Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moulin Rouge for the blue collar slob
I was lucky enough to catch this film on its re-release. Lucky I say as it hardly took the world by storm and screened on one of my five local cinemas for only one week. This by no means did it justice. Perhaps it suffered a crisis of identity, not being as flambouyant and garish as Moulin Rouge, but this was exactly what appealed to me about it. It did appear grimey...
Published on 12 July 2006 by Mr. Dj Horsfield

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars absorbing - and very odd!
This is a very watchable film in the Dennis Potter 'Pennies from Heaven' mould - that is, a pretty down-to-earth plot (blue-collar man cheats on wife, she is angry, he eventually detaches himself from his younger mistress, it all ends sadly) punctuated by dance routines and singalong classics with the actors singing with the tracks. The musical bits are amusing and...
Published on 12 Feb 2007 by Mr. Ian A. Macfarlane


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moulin Rouge for the blue collar slob, 12 July 2006
By 
Mr. Dj Horsfield "Thirdeye" (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romance And Cigarettes [DVD] (DVD)
I was lucky enough to catch this film on its re-release. Lucky I say as it hardly took the world by storm and screened on one of my five local cinemas for only one week. This by no means did it justice. Perhaps it suffered a crisis of identity, not being as flambouyant and garish as Moulin Rouge, but this was exactly what appealed to me about it. It did appear grimey and rugged but that added to its charm and that atmosphere translated to the characters perfectly. It brought across the rather alternative poetry of the working class suburb and contains many moments that had me in stitches, including one particular scene with Chritopher Walken to rival his best ever work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for your collection, 16 July 2006
By 
A. Lopez-Valenzuela (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Romance And Cigarettes [DVD] (DVD)
I'm great fan of the Coen Brothers and specially Big Lebowsky so the expectations were high. Despite the bad critics, Romance & Cigarettes wasn't a disappointment at all. Quite the opposite, I loved it from the moment that Gandolfini kicks off "Lonely as a man without love". Fantastic direction from Turturro. Can't wait to see it again and keep it next to the other masterpieces from the Coen's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only homage to Dennis Potter worth watching!, 23 April 2006
By 
This review is from: Romance And Cigarettes [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this energetic film in the cinema and instantly clicked with it - I just can't wait for the DVD! This boisterous film is filled with all kinds of pastiches and a cracking cast incuding the indominatible Elaine Stritch - still a powerful screen presence. And why hasn't anyone else thought of teaming up Chrstopher Walken with Susan Sarandon and Gandolfini before?! And as for Kate Winslet!! She's definitely survived the banality/schlock of 'Titanic' and is stronger than ever, especially here with her amazing Northern accent - Jimmy McGovern should get her on his next project! The songs are delivered with gusto and imagination with the routine for 'Delilah' being a particular highlight. And let's not forget the brilliantly sleazey Steve Buscemi - need I say any more? If you can deal with blue collar New Yorkers bursting into song and dance and the bawdiness of Chaucer then this is the film for you!Thanks John Tuturro, for everything!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars absorbing - and very odd!, 12 Feb 2007
By 
Mr. Ian A. Macfarlane "almac1975" (Fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Romance And Cigarettes [DVD] (DVD)
This is a very watchable film in the Dennis Potter 'Pennies from Heaven' mould - that is, a pretty down-to-earth plot (blue-collar man cheats on wife, she is angry, he eventually detaches himself from his younger mistress, it all ends sadly) punctuated by dance routines and singalong classics with the actors singing with the tracks. The musical bits are amusing and intriguing, with incongruous choreography (a group of firemen, policemen, local labourers), and the performances are all excellent. I don't know why Aida Turturro (Janice Soprano in another incarnation) is cast as James Gandolfini's (Tony S. ditto) daughter - that just doesn't work. But Gandolfini is good as the fairly bone-headed but bewildered and in the end sympathetic hero, Susan Sarandon is very feisty as his wife and Kate Winslet puts in a bravura turn as the very foul-mouthed, ginger-haired mistress ; Elaine Stritch has a marvellous cameo as the mother from hell. The film ends surprisingly with considerable pathos, but mostly it is brassy and loud and sometimes just a bit hard to follow. After ten minutes I was for ejecting the DVD and watching something else, but it gets to you and is, in the end, worth a look. It is certainly something different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's beautiful., 19 July 2009
By 
A. E. Chambers (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Romance And Cigarettes [DVD] (DVD)
It's just a beautiful film. It's the poetry behind, and of, the mundane, the passionate and romantic feelings which flash through the everyday. And it's the most perfect interpretation of Shakespeare for the modern age, I think. I didn't think it was that odd, either, or odder than any other musicals: the music is either kind of integrated into the action of the movie or the song is contrived to curve into its own little music video. But, though it's standard to the form, it doesn't feel superficial, or forced, which is perhaps what most people find annoying in musicals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Well it used up a few hours, 25 Oct 2013
This review is from: Romance & Cigarettes (DVD)
Not really my kind of film, very unlikely to watch it again, hey ho at least it was fairly cheap!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mmmmmm., 16 Nov 2011
By 
Erin (Midlands, UK.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Romance And Cigarettes [DVD] (DVD)
I like most of the Coen brothers stuff and I love John Turturro in almost everything he does, but... This starts well and it's good to see Kate Winslet as a tart but it just seems to wander off in odd directions and finishes up being a confused mess. Plus it's "Pennies from Heaven" repackaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unsuccessful, 2 Mar 2010
By 
Elena Maria Accinelli (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Romance And Cigarettes [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this DVD because of Gandolfini, Walken, Winslet and Sarandon being in the film, and because Turturro directed it, but it failed completely as a movie. It's neither funny nor tragic, it falls in between which is the worst that can happen to a film. It also attempts to be a musical, which doesn't work either.
Acting's sublime as is the norm with the said cast, but I'm afraid it was a wasted effort. Pity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars romance and cigarettes, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great film with great top class actors and actresses, funny and down to earth, good fun, Unfortunately now I have to put more words in to satisfy someone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Gandolfini's in it. Bet he wishes he wasn't., 6 May 2013
This review is from: Romance And Cigarettes [DVD] (DVD)
I am definitely in the same camp as the other 1 star reviewer. I saw it on the box - well, some of it. The cast list was so impressive I hoped for great things. I lasted about 20 minutes.When Gandolfini burst into song, that was the final straw. Sarandon comes over with all the grace of a fish wife - foul language, even fouler dress sense. Three uppity daughters who, had this been a horror film you would be rooting for the axe murderer to target VERY early on. I never got to see Walken or Buscemi so don't know what indignities they had to suffer. Unless you're an inveterate musical fan who'll watch anything with terrible songs in it, you definitely need to give this one a miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa27648b8)

This product

Romance And Cigarettes [DVD]
Romance And Cigarettes [DVD] by Mary-Louise Parker (DVD - 2006)
12.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews