothing.

However, the set itself is very good. The great thing about this one is that it's a good enough size to just be a display model, but it also has enough minifig detail for you (or your kids) to be able to play with it. There are some nice minifigures here, and there are even different weapons in storage for the stormtroopers to use.

I bought this when it came out for a mere 100, and for that price I can definitely recommend it. However, the price now is quite different, and you can buy the new Super Star Destroyer for around the same amount of money. I'd buy that one if you want a model; though this one's much better in terms of being played with.

Overall, a good (though technically flawed) set that might not have a justifiable price tag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars For adults not children!, 3 April 2008
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars 6211 Imperial Star Destroyer (Toy)
My son enjoyed patiently building this model over 4 days at Christmas but found that every time he wanted to play with the model it fell apart as its base is not strong enough to support the model and the engines stick out below the base so they fall off every time it is put down. Finally after months of frustration we contacted Lego who supplied some extra bricks to try and stabilise the base (a known problem obviously) but that didn't work so we returned it. A great model for adults but simply not suitable for playing with - don't waste the money for kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lego Imperial Star Destoyer, 31 Mar 2009
By 
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars 6211 Imperial Star Destroyer (Toy)
Im an experienced lego builder due to having a 7 year old obssessed with all things related to Star Wars! I have read a review on here where someone has claimed it only took them 2 hours to construct this toy. Believe me, if you are doing it properly, it will take you much longer than that!

Everyone knows that when you build a lego toy of this size, its not designed to stay in one piece but conveniently falls apart once you have lifted the item up. Therefore, the only solution is to glue the bricks together where appropriate, which of course takes time but ultimately alot more satisfying once you watch your child actually play with it!

Of course, there will be the lego purists that will choke on their bricks reading that advice but at the end of the day, me and my son, dont get alot of pleasure watching the ship fall apart at the merest of touches. No matter how well the ship is built, it will come apart if you dont get the bostik out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Can't play with it or it will collapse, 6 Jan 2009
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars 6211 Imperial Star Destroyer (Toy)
Having now read the reviews I agree with most that this is not to be played with as a toy. For that reason it is difficult to review as a toy. It will also take you a lot longer than 2 hours to build! The 'numbered' bag system is a joke and it is not long before you are halted and need to look through lots of other bags to find the missing pieces. The 'toy' has a lot of features but there is no point as you can't lift it without it falling apart. The top of the ship also comes off but the release mechanism is so sticky that you can't remove the top without it falling to pieces in your hands. (It is worth noting that this is doubly difficult to re-build after it has collapsed).
It is a shame as the finished article looks good and has obviously taken a lot of effort to design and create. It is not a toy, however, but a model to sit on a large shelf and not be touched (unless you want to superglue it together as you go along!).
I did get a good price on Amazon though at the time of purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Do something about it, Lego, 16 Jan 2009
By 
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars 6211 Imperial Star Destroyer (Toy)
We gave this to my Star Wars and Lego-obsessed 8-yo son for Xmas, he absolutely loved the figures in it and loved building it, but ended up face down on the couch crying, saying "I wish I'd never asked for this, I can't play with it!" because the completed spaceship kept falling apart every time he tried to lift it up - the bottom just fell off it. He's a great Lego builder and tried all sorts of fixes to keep the bottom on but to no avail. It's still lying in bits on a chair in his room.
Our children have loads of Lego and I always admire Lego's clever functional designs, but Lego was asleep at the wheel on this one. A disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars well disappointed!!!, 6 Oct 2007
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars 6211 Imperial Star Destroyer (Toy)
My 10 year old stepson paid 80.00 from his birthday money for this model and took 3 days to complete it. Total disappointment though when he tried to lift it and the entire base dropped out. Every time we touch it, another bit falls off. Looks like lego is losing it's grip! We are not impressed and have complained to lego and await reply. Fantastic looking model but not really a 'play with' toy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

LEGO Star Wars 6211 Imperial Star Destroyer
Used & New from: 137.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews