Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly engrossing
I have actually bought this title for my girlfriend for Christmas, but the sampling has proven surprisingly addictive. in short there are many similarities to the japanese 'wonderful life' franchise, where you raise a 'garden' of animals and grow foods etc. I suppose it may be a little too complex for children as you need to keep an eye on a multitude of real time events...
Published on 5 Dec. 2006 by Phoeix

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's cute and fun but more for kids!
This game is VERY funny! all the little cute Pinatas! sadly once the novely has worn off and you have seen all the different types of critter -i found it just became a bit repetative. But hey it is aimed at kids!. I just got bored of doing my 'gardening' and found it a bit slow going. Visually its great! its the brightest game you will ever play! and theres no doubt that...
Published on 9 July 2008 by Snowy3


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly engrossing, 5 Dec. 2006
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Viva Pinata (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I have actually bought this title for my girlfriend for Christmas, but the sampling has proven surprisingly addictive. in short there are many similarities to the japanese 'wonderful life' franchise, where you raise a 'garden' of animals and grow foods etc. I suppose it may be a little too complex for children as you need to keep an eye on a multitude of real time events as your pinadas relentlessly kill each other offscreen, but all are easily regenerated....one complaint so far is the lack of clarity on exactly how you progress, attain larger gardens etc.. but a hdtv plasma the graphics and colours are fantastic....my first attempt lasted 8 consecutive hrs, and if you like management sims along the line of theme park etc... you probly won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very, very addictive., 30 Jan. 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Viva Pinata (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I bought this game as I fancied trying something a bit different to the usual first person shooters which I usually buy. I put the game in, started playing it and before I knew it 3 hours had passed and I was frantically trying to get worms to "romance" and make sure my newly planted seeds had enough water. There are no real objectives in this game, but you can unlock achievements and earn in game points as your garden grows and you attract more Pinata. Graphically it's very pleasing with colourful animation and nice 3D gardens to appreciate. I have had no problems with the game freezing as another reviewer said, the game plays fine and an auto save feature helps to ensure you don't lose too much should something disastrous happen. Great game - deserves to be massive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the sims, but fluffier., 1 Mar. 2007
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Viva Pinata (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
bought this game couple of days ago after i read some other reviews on it. Game play and objective is basically similar to the sims, -build house, buy nice things, cultivate and watch it all fall apart! Very enjoyable game, very addictive. Originally bought it for my girlfriend but i havent let her have a go on it yet! bit of a shame there is no real online play for it, all you can do is trade things. Also sometimes there can be too much going on and not enough time to do it (classic sim problem). Maybe i need more practice..........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best games on xbox 360, 13 Jun. 2007
By 
L. Elmes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Viva Pinata (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This has GOT to be one of the best games on Xbox 360. A lot of people think it's for little kids, but it's for everyone. I know loads of people over the age of 13 that love the game, and I do too! It's got great graphics, and it's the most imaginative, colourful game I've ever played. It doesn't get tiresome, and theres always something to do. Collect Pinatas, unlock to shops, characters, upgrades and items, become a great gardener, collect coins and much more! When you get to level 13 ish, you start doing factory challenges as well, where the Pinata Central are relying on you to get Pinatas. If your not sure about getting this game, theres a brilliant new demo on the xbox live marketplace, it might be 1.3gb but it's worth the wait and you can just delete it anyway.

It's also rewarding with some easy achievements, and some a bit harder.

Don't rate it till you've tried it, this game is one of the best out there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Viva Pinata - A Breath of Fresh Air for 360, 30 Dec. 2006
By 
Kevin Trebell (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Viva Pinata (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Viva Pinata is a truly wonderful game.

It plays something like a mixture of Harvest Mooon, Animal Crossing, with an RTS flavour.

It's completely different and one of the most charming, engrossing and enjoyable games i have ever played.

Sadly i fear it won't do as well as it deserves, with people knowing little about it and the 360 demographic leaning more toward shooters and sports.

It is the best game rare (of Golden Eye fame) have done in years, a true return to form.

If you want to see more innovation on 360.. buy this game and encourage them to give us more than another "bam blast" game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Viva Pinata: So much fun!, 4 Jan. 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Viva Pinata (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
i was sketchy about buying this game, i didn't really know what to think but eventually i took a chance and bought it.
First thing i thought about it was "weird!" but in a good way the graphics are so wonderfully colourful, i don't have a HDTV so i'd imagine they would be a lot nicer on one of them! the characters are wacky and the pinata's are really cute.
Game play moves smoothly with hardly any loading screens, also the game gets steadily harder but at an easy to manage pace and the tutorials prepare you well for anything that might happen. i have only completed a small section of the game and there seem to be so many pinata's to try and introduce to your garden population, you won't get bored easily and its SO addictive!
Overall this game is a great and will keep you entertained for ages!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Perfect Piñata, 29 Dec. 2006
By 
A. C. Williams (Caerdydd, Cymru) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Viva Pinata (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
If you're a fan of Animal Crossing, Pokémon, Harvest Moon and The Sims then you'll love this game. It's gorgeous to look at, intuitive to play and it's not too annoyingly cute!

The levels and awards mean that the action doesn't unfold too quickly so there's always something to keep your attention, you can't race to the higher levels immediately.

The piñata are beautifully designed and rendered, the scenery and landscape is gorgeous and the music is fantastic (the music played in the night while the piñata are sleeping is especially lovely).

I would give this game more than 5 stars is I could. As far as I can see, the only downside to this game is that when you start playing it you will forget to eat or sleep or go to work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this game I love this game I love this game, 24 Mar. 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Viva Pinata (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I have never had so much fun with a game as this; not even Halo3 is as good! It is so addictive. In our family all 3 kids and both adults have profiles and we all have several gardens on the go. Gameplay is responsive and the graphics are very good. All the gardens you create will have a different feel, which is one of the great things about this game. If you get bored with one garden, just start another. It's also interesting to see what the kids have done with their gardens. Kids are also a great source of info on the game; they've all helped me get out of a rut.

HIghly recommended to gardeners and non-gardeners alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Viva Piniata rocks!, 16 Mar. 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Viva Pinata (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I'm sure most people think that Viva Piniata is for babies but I don't care because it's fun for that exact reason, it's kiddy, colourful and fun times a jillion! You can't help but enjoy it! Unlocking the stores and characters makes it more fun that you actually have a goal instead of just having piniatas. I just love the whole idea of owning piniatas on an island for piniatas, it's simple, cute and fun! In short, I think you would enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Addictive, cute and amazing., 1 Dec. 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Viva Pinata (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Viva pinata isn't your typical xbox 360 game, for a start there are no guns, no grenades, no swords and no cars. It's bright, it's cheerful and it's a breath of fresh air. On a console that has racing games, RPG and shoot 'em ups coming out of it's ears, Viva pinata is an important game. It gives you a garden to customise how you like to attract the various forms of pinata with no real aim apart from increasing the value of your garden. In this respect it is original. Of course being original and unique (I know there's a sequel) doesn't mean it's a good game. In this case, however, it is a great game.

Let's start off with the obivious, yes it looks and sounds like a childs game. In my opinion that's its charm. It's silly and doesn't take itself seriously, its quite refreshing. With no real end goal you can find yourself lost for things to do at times but it doesn't stay like that for long as there are variants of each pinata to find, new species to attract and ruffians and sour pinata to protect your garden from. In fact the hardest decisions arise from having to constantly alter your garden and sacrifice pinata to gain bigger and better pinata.

There are a few niggles: you can lose where a pinata is in your garden and this can be very frustrating when a its been injured. The game even though offering a large degree of freedom can force you down routes, for example you need X & Y before you can get Z to progress to N. This is just a little annoyance and by no means game breaking, its one of the things that stop you from staying stationary and getting bored.

To say this game is addictive is an understatement you'll want to get every pinata you can and with 6 or 7 different gardens to develop you really could get them all. Its a hard game to describe but it really is amazing. Its controls are simple, the graphics are superb and the sound and characteristics of each pinata will make you really care for them (which is a massive feat in itself).
Don't dismiss this game because of its childish looks, you'll be missing something truly amazing if you do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Viva Pinata (Xbox 360)
Viva Pinata (Xbox 360) by Microsoft (Xbox 360)
Used & New from: £3.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews