Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

141 of 142 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just What You Always Wanted From A Robot, 28 Jun 2007
By 
C. J. Riches (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO 8527 Mindstorms NXT Robot (Toy)
I bought this for my son for his 10th birthday, having looked at other robotics kits and been concerned that they were a "one model only" purchase. I thought the Lego package would give good variation and the ability to easily make lots of different designs. We have not been disappointed. For example, in the last week he has made 3 different robots, programmed them, and modified them to do different tasks.

The set itself was the usual Lego technic style bricks, which he was familiar with to easily build the starter models. The "intelligent brick" software loaded with no problems, and provided you do the early exercises to learn how to program it, is pretty straightforward. But try to curb your enthusiasm to leap ahead - in the early days you have to learn the different graphics, otherwise it is easy to get the wrong program element. After a few programmes, you understand them much more readily.

We had our first robot going within an hour, and then did a couple of days doing the next sequences. I had a couple of days away and when I came back he was crazy to show me how he had done the next model - and got it to do what it should.

Do you need programming knowledge to use it - No. Do you need some time to help get it organised - yes, but pretty soon they'll be off and flying. I would say around 10 is the minimum age. Maximum age.....well more than me!

Compared to when I did (very basic) computer programming at school, this has the major attraction that you can do something with a real robot.

It's great education, and I was surprised that it has caused my son to spend less time on the computer. He now has a pencil and paper out drawing mechanisms and designing his next robot, assault course, or whatever. The one drawback is when it gets to bed-time, and there's just one more thing that needs to be done.....

In his words "It's the best robot kit, ever".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Educational and fun, limited only by your own imagination, 1 Jan 2008
By 
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO 8527 Mindstorms NXT Robot (Toy)
Mindstorms began with RCX pairing the creativity and simplicity of Lego with with programmable interactive robotics - NXT takes this great idea forward to near perfection.

Fun and educational for (older) children and adults alike. It comes with a decent amount of Lego to get you started including three servo motors and four sensors with a pretty robust and easy visual programming environment.

It has good support in the wider community such as additional sensors (e.g. compass, colour, gyro etc) and programming languages (C, Java amongst others). Also as it is standard Lego, any spare Technic sets can be put to good use supplementing the NXT kit.

The only thing I would have liked is an included storage box to keep all the tiny Lego bits etc, it comes in a single big cardboard box without any dividers.

Overall very much recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Product description does not do it justice!, 26 Dec 2007
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO 8527 Mindstorms NXT Robot (Toy)
We're delighted with the NXT kit; the product description on Amazon doesn't really do justice to how much potential it has. For example, there is functionality such as being able to communicate with other NXT robots, store data files in flash memory, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent educational robot for any age, 18 Aug 2008
By 
Ms. Eve Jones - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO 8527 Mindstorms NXT Robot (Toy)
This is an excellent educational robot. You can make many autonomous or remote robotic devices. Spares and more parts and sensors are easily available and include third party support, or make your own. There are many programming environments for the nxt, all easily available. Much web support too. Great for experienced and new programmers. All in all superb value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Exellent Adventure in Building and Robots, 21 April 2008
By 
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO 8527 Mindstorms NXT Robot (Toy)
An excellent product for those looking for an introduction to robots and who want that extra level of complexity. Thoroughly good fun for old and young and great value for money. The possibilities are boundless.

I would not recommend it for the very young but 11+ definately
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Cheaper" and with a divided box, 2 Nov 2008
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO 8527 Mindstorms NXT Robot (Toy)
I haven't bought this product through amazon but would like to help those who want a box etc for the kit. You can buy it through Rapid Electronics and get an "education set". It can be more expensive at times but it is frequently on offer and comes with a couple of extra sensors....and a storage box. I bought the set with rechargeable batteries, charger and the software (which is bought separately in this case) for £155 inc VAT no delivery as I live in the town where the depot is! OK, so overall I paid more than the prices quoted here - but I got a lot more too! I had so much fun with the kit that I then went and bought 30 for the schools that I work with. It is, without doubt, the best Lego kit for children aged over 6 - the models are simple to start but the programming makes them far superior when it comes to creating your own. My children (6 and 9) own a lot of the "power sets" technics etc but once built tend to lose interest - not so with the mindstorms. Save up and buy one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lego NXT, 2 April 2009
By 
Paulo (Lisbon, Portugal) - See all my reviews
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO 8527 Mindstorms NXT Robot (Toy)
Very nice LEGO. My 10 year son got pretty happy with it and in the first day he was already inventing new programs for the robot.
It is a pitty that printed building instructions for more robots are not supplied with the product. In particular for the humanoid robot shown in the package illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 star, 8 Dec 2008
By 
Joao Carvalho "rockofoak" (Aveiro, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO 8527 Mindstorms NXT Robot (Toy)
This is a totally 5-star toy!
Many fun and endless possibilities for all ages, especially if you also buy the Mindstorms literature.
It is defenatly worth the price!
Petty there aren't more plug-and-play robotics kits such as this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Its taught my son masses of stuff, 26 July 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO 8527 Mindstorms NXT Robot (Toy)
I bought this unit for my son over 4 years ago - he plays with it even now and wants to make more and more elaborate things - currently an RC steerable three wheeler vehicle!
We've added various items to provide strength as his designs have became more elaborate - watch the longest bracket, it bends under stress !

I also made him an wired power supply for testing and experiment. The Brain and Motors all gobbles batteries ... We use Rechargeables, but they run down quickly too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Kit, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO 8527 Mindstorms NXT Robot (Toy)
This is loads of fun to build and use,had great fun using it to throw sprouts ( off the xmas dinner)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

LEGO 8527 Mindstorms NXT Robot
Used & New from: £598.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews