Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius from Dom Joly
Trigger Happy TV is a hilarious TV show and there are a countless number of bits that make you laugh. From the Snail crossing the road to Dom shouting on the massive phone in public places. From the clip of the man walking down an alley only to be chased by a bunch of animals to the man dressed up as a devil getting on the 666 Bus to Hell. From Dom getting stuck in a...
Published on 2 Mar 2008 by sergio

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a complete
This is not a complete Trigger Happy TV but rather a Best Of. So much is missing from this set and honestly what is in is terribly funny but i personally purchased this as it was to me the definitive collection, i'll just buy the rest in small order.
Published on 2 Mar 2008 by Mr. S. C. Dickinson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a complete, 2 Mar 2008
By 
Mr. S. C. Dickinson "S.C.Dickinson" (Taunton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trigger Happy TV Complete Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
This is not a complete Trigger Happy TV but rather a Best Of. So much is missing from this set and honestly what is in is terribly funny but i personally purchased this as it was to me the definitive collection, i'll just buy the rest in small order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 49 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'Best Of' is 2nd best, this is not "Complete"...just 'Best Of'., 26 April 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trigger Happy TV Complete Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Not "Complete Series" but only a "Best Of" unfortunately.

Just as the US version of the Trigger Happy TV show doesn't work (due to the lack of the UK public, who are necessary for the gags to work); the timing and length of the show is also crucial. The show must be in it's half hour format to work: it's final gag being punctuated by the familar electric theme song outro; the silence of which is often followed by a final 'response line' from the last 'gag victim' (such as John McCririck) to great effect.

However, 'Best of Trigger Happy' dvd's edit a season's "best of" into one 90 minute programme. Not only is it totally mysterious as to who gets to decide for everyone which bits are "best", but the show simply does not work when edited into a 90-minute episode. It's just too long. The show was devised for half hour episodes, and that's the only way it works.

Like all "Best of" comedy dvds, this one is annoying because watching it will just remind you of all the scenes and sketches that are missing...which of course you'll remember from when you saw it on TV first time round. What's here is good, but it will just make you want to see the rest, which isn't here. That's why 'Best of' Dvd's are so annoying. (I'm looking at -you- 'Best of Adam & Joe'; 'Best of Trigger Happy 1,2,3'; 'Best of Balls of Steel';'Best of Smack The Pony'; 'Armstrong & Miller' etc).

Hopefully one of these days there will be a DVD release of "Trigger Happy TV: The Complete Series" that really is complete. (And a re-release of the 3 cd soundtracks would be a great idea, too!)

Then, can join the ranks of other comedy shows whose DVD's are COMPLETE![Much love to ya 'complete' dvd's out there: Fonejacker; Brass Eye; Jam; Day Today; Big Train; Bo Selecta; Vic Reeves Big Night Out; Stella Street; Sealab 2021; Dream On; Robot Chicken; Police Squad. Thank you for your complete completeness as I first watched you on TV, it's great to view you again the way I remember you!].

Get with the program, Trigger Happy TV! Release a DVD set of the complete series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius from Dom Joly, 2 Mar 2008
This review is from: Trigger Happy TV Complete Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Trigger Happy TV is a hilarious TV show and there are a countless number of bits that make you laugh. From the Snail crossing the road to Dom shouting on the massive phone in public places. From the clip of the man walking down an alley only to be chased by a bunch of animals to the man dressed up as a devil getting on the 666 Bus to Hell. From Dom getting stuck in a postbox to all the interviews with celebrities where something funny happens, it is pure comic genius. This boxset has the best from all three series and there are so many 'best bits' that you will be wanting more after you have watched the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a complete series at all, 1 Oct 2009
By 
Ian Porter (County Durham, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Trigger Happy TV Complete Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
As others have pointed out, this is far from the complete series. It is misleading selling it as complete.... on the front of the box it says that this is "best of" but I didn't see that before I bought it.

Dom Joly is a star in his own right.. so Dom, get your publishers to put this right please, I'll buy again IF it's a truly complete series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny as funny can be!!!, 8 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trigger Happy TV Complete Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
My eleven year old son had never seen this and was doubled with laughter. I also was cackling good style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Trigger Happy TV Boxset, 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trigger Happy TV Complete Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
I like Dom Joly with his amazing characters and celebrity interviews if not all of them go to plan. His hidden tv stunts do amaze me somewhat, normal members of the public going about their business. I would recommend this to any hidden tv fan out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good value box set., 12 May 2010
This review is from: Trigger Happy TV Complete Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
I used to watch Trigger Happy when it was on the telly and had many favourite parts which I could never find on video sites like YouTube. I had a particular sketch which I wanted to see and basically bought the set hoping that it was in there. It was and I couldn't be much happier with seeing that and reliving memories of forgotten sketches. It is set over three discs all of which contain around 1hr30mins and 2hrs on each. For the price I think it is a bargain. Not every episode but there is plenty there to keep you going. If you did originally like the series and would like to see some of the classic sketches again, I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars trigger happy best bits, 19 Jan 2010
This review is from: Trigger Happy TV Complete Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
This is a collection of the best bits and not full episodes. Really enjoyed watching, cringing and laughing at fighting dogs and 6' rodents! Loved the origional Trigger Happy and love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Box set, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trigger Happy TV Complete Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Funny and worth buying, but remember it is a box set and compilation. So, anoraks beware or you'll be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab gift, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trigger Happy TV Complete Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
I purchased this for my partner as a stocking filler he loves it, great value for money and a great comedy classic, would recommend for any Dom joly fans!, especially if your a fan of rule Britannia x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Trigger Happy TV Complete Box Set [DVD]
Trigger Happy TV Complete Box Set [DVD] by Sam Cadman (DVD - 2006)
13.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews