Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good but parts missing
The Sportube 3 arrived within 48 hours using standard delivery so no problems there.

On opening the box, the Sportube looks massive and my tests have proved that it is easily capable of taking 3 pairs of skis and for those of you who have been seduced by the dark side (snowboarders) there should be no problems fitting your boards inside.

The Sportube...
Published on 29 Feb 2012 by Smithy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Does a job I suppose
Smart and functional and, in our case, required to carry skis to Canada. The problem is it will take 3 pairs of skis but then the overall weight far exceeds most airlines 23kg limit. Fully packed with 3 sets of skis and poles, ours came in around 28kg. Seems quite flimsy but I'm assuming it's tougher than it looks. Shame it doesn't come with the bands for the skis given...
Published 5 months ago by Amazon Junkie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good but parts missing, 29 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sportube Series 3 Original Hard Sided Skicase - Black (Sports)
The Sportube 3 arrived within 48 hours using standard delivery so no problems there.

On opening the box, the Sportube looks massive and my tests have proved that it is easily capable of taking 3 pairs of skis and for those of you who have been seduced by the dark side (snowboarders) there should be no problems fitting your boards inside.

The Sportube is extremely heavy at just under 7kgs and if you are thinking of taking 3 pairs of skis on a flight then you may well have problems with the 23kg maximum case weight imposed by so many airlines these days. For myself, I intend to pack 2 pairs of downhill skis and 2 pairs of langaluf skis (yes they will all fit inside with room to spare) so the weight should be OK as the langlauf skis weigh hardly anything.

On the minus side, hence the 4 star rating, the Sportube 3 arrived without the shoulder strap promised in the product description and without any bands to secure the ski bindings in the open position and without which the skis will not fit into the box. A phone call to Amazon has since resolved the problem and the missing parts are on their way.

As a suggestion, you may find that a fully loaded Sportube 3 is too heavy and cumbersome to carry on your shoulder anyway so the towing handle may be a useful optional accessary although the handles supplied are perfectly adequate for pulling it behind you.

Sportube do offer straps to secure the box to roof bars but, looking at the design the roof bars on your car would have to be set the right distance apart (not always possible unless you have roof rails) and even then I wouldn't be comfortable with this option.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, durable and practical snowboard case, 27 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sportube Series 3 Original Hard Sided Skicase - Black (Sports)
This is one of the best hard cases on the market right now (if not the best).

The two outer halves slide together and have multiple locking positions to choose from when bolting them together. As a result you can vary exactly how long it is to match your board sizes - no overtight fits, no sliding around, just a nice snug fit. The handles are positioned fairly equally making it a breeze to manouvre manually and there's wheels on the underside for the rest of the time.

The weight was around the 7kg mark which is pretty standard for these kinds of cases. We were able to fit both our medium size boards in there with jackets and still came in under the weight limits imposed by budget airlines. There's space to fit one a half sets of snowboard boots in there too, but you'll probably go over the 25kg mark if yours weigh as much as ours.

The plastic is super rigid once you have the two halves together and with a little padding on the ends of the boards you're not going to get much better protection than this.

With the ability to adjust the length to your needs you get all the protection of a hard case without the size and weight problems they can sometimes come with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Skicase V skibag, 1 Feb 2011
This review is from: Sportube Series 3 Original Hard Sided Skicase - Black (Sports)
Vicky and I love skiing like a pair of born again teenagers and try to get two trips a year in. Our old bag was getting battered and torn plus with no wheels heavy to carry, we also had to try and protect it with bin liners which flapped while on the roofrack. Our new sportube was an excellent buy ! it's easy to pull, easy to secure on roofrack, water resistant, easy to wipe clean and even the baggage assistant at the airport commented why doesn't everyone have these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great looking, 5 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sportube Series 3 Original Hard Sided Skicase - Black (Sports)
Great looking, solid and roomy I can fit two pairs of skis and gloves scarfs etc. Also it protects the skis off season in my garage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great bit of kit, 15 May 2014
By 
Jm Wilson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sportube Series 3 Original Hard Sided Skicase - Black (Sports)
Went to Canada this year. Bought this after Air Canada stated they wouldn't insure soft bags if damaged in transit.
Awesome bit of kit. Board and all my boarding clothing fitted, and most of the wife's. Clearly took a battering as there were a few bashes but came through no problem. Recommend for boarders\skiers. Air transit is clearly not looking after peoples equipment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Does a job I suppose, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sportube Series 3 Original Hard Sided Skicase - Black (Sports)
Smart and functional and, in our case, required to carry skis to Canada. The problem is it will take 3 pairs of skis but then the overall weight far exceeds most airlines 23kg limit. Fully packed with 3 sets of skis and poles, ours came in around 28kg. Seems quite flimsy but I'm assuming it's tougher than it looks. Shame it doesn't come with the bands for the skis given the price. Does the job and easy enough to pull along but keep in mind that fully loaded it is still a big heavy item to cart around and transport.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews