Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A quick comment on the tracks
If like me, you have the Direction, Reaction, Creation box set, then you have all these tracks apart from the last two demos as far as I can tell from the track listing. I do not know if they have been remixed or remastered again for this release.
You can get Direction, Reaction, Creation used for about 50% more than the price of this box set which will give you...
Published on 10 July 2009 by AFG

versus
3 of 47 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars LAZILY OVERATED
MUST BE GOOD COS IT'S THE JAM INNIT? WELL SORRY, BUT NO, ONE GOOD SONG DOESN'T MAKE A GREAT OR EVEN GOOD ALBUM. ALL THE PEOPLE WHO GIVE THIS ALBUM 4 OR 5 STARS SHOULD HAVE A LONG HARD HONEST THINK ABOUT HOW INSPIRING THIS ALBUM REALLY IS. PERSONALY, LISTENING TO IT NOW 25 YEARS OR SO SINCE I FIRST HEARD IT, I FIND IT DULL AS DITCH WATER. HAS A MORE BANAL SONG THAN...
Published on 29 April 2007 by HBMAN


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow perhaps you can improve on perfection!, 15 Aug 2006
By 
Mr. Paul Clarkson (West Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: All Mod Cons (Audio CD)
This was THE album all my mates were listening to when it was realeased. Definitely an improvement on the vinyl version. After all these years it still stands the test of time and all those trying to copy this sound seem to fail. Best tracks: Down in Tube Staion - how could Paul Weller write "my life swam around me, took a look and drowned me in its own existence" at such a young age? Definitely the John Lennon of his generaion. To be Someone - a very agressive song but with elements of fantasy; Fly - my favourite with some stong stand out lyrics. The first, 'All Mod cons' really sets the scene with its agression and garage band style sound. All in all one of the best albums of my youth, still playing it regularly now - a testament to its staying power - buy this album, they don't make them like this anymore (unfortunately).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quick and fuss free but knocking one star off as ..., 8 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Mod Cons (Audio CD)
Quick and fuss free but knocking one star off as the jewel case was cracked. Not a fatal flaw, since we have spares, but it wouldn't have taken a moment to swap at the seller's end before despatch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Jam at their substantial best., 23 May 2006
This review is from: All Mod Cons (Audio CD)
Each album by The Jam offers the listener something very rewarding in its own right. The latter albums are examples of how the group stayed on top of the game after they reached the top but this little gem is the album that put them there in the first place. The Jam revealed a fresh yet still ironic and bitter sound here and this juxtaposition has often been copied by the group's heirs, Morrisey, Gallagher etc. Just listen to the sweet intonation of Weller's voice on "It's Too Bad" or the fabulous "To Be Someone" and then consider the melancholy of the subject matter of these songs. The powerful and psychadelic guitar on "In The Crowd" reflects Weller's Townshend influences very well whilst "Fly" and "English Rose" show just what a brave not to mentioned accomplished songwriter Paul Weller was. Whilst other contemporary bands such as Sham 69 were trying to keep punks already extinguished flame alive and before The Clash had found their experiemental genre merging style, The Jam with this album were creating the blueprint which would be followed by just about every guitar band for the next 25 years. Fantastic, and hugely ahead of its time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back from the brink with a career saving masterpiece, 18 Feb 2003
This review is from: All Mod Cons (Audio CD)
What is so important to note is that Weller & Co really did have their backs to the wall prior to this exceptional LP saving their career. Foxton had kept things ticking over during early '78 with 'News of the World' and 'David Watts ' providing some minor chart action, but Weller's song writing had effectively dried up.
Initial sessions for the LP were scrapped when the producers informed the group that the songs were 'cr**'.
Proving his genius at the age of 20, Weller comes back with an album so much reflecting the times and of such songwriting & performing quality that all the critics were silenced.
All Mod Cons is the definitive Jam LP, indeed it's probably the definitive New wave and Mod soundtrack to boot. Every song is a well-crafted affair, supplemented with superb musicianship from the groups sadly now dismissed other players.
Rarely has a band sounded so much in tune with each other. Foxtons slippery bass lines underpinned by the clinical drumming of Butler, serve as the perfect soundscape for weller's amazing Rickenbacker guitar scratching. Forget lengthy guitar solo's, you won't find that sort of slack here. Everything has a place and purpose. Songs are short, tight and relevant with the vocal interplay of the two vocalists never again bettered.
If there is a central theme (this is definitely not a concept album!) then this is reflected in the front cover where the group are featured in Spartan surroundings. The album mood is that of isolation from society, from the then commercialised punk movement, from relationships, even from each other. Some of the mood is certainly down-beat, even grim.
Of course Tube Station is an undoubted masterpiece. Never again did Weller quite hit the total senses overload of this tragic commuter tale of violence. The final lyrics 'And they took the key's and she'll think it's me' serve as a vivid reminder of the potential power of modern songwriting. Frightening stuff indeed.
Other notable highpoints include an early Jam nod to 'Stanley Road' in the shape of 'Place I love', the downfall of a rockstar portrayed by 'To be someone' (I am sorry to say the Noel Gallagher version of this is should never have got out! - it's truly awful), and the haunting 'In the crowd'
The songs are great, but it's the way the whole package hangs together that creates the masterpiece that this album really is. From the lyrics reflecting what life was like to be twenty in the grim late seventies, to the artwork, to the Mod references, to the fashion, to the style, to the vocal interplay, to the mystery track (English Rose), to the fact that Polydor were near to pulling the plug on this group and where would we be now without them? Essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The tastiest jam, 21 May 2005
By 
Paul (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: All Mod Cons (Audio CD)
This is the album that made The Jam the icons that they were ( are? )- They were always more than just Mr. Weller and the sum of all the parts was always better than just the front man ( good as he was/is ).
From the sublime beauty of English Rose through the angst of David Watts and the realism of Down In the Tube station At Midnight, the Jam portrayed the world as they saw it.
This was the genesis of all future Jam albums ( the bassline of To Be Someone being a prime example! )
A great band at their creative peak, this album showcases the talents of all three members.
Buy without hesitaion and be assured that you won't be left feeling short changed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most understated band...EVER!!, 17 Aug 2007
By 
Mr. D. B. Higgins (North Yorkshire,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: All Mod Cons (Audio CD)
The Jam...if they broke America...would have taken a more recognised place in music history.They inspired a youth movement,(namely a mod revival)and still inspire up and coming bands today.In a chart career that spanned just over five years,there was four number 1's,and a number 1 album, three top ten albums,not including albums released after the bands break up in 1982,also reaching top ten positions.
Ok...have I gushed long enough?,if you read this you more than likely are already a Jam fan,and probably have this album in some form...I have in vinyl and CD.But...THIS IS A MUST.Anyone who wants to hear The Jam at their best,has to have this album,plus the DVD,and Demo versions are a must.This album was argubly The Jam at their best,and like many others in the know...I am not inclined to disagree.All of you who don't know The Jam,or reckon you do...because you like Going Underground,or A Town Called Malice..(believe me, not the best stuff!! ) listen to what influences alot of music today.The Jam had influences,but made their own brand of music from the mix..that sounds just as fresh today.THIS IS PURE CLASS.All you Arctic Monkey,Kaiser Chiefs,Oasis fans...take note!! Buy,Look, and listen...money well spent..and you will be proud of this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly one of the best albums EVER!!!, 15 April 2006
By 
Mr. D. G. Powell "Dave Powell" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: All Mod Cons (Audio CD)
This is a classic from start to finish I owned the Album on Vinyl and Tape back in 1978. It was the first Album I bought on CD and I cannot wait for this edition. This is Paul Weller at his very best with some fantastic songs often imitated but never bettered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Refresher, 17 July 2014
By 
RK (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Mod Cons (Audio CD)
Bought as a refresher for From The Jam gig. Great album and played even better live!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Triumph for Weller!!, 10 Jan 2004
This review is from: All Mod Cons (Audio CD)
Although sitting along with Punk and New Wave, The Jam did their own thing which probably kept them on top for longer. This is The Jam's 3rd album and it's one in which Paul Weller finally throws off any peer pressure influences. Sure this album has it's influences - the beatles, who, kinks etc; but it is Weller's biting social comment, superbly backed up from a superb tight band that really cuts through. Personally I prefer Setting Sons, but after the disappointing Modern World album, this is where the Jam and Paul Weller as a songwriter come into their own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Untouchable, 14 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: All Mod Cons (Audio CD)
This is quite simply as good as it gets. Blistering guitar, fabulous arrangements and a lyricism which veers from cynicism to love and back again. This is a band come of age and guitar pop has never since sounded quite so incisive and meaningful. I still love this record and it blows my head off that Paul Weller created it at the age of 22.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

All Mod Cons
All Mod Cons by The Jam (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews