Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars49
4.5 out of 5 stars
Price:£14.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 December 2006
I have actually bought this title for my girlfriend for Christmas, but the sampling has proven surprisingly addictive. in short there are many similarities to the japanese 'wonderful life' franchise, where you raise a 'garden' of animals and grow foods etc. I suppose it may be a little too complex for children as you need to keep an eye on a multitude of real time events as your pinadas relentlessly kill each other offscreen, but all are easily regenerated....one complaint so far is the lack of clarity on exactly how you progress, attain larger gardens etc.. but a hdtv plasma the graphics and colours are fantastic....my first attempt lasted 8 consecutive hrs, and if you like management sims along the line of theme park etc... you probly won't be disappointed.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2007
I bought this game as I fancied trying something a bit different to the usual first person shooters which I usually buy. I put the game in, started playing it and before I knew it 3 hours had passed and I was frantically trying to get worms to "romance" and make sure my newly planted seeds had enough water. There are no real objectives in this game, but you can unlock achievements and earn in game points as your garden grows and you attract more Pinata. Graphically it's very pleasing with colourful animation and nice 3D gardens to appreciate. I have had no problems with the game freezing as another reviewer said, the game plays fine and an auto save feature helps to ensure you don't lose too much should something disastrous happen. Great game - deserves to be massive.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2007
bought this game couple of days ago after i read some other reviews on it. Game play and objective is basically similar to the sims, -build house, buy nice things, cultivate and watch it all fall apart! Very enjoyable game, very addictive. Originally bought it for my girlfriend but i havent let her have a go on it yet! bit of a shame there is no real online play for it, all you can do is trade things. Also sometimes there can be too much going on and not enough time to do it (classic sim problem). Maybe i need more practice..........
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2007
This has GOT to be one of the best games on Xbox 360. A lot of people think it's for little kids, but it's for everyone. I know loads of people over the age of 13 that love the game, and I do too! It's got great graphics, and it's the most imaginative, colourful game I've ever played. It doesn't get tiresome, and theres always something to do. Collect Pinatas, unlock to shops, characters, upgrades and items, become a great gardener, collect coins and much more! When you get to level 13 ish, you start doing factory challenges as well, where the Pinata Central are relying on you to get Pinatas. If your not sure about getting this game, theres a brilliant new demo on the xbox live marketplace, it might be 1.3gb but it's worth the wait and you can just delete it anyway.

It's also rewarding with some easy achievements, and some a bit harder.

Don't rate it till you've tried it, this game is one of the best out there!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Viva Pinata is a truly wonderful game.

It plays something like a mixture of Harvest Mooon, Animal Crossing, with an RTS flavour.

It's completely different and one of the most charming, engrossing and enjoyable games i have ever played.

Sadly i fear it won't do as well as it deserves, with people knowing little about it and the 360 demographic leaning more toward shooters and sports.

It is the best game rare (of Golden Eye fame) have done in years, a true return to form.

If you want to see more innovation on 360.. buy this game and encourage them to give us more than another "bam blast" game.
11 comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2006
If you're a fan of Animal Crossing, Pokémon, Harvest Moon and The Sims then you'll love this game. It's gorgeous to look at, intuitive to play and it's not too annoyingly cute!

The levels and awards mean that the action doesn't unfold too quickly so there's always something to keep your attention, you can't race to the higher levels immediately.

The piñata are beautifully designed and rendered, the scenery and landscape is gorgeous and the music is fantastic (the music played in the night while the piñata are sleeping is especially lovely).

I would give this game more than 5 stars is I could. As far as I can see, the only downside to this game is that when you start playing it you will forget to eat or sleep or go to work!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2008
I have never had so much fun with a game as this; not even Halo3 is as good! It is so addictive. In our family all 3 kids and both adults have profiles and we all have several gardens on the go. Gameplay is responsive and the graphics are very good. All the gardens you create will have a different feel, which is one of the great things about this game. If you get bored with one garden, just start another. It's also interesting to see what the kids have done with their gardens. Kids are also a great source of info on the game; they've all helped me get out of a rut.

HIghly recommended to gardeners and non-gardeners alike.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2007
I'm sure most people think that Viva Piniata is for babies but I don't care because it's fun for that exact reason, it's kiddy, colourful and fun times a jillion! You can't help but enjoy it! Unlocking the stores and characters makes it more fun that you actually have a goal instead of just having piniatas. I just love the whole idea of owning piniatas on an island for piniatas, it's simple, cute and fun! In short, I think you would enjoy it!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2009
Viva pinata isn't your typical xbox 360 game, for a start there are no guns, no grenades, no swords and no cars. It's bright, it's cheerful and it's a breath of fresh air. On a console that has racing games, RPG and shoot 'em ups coming out of it's ears, Viva pinata is an important game. It gives you a garden to customise how you like to attract the various forms of pinata with no real aim apart from increasing the value of your garden. In this respect it is original. Of course being original and unique (I know there's a sequel) doesn't mean it's a good game. In this case, however, it is a great game.

Let's start off with the obivious, yes it looks and sounds like a childs game. In my opinion that's its charm. It's silly and doesn't take itself seriously, its quite refreshing. With no real end goal you can find yourself lost for things to do at times but it doesn't stay like that for long as there are variants of each pinata to find, new species to attract and ruffians and sour pinata to protect your garden from. In fact the hardest decisions arise from having to constantly alter your garden and sacrifice pinata to gain bigger and better pinata.

There are a few niggles: you can lose where a pinata is in your garden and this can be very frustrating when a its been injured. The game even though offering a large degree of freedom can force you down routes, for example you need X & Y before you can get Z to progress to N. This is just a little annoyance and by no means game breaking, its one of the things that stop you from staying stationary and getting bored.

To say this game is addictive is an understatement you'll want to get every pinata you can and with 6 or 7 different gardens to develop you really could get them all. Its a hard game to describe but it really is amazing. Its controls are simple, the graphics are superb and the sound and characteristics of each pinata will make you really care for them (which is a massive feat in itself).
Don't dismiss this game because of its childish looks, you'll be missing something truly amazing if you do.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2007
I'd never played any kind of simulation game before and wasn't interested in the idea of them to be honest. But I have to say Viva Pinata is just huge fun and utterly charming. I was totally absorbed by it for two days after it arrived and still find it interesting weeks later. The graphics and general design are fantastic - there's are tribal art themes in the animals and backgrounds that are gorgeous to look at. The wonderful background music creates a great atmosphere of Disney and Spielberg. And the game has got the balance between challenge and achievement exactly right. For anyone bored of the usual blowing things up nonsense this is a bresh of fresh air. This is a game for everyone; young kids, families and anyone with a bit of a child still left inside.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)