Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars at last!!!
I'm glad this is finally coming out on dvd - we've had this on vhs for years since it was 1st shown on TV in 1993.

Robert Powell & Jasper Carrott seem like an unlikely combination, but the way they play off each other is hilarious.

Episodes are:

1.What The Butler Saw (27 Jan 93)

2.Hostage (3 Feb 93)

3.Teed Off (10...
Published on 31 May 2006 by L. Foy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars FUNNY
So funny to see these shows agaiin.
Started of as a sketch in Jasper Carrots show
and ended up a series it was that popular at the
time. Still daft and funny, made me smile.
Published 15 months ago by Keith Powell


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars at last!!!, 31 May 2006
By 
L. Foy (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Detectives: The Complete First Series [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
I'm glad this is finally coming out on dvd - we've had this on vhs for years since it was 1st shown on TV in 1993.

Robert Powell & Jasper Carrott seem like an unlikely combination, but the way they play off each other is hilarious.

Episodes are:

1.What The Butler Saw (27 Jan 93)

2.Hostage (3 Feb 93)

3.Teed Off (10 Feb 93)

4.Acting Constables (17 Feb 93)

5.Studs (24 Feb 93)

6.Strangers In Paradise (3 Mar 93)

I hope this sells really well so they bring out the other 4 series' soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely worth having in your collection!, 3 Nov. 2007
By 
This review is from: The Detectives: The Complete First Series [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
The Detectives with Jasper Carrott & Robert Powell is hilarious, with George Sewell playing their long-suffering Superintendent. I'm so glad this show has been released on DVD and I now own a copy of the first series, I've seen repeats of the show on Bravo & Paramount Comedy 2.

Series 1 was broadcast between 27 January 1993 to 3 March 1993 and kicks off with the first episode What the Butler Saw where Briggs & Louis investigate the Earl of Lisson's murder at his country hotel.

The second episode Hostage where Briggs & Louis are sitting down to watch the big game on Match Day when they're called upon to deal with a hostage situation.

In Teed Off the duo investigate Johnny McKenna, an arms dealer & golfer played by Jimmy Tarbuck and the pair want to impress the Super with promotion coming up.

In Acting Constables, Briggs & Louis join the crew on a police TV drama as technical advisers, but they're so wrapped up in their task that they fail to notice the drama going on behind the scenes.

In Studs, Briggs & Louis are sent to Jersey by the Super to investigate an international smuggling ring taking place, it was nice to see John Nettles & Terence Alexander reprise their roles from Bergerac in this episode

Finally in the last episode Strangers in Paradise, a crime boss is shot by assassins and Cottam worries that gang-warfare might break out so he sends Briggs & Louis undercover at an East End nightclub where they have to keep an eye on Danny Kane the owner of the club played by Leslie Grantham (Dirty Den Watts from Eastenders) who is the prime suspect.

This show is very funny and very entertaining, I recommend this to anyone who likes The Detectives, it's worth it for the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definately of the best of British, 9 Nov. 2006
By 
Ms. E. J. Baker "Elle" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Detectives: The Complete First Series [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
The Detectives is quite simply in a class of its own in comedy. There are no episodes that are not funny and I cannot say that about any other series I have ever seen.

Highlights on this one, well they would have to be Hostage, Studs and Teed Off. Teed off with Jimmy Tarbuck (as an extremely believable villian surprisingly) and a most amazing (and amusing) golf trolley with a will of its own. Studs sees them transported to Jersey and the Sport of Kings and a little dirty linen. Hostage is one for those who love football and for those of us who don't but have had to live with it!.

So pleased to see it available on DVD at last. Buy all of them, they are well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cry with laughter, 11 Jan. 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Detectives: The Complete First Series [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
i brought series 1&2 for my dad for christmas, my dad and brother have not shut up about them, they was laughing so hard tears was rolling down their faces, the whole family sat and watched the one where they have formed a band, and hid in the speaker, the house just filled with laughter,so for me series 3 & 4 will be the next buy on the list!!

a brilliant collection!! , dont hestiate on getting the detectives, you will not be disappointed, 5*****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better late than never, 31 Aug. 2006
By 
J. S. Walker "Johnnie" (Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Detectives: The Complete First Series [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Hostages is the most entertaining half hour of television ever made. A series of beautifully crafted double entendres link hostage negotiation with football fandom, and is essential viewing for anyone whose team has faced giants in the FA Cup. The rest of the series, though good, isn't up to this standard, but is still well worth viewing again. Not for fans of the villa though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very popular series of the '90's, 7 Feb. 2009
This review is from: The Detectives: The Complete First Series [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Typical of the British bungling comedies of the 1990's such as Fawlty Towers and the like. Perhaps you need a British sense of humour to fully appreciate some of the comedy, but this was hte best of British at the time. Buy for some classic comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still as funny, 26 Jun. 2010
By 
Elizabeth (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Detectives: The Complete First Series [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
This series has definitely worn well and passed the time test. I really enjoyed it the first time around and Bob and Dave are still as hilarious today as they were then. If you haven't seen the series before it is about two inept cops promoted away above their capabilities. Very very funny and will bear repeat watchings when you feel like a good chuckle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars about time!!!!!, 13 Jun. 2006
This review is from: The Detectives: The Complete First Series [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
i havent bought the set yet but, boy am i going to! In my eyes this is easily the funniest cop comedy available. what with robert powell's dry humour and jasper carrott's visual jokes (in acting constables' filming the casino scene being an example), they might seem an unlikely duo, but they hit off really well. easily the best episode in this series is hostages. watch it and see for your self
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!, 31 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Detectives: The Complete First Series [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
'The Detectives' is a peculiar idea for a sitcom, combining as it does comedian Jasper Carrott and actor Robert Powell, who once played Jesus Christ, as two bumbling, incompetent detectives Bob Louis and Dave Briggs. It's consistently very funny and Carrott and Powell work together brilliantly. George Sewell plays Superintendent Cottam, the detectives' superior very well.

All six episodes are great and there are some fine guest performances. One of the best episodes is 'Hostage' which, as you might imagine, features Louis and Briggs being held hostage by an armed escaped prisoner played very well by Michael Melia (also known as murder victim Eddie Royle from EastEnders).

First episode 'What the Butler Saw' is a great introduction to the series, an amusing parody of a murder mystery in which Louis and Briggs miss all the clues and ignore the butler attempting to assist them.

The series finale 'Strangers in Paradise' is the best episode. It features brilliant guest performances from Barry Cryer and Leslie Grantham. Louis, Briggs and Cryer's character Detective Simpson go undercover as the band at a nightclub belonging to gangster Danny Kane (played by Grantham). This leads to hysterically funny scenes in which they play 'Imagine' during a riot and later even play the 'Neighbours' theme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Detectives Series 1, 24 Jun. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Detectives: The Complete First Series [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
The Detectives is a very funny series starring two very different characters in real life, but have real chemistry in this most enjoyable and entertaining series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Detectives: The Complete First Series [DVD] [1993]
£4.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews