Customer Reviews


108 Reviews
5 star:
 (93)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pacy and hard-hitting where TV needs it the most
Well, for starters, this series commences with a lot of almost explicit sex. For those who haven't caught on, this is gay and in it's way, a bit rough. But it is pretty true for some and close to the mark for most.
Queer As Folk is something of a turning point in the presentation of gay lifestyles in the western-world. The oft-though of as bleak Manchester,...
Published on 17 Oct 2000 by Jeremy Nicholas

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Queer as Folk
I watched this series when it first came out on TV and thought it was fabulous. However, when I purchased it from amazon I was disappointed to find that all of the sex scenes had been removed. This should have been made clear on the amazon website. I would recommend you buy this product elsewhere.
Published 14 months ago by Chorley Ste


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pacy and hard-hitting where TV needs it the most, 17 Oct 2000
Well, for starters, this series commences with a lot of almost explicit sex. For those who haven't caught on, this is gay and in it's way, a bit rough. But it is pretty true for some and close to the mark for most.
Queer As Folk is something of a turning point in the presentation of gay lifestyles in the western-world. The oft-though of as bleak Manchester, England is the setting and the many colourful and varied (gay and straight) characters provide an interesting contrast.
The show covers just about everything in modern gay life: heterosexual parents, gay-friendly parents, lesbian mothers, drug use, party-party-party, lust and sex, friendships, work, discrimination, happiness and joy, death, and much more.
Yet what most secured my attention was the similarity that the (otherwise rather ordinary) leading characters shared with myself and many of my friends. The issues faced by them in their pursuit of realising some meaning to their lives were very similar to ours. And although the show was at the centre of controversy for its use of a young teenage character, it was really pitched at the late 20's crowd, represented by the majority of the leading roles. For this reason I think Queer As Folk is a clever and ironic reminder of where gay men are at in their late 20's at the turn of the millennium. Many of the issues are difficult to stomach, even for someone who has faced similar. This is reminiscent of another British television series "This Life" (which is something of a heterosexual equivalent) and in stark contrast with various other gay-themed series or movies that often present the gay lifestyle as either too fluffy or totally miserable.
Queer As Folk touches many people for various reasons and whether you like it or hate it, its real success is in getting people to talk more openly about the issues it presents.
The DVD release of this title was cleaner and had a crisper sound quality to the VHS version, in which the sound seemed to be quite muted. Since there is a lot of music and varying sound levels in the dialogue I would certainly recommend the DVD over VHS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sex and the City for the Lesbigay Community (&their friends), 11 Aug 2006
Having heard about this series on and off, I thought I'd take a look and see what all the fuss was about. And yes it is as good as they say. It may miss the sharp brilliance of the West Wing's dialogue, the clever and witty symbolism hidden in Sex and The City, but it is definitely the first series that I could relate to as a gay man - I'm guessing I'm not the only one.

It was really refreshing to see emotions dealt with in an uninhibited way - the sex scenes are honest and not only limited to men on men (a relief for lesbian fans so often featured poorly or not at all in contemporary gay literature/film/etc). It doesn't hide behind its waspishness as does Will and Grace. This series actually HAS men kissing men (convincingly) and has enough of a romantic componant to the story to give you something to dream about, enough realism, however to still allow one to identify with it, and enough sexy men and women to make one seriously consider going back to the gym!

Buy this, its worth it - and its cheaper than therapy!

Where the bloody hell is season 2, 3 etc

I'm hooked!

Nic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


166 of 170 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Definitive Edition Release, 6 Sep 2003
By 
HW Berry (Welwyn, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Finally, Queer as Folk gets the DVD treatment it deserves, with this fantastic Definitive Edition release.
The set contains four discs: 1 and 2 contain QAF Series 1; Disc 3 contains QAF Series 2; and Disc 4 contains the special features.
Although this is the 'definitive' edition version, note that there is no difference between the actual series' presented here then that already released on DVD and video. However, now each series contains an optional commentary by Aiden Gillan (Stuart), Craig Kelly (Vince), Denise Black (Hazel), Antony Cotton (Alexander), Russell T Davies (Writer and Creator) and Nicola Shindler (Producer). Charlie Hunnam (Nathan), however, is not included on the commentary.
The packaging has greatly improved from the single series release versions of QAF. The DVDs are incased in a fold out pack which itself is placed inside a slide-out cover, and the DVD themselves are printed with the main characters from the show. The presentation also includes a 32 page booklet written by Russell T Davies, which also features pictures from both series.
Aside from the two series, the bonus disc contains numerous cut or extended scenes from the two series which futher enhance the narrative and are intersting to view. Some are pretty amusing; some are obvious as to why they have been cut! The disc also features the original Channel 4 trailers for each series, stills galleries, a video montage, character biographies and quotes. There is also a behind the scenes documentary; video taken from "Right to Reply" discussing the show; and a T4 interview.
The video is anamorphic 16:9 and sound is in 2.0 stereo with optional english subtitles.
Although some of the special features were available on the previous DVD releases of Queer as Folk, this is a marvellously presented box set which gives Queer as Folk the DVD treatment it really deserved, with some good extra special features - including a much anticipated commentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


82 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Gets Better, 16 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This is a beautiful re-release. The picture and sound have been improved since the first DVD release, and the programmes are, for the first time, 100% complete, with broadcast trailers and previews (the 'last week' and 'next week' sequences) restored, just as they were broadcast on Channel 4. The extra material is gold dust. An hours worth of deleted scenes enhances the narrative, giving the characters so much more emotional depth. It's just wonderful to see Stuart, Vince and Nathan in new settings, saying new things. And one scene in Stuart's flat is the most explosive of the lot! The DVD commentaries by cast and crew are as enjoyable as the programme itself. They're informative, funny, sometimes intimate, sometimes dark, and always honest. It really does sound like an unique experience for all the professionals involved.
Queer As Folk was a remarkable show, with remarkable impact, which still reverberates around the world today. It changed lives. This DVD boxset celebrates a brilliant event; we may never see its like again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gay soap opera, 25 Sep 2006
By 
J. Wilkings "Jonny W" (Marbella, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Very very loosely based on the British series, but still entertaining in a gay Dallas kind of way. Don't expect the realism of the British series, expect the gloss of a US soap, and some fairly graphic sex scenes involving people with little or no body fat.

In spite of what I've said, I enjoyed it and have seen all 5 series !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It rocks!, 5 Feb 2007
Gays and lesbians rock in QAF! QAF is as funny and exquisite as Sex and the City; it is both sharp and tender. No matter how many partners you sleep with, life is nothing without friends.

The men are to die for (:-D) and everybody has an amazing body (well almost everybody...) I've been hooked quite rapidly. The series may be about enjoying sex and life in general but it doesn't forget to mention AIDS and condoms, which is a good point (season 1 episode 13, there's a very funny scene involving Brian and a condom flying in the air.) You will certainly like this show, whether you're gay, lesbian or straight. ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Queer as Folk - Absolutely Superb!, 16 Dec 2003
By A Customer
After seeing a small clip of this on TV I was intrigued to get the whole box set. I'm so glad I did. What an amazing series - and of such quality. I'm a straight, married woman with children so you might say I may not be the typical audience for this - but all I can say is I've rarely seen such quality drama. I was totally transfixed with the story of the three characters and their lives. It can stir just about every possible human emotion. Well done Channel 4!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent re-release, 28 Mar 2004
By A Customer
I hesitated a long time before I bought this issue as I already own the previous DVD incarnations of both series. But I am glad I bought it. Not only the transfer is better, is 16:9 anamorphic and subtitles are included. But also commentaries on this set are priceless (and very entertaining), especially those of Russel T Davies where he explains what he meant by what scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top class., 16 Jan 2007
By 
Mr. B. C. Henshaw "Brent" (Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Queer As Folk - Definitive Collector's Edition [DVD] (DVD)
I cannot recomend this DVD enough. It combines an intelligent script with excellent direction and fine acting. The story revolves around two gay men and their lives on the gay scene in Manchester. It is both funny and touching. Although the gay sex scenes may offend some people, they are intrinsic to the plot and not at all gratuitus. Buy this if you appreciate British drama at it's best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best drama ever!!, 18 Mar 2005
Queer As Folk was designed to shock from the very first episode on late night ch4. But these DVDS are absolutely the best money you would ever spend on a drama. Yes its about the lives and loves of a group of gay friends in Manchester, and it is set around their partying on Canal Street, but it doesn't matter whether you're Gay/Straight/Lesbian/Bisexual/Human/alien, this drama can appeal to anyone, simply because it is well written, well acted and has some fantastic music as its soundtrack. There are a few down to earth with a bump moments which is true to any life, but watch out for some classic side splitting moments. This is the best thing Ive watched in years...and it will take something good to knock this off top spot. Seriously worth investing in these dvds...Then see what you've been missing!!!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Queer As Folk - Definitive Collector's Edition [DVD]
26.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews