Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazed and Amused
Director Richard Linklater's nostalgic 'Dazed and Confused' is a hilarious slice of '70s life. A superb ensemble cast delivers a funny, dead-on portrait of American teenage life in the mid-1970s. Released in 1993, look out for early roles from Ben Affleck, Matthew McConaughy, Parker Posey and Milla Jovovich.
'Dazed and Confused' follows the exploits of various groups...
Published on 23 Jun 2004 by P. Fenichel

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars DAZZZED
OK A BIT DATED NOW WAS GOOD FOR ITS DAY I SUPPOSE WHAT AMERICA THOUGHT WAS COOL AT THAT TIME
Published 10 months ago by MR J A DUFFY


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A load of porridge, 15 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If I can save anyone a couple of hours of their life by writing this review it will have been worth it.

Whilst I have no doubt the acting is good, there is no plot to speak of apart from people just moping round acting like morons. This is supposed to be "a hilarious, nostalgic view" of the most powerful nation on Earth's educational system. God help the Earth as it involves boneheads being violent and smashing things up, then getting wrecked. Or doing same while wrecked.

There is a beginning, a middle and an end, however it's all like eating a large bowl of porridge. That, too has a beginning, a middle and an end but it's bland, stodgy and ultimately really quite boring.

Maybe Americans will watch it with a tear of nostalgia in heir eye. Us Brits will just think "yeah, right - tossers"

Avoid, avoid, avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yeah man!, 5 Jun 2004
This review is from: Dazed and Confused (DVD)
Dazed and Confused is a dope film that is a unique in its entity and that a film that you can't help but love. It explores the adventures of incoming high school and junior high students on the last day of school, in May of 1976. A funny insight to American youth culture with whoah ... man its like...cool! With well known actors in their younger day, cast boasts names such as Ben Affleck, Adam Goldberg (A Beautiful Mind)and other recognisbale faces, Dazed and Confused is a fun film and I would generally recommend it to most people, especially for all of you students out there!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars blazer, 29 April 2004
When i first started watching this movie i new that i was going to love it. especially with that car rolling in th film with that song sweetemotions by aerosmith. that part is just off the hook not to mention thatits a sweet ass car to begin with. this movie shows the true meaning ofsmoking da chronic!! blaze on peeps!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 5 Feb 2004
This review is from: Dazed and Confused (DVD)
Geeks, Jocks, Stoners and the High School Babes all in one!!
Amazing 70's film. A must buy for all!!
Oh.......................... SHOTGUN!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars are you tokin the reefer?, 23 Oct 2004
This review is from: Dazed and Confused (DVD)
This film is wat its all about,u can identify wit every character-most of th characters are jus like ur mates-its awesome, although its slow to start, its well worth it, its full of comedy and so damn true, its easily one of my favourite films to chill to- check you later!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An Uninteresting Slice of American Youth, 16 Feb 2012
This review is from: Dazed and Confused (DVD)
Oh...woe is me. I don't know what to do. I don't know what to think. I don't know what to believe. I Don't know who to idolise. I'm feeling unconfident and uncomfortable about my feelings.

Just saved you 90 minutes of watching this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Feel Good? How about child abuse!, 1 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dazed and Confused (DVD)
I read a lot of enthusiastic reviews here for this film but, even after making the mistake of watching it, I have no idea why this film appeals to anyone. The young cast is excellent and the soundtrack is nostalgic but that only adds to my disappointment.

Most of the action in this film centres on ritualised abuse of kids who are about to enter high school by the kids who have just graduated. Some of it is just humiliation but there is physical violence against the boys and rape games for the girls. Some of the older kids refuse to participate and one of the bullies gets his comeuppance but there is no real challenge to the abuse which the whole community seems to accept as inevitable (a mother pulls a shotgun on a bully - I might have pulled the trigger).

Even the bright kids have no interest in school except as a social club. It could have been a very dark expose of a nihilistic culture - there is some dialogue which suggests self-awareness - but almost everyone behaves like they are having fun. It is American Graffiti turned sour without even a suggestion of a future for the older kids (and a clear indication that the next batch of high schoolers are heading in the same direction).

Hilarious dialogue? Not unless you are very easily amused or perhaps under the influence of major narcotics.

Realistic? Perhaps for a certain subculture and the last day of school has always been a time of excess but there is no treatment of racism - the only black character seems have wandered onto the set - and American highschoolers in the 1970 were not so foul-mouthed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Irritating American Drivel, 4 Oct 2007
By 
D. Carter "Dave Carter" (Woodford Green, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dazed and Confused (DVD)
This film is usually praised for its rock and roll soundtrack, which is fair enough. Trouble is you hear very little of that music here, and the movie itself is rubbish. Its just cringeworthy adolecent college crap in which annoyingly American terms such as "Freshman" and "Semester" appear with frightening regularity. I trusted the hype but soon took it back and swapped it for a proper film. Then again, I'm not an American teenager.
For a quality stoner experience try Up In Smoke, or even The Trip!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews