Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars at last!!!
I'm glad this is finally coming out on dvd - we've had this on vhs for years since it was 1st shown on TV in 1993.

Robert Powell & Jasper Carrott seem like an unlikely combination, but the way they play off each other is hilarious.

Episodes are:

1.What The Butler Saw (27 Jan 93)

2.Hostage (3 Feb 93)

3.Teed Off (10...
Published on 31 May 2006 by L. Foy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars FUNNY
So funny to see these shows agaiin.
Started of as a sketch in Jasper Carrots show
and ended up a series it was that popular at the
time. Still daft and funny, made me smile.
Published 12 months ago by Keith Powell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Detectives: The Complete First Series [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
'The Detectives' is a peculiar idea for a sitcom, combining as it does comedian Jasper Carrott and actor Robert Powell, who once played Jesus Christ, as two bumbling, incompetent detectives Bob Louis and Dave Briggs. It's consistently very funny and Carrott and Powell work together brilliantly. George Sewell plays Superintendent Cottam, the detectives' superior very well.

All six episodes are great and there are some fine guest performances. One of the best episodes is 'Hostage' which, as you might imagine, features Louis and Briggs being held hostage by an armed escaped prisoner played very well by Michael Melia (also known as murder victim Eddie Royle from EastEnders).

First episode 'What the Butler Saw' is a great introduction to the series, an amusing parody of a murder mystery in which Louis and Briggs miss all the clues and ignore the butler attempting to assist them.

The series finale 'Strangers in Paradise' is the best episode. It features brilliant guest performances from Barry Cryer and Leslie Grantham. Louis, Briggs and Cryer's character Detective Simpson go undercover as the band at a nightclub belonging to gangster Danny Kane (played by Grantham). This leads to hysterically funny scenes in which they play 'Imagine' during a riot and later even play the 'Neighbours' theme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 29 Dec 2013
By 
T. A. Jones (east of england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Detectives: The Complete First Series [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
My Husband enjoys watching this again and again . It is brilliant and extremely good entertainment for her . a great buy !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars funny funny funny, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Detectives: The Complete First Series [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
funny, funny funny every time we watch we laughed , well worth buying we have bought them all of them now excellent service arrived
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top Rated Series, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Detectives: The Complete First Series [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Enjoyed watching this series when it first came out. Would have liked to have got the box set but it was not available so purchased the individual sets. Would highly recommend; thoroughly enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Detectives, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Detectives: The Complete First Series [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Bought all the series was so impressed with the first DVD. Very funny and perfect for a rainy day in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Detectives series 1, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Detectives: The Complete First Series [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Excellent and very funny - watched this years ago on TV and it was good to watch them again when there was nothing worth watching on the 80 odd channels on TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Detectives: The Complete First Series [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Bought all of the DVD's for this comedy as they are all fantastic. My family members have also watched them and are still laughing about them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Detectives: The Complete First Series [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Thought it was funny first time round and I haven't changed my mind, I still think it's briliant, want more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Refining the format, 12 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Detectives: The Complete First Series [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Series one of the Detectives has the feel of a series trying to find a format, funny and entertaining but not very sure of itself as yet, by series two it got much more confident and was much easier to watch, still highly recommended though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I thought., 10 Jan 2012
By 
This review is from: The Detectives: The Complete First Series [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
I bought this dvd of the Detectives (Series 1) to bring back memories of watching this show in the early 1990's. I was a teenager at the time watching the Detectives, so looking back I honestly think my taste in humour must have been poor as I struggled to laugh at any of this now I'm in my 30's. Its a shame as I did find Jasper Carrot funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Detectives: The Complete First Series [DVD] [1993]
£4.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews