Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A quick comment on the tracks
If like me, you have the Direction, Reaction, Creation box set, then you have all these tracks apart from the last two demos as far as I can tell from the track listing. I do not know if they have been remixed or remastered again for this release.
You can get Direction, Reaction, Creation used for about 50% more than the price of this box set which will give you...
Published on 10 July 2009 by AFG

versus
3 of 49 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars LAZILY OVERATED
MUST BE GOOD COS IT'S THE JAM INNIT? WELL SORRY, BUT NO, ONE GOOD SONG DOESN'T MAKE A GREAT OR EVEN GOOD ALBUM. ALL THE PEOPLE WHO GIVE THIS ALBUM 4 OR 5 STARS SHOULD HAVE A LONG HARD HONEST THINK ABOUT HOW INSPIRING THIS ALBUM REALLY IS. PERSONALY, LISTENING TO IT NOW 25 YEARS OR SO SINCE I FIRST HEARD IT, I FIND IT DULL AS DITCH WATER. HAS A MORE BANAL SONG THAN...
Published on 29 April 2007 by HBMAN


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer class!, 15 Nov 2006
By 
This review is from: All Mod Cons (Audio CD)
This album is a must purchase... If you like anything mod or even indie then shame on you if you do not already own a copy of this timeless masterpiece of modern music, everyone else could benefit from giving it a listen. Quite simply this is one of the best, well-rounded albums ever to be released. Every song has been crafted and although lyrically beautiful it is never trying to be too clever or wordy. Songs of all tempos are gelled together by very impressive turns from all the band and all topped off with an excellent cover of the Kinks 'David Watts' right in the middle. Love it!!! The Jam did other quality albums, but this is Weller and co at their best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IF YOU SEE ME IN THE STREET LOOK AWAY!, 19 Jun 2006
By 
COLSEE "colsee" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Mod Cons (Audio CD)
1979...All Mod Cons....... the first penultimate Jam album.

The aggression of the first two albums is still here but with a certain style and class that puts it leagues above the rest so far.

The remaster is superb and although I cannot comment on the 5.1 mix it still comes across as having much more depth and clarity than any previous version. The drums and bass are crystal clear and really make you remember that Paul Weller wasn't the only contributer to the Jam sound. Foxtons bass is pounding throughout and Ricks drums are leading the way.

Superb stuff!

No doubt the fact you are looking at this review you know this album well, in which case you will know all the songs on the album. Even more exciting would be if you haven't heard it but are thinking about it.

The classic 'Tube Station', 'A' Bomb & 'David Wattts' are just the tasters.

'Mr Clean' is a song that still reminds of youthful energy and state of mind, seeing those that have more and wanting to destroy or rebel against.

'To Be Someone', a realisation that it could actualy be very nice to have all these things even if it is a shallow existance.

Weller has that rare art of being able to make you connect to his lyrics in a way that you feel like he is singing about you for you. Along with the power of his guitar and the 'Bloke up the road' style of vocals, this makes for one excellent package.

The original album had 12 tracks, this has an extra 14, made up of B sides and demos. A well worthy add on.

The second disc has a dvd documentary of the making of the album, with recent interviews with all three members.

Its great to see them all again talking 'Jam', even if they are in seperate locations.

It also contains a solo acoustic version of Weller singing 'English Rose'. I was hoping this would have been from that period but it is a up to date Weller performing.

Still worthwhile though.

Lets hope they repackage a few, if not all, of them in the near future.

'THIS WAS THE MODERN WORLD'...and for some of us still would be!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic Revisited, 6 Sep 2006
This review is from: All Mod Cons (Audio CD)
It continues to surpise me that this album is never really hailed with the frequently seen lists of 'Classic Albums' in the music press.

Paul Weller came of age on this album. The first two Jam albums were promising and vibrant, exciting and passionate - but essentially they lacked any real craft and finesse. They were very much a product of the time. When The Jam embarked on this album, it could easily have been their last after the disappointment of The Modern World. Instead of imploding and disappearing into obscurity along with The Ruts or 999, The Jam came up with their very best work.

The quality of the songwriting on this album is incredible given the age of Paul Weller when he wrote these songs. "Mr Clean", "Tube Station", "English Rose" and "To Be Someone" are wonderfully written songs and The Jam create an edgy, dynamic sound that truly stands the test of time.

"In The Crowd" and "It's Too Bad" were long-time live favourites and when Paul Weller recently re-introduced In The Crowd into his solo live set, the audience reaction was euphoric (backwards guitar sound and all). "Billy Hunt" appears on this album too and Graham Coxon's version is pretty much xeroxed from the one you hear on here and indeed you can almost picture a teenage Coxon singing along in his bedroom to this great collection of songs.

I never tire of this album - I do not think there is a weak song on it and it is by far the best album The Jam made and really is massively underrated by those supposedly in the know. As for this version- I can only give it a huge thumbs up all round and thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The pinnacle of modernism, 7 Dec 2006
By 
Mr. Peter Barrett (Gloucestershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: All Mod Cons (Audio CD)
This is a superb album. I've owned the vinyl since the day it was released, and it is one of the very few albums which has stood the test of time and remains as good to listen to as ever.

The quality is outstanding, not just in terms of the music and lyrics, but also in terms of production and (for the original vinyl) the pressing. This CD & DVD add even more to the package, though it's the vinyl I'll probably continue to treasure. It's a very pared-down, uncluttered, spacious production throughout, and all the better for it. Proof that less can be more.

I'm tempted to say this is Weller at his absolute best, but I don't want to demean everything he's achieved since, so I'll say it's easily the best thing The Jam ever did. Every track is outstanding, but the 'weakest' is the Kinks cover, David Watts, which speaks volumes for the rest of this album.

You need this, so buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Musical history, 15 Jun 2006
By 
MORTEN AASTAD (Oslo Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: All Mod Cons (Audio CD)
A peak in the history of rock music, the Jam never the less went un-detected as far as I was concerned when the band was active. Being between 6 and 7, living in Norway at the time of it's release, you normally wouldn't expect a kid that age to listen to rock at all. But with brothers 14 and 16 years older, I was baptised to the sound of Ten years After, Led Zeppelin and Grand Funk.

But, just a few years later, in my pre-teens I discovered Paul Weller and his wonderful Style Council. From there I backtracket to the Jam, and I have been a fan of all of Pauls incarnations ever since.

I write this to explain why I would buy this special edition. Having heard most of the music on this set surely hundreds of times, I hardly need convincing. But maybe there are people out there who needs some?

If they haven't heard the Jam, then just get this thing, NOW! And if you think "I know the Jam, do I need this?" Well, maybe not, but listen to me, this set is a beautiful gem. The music is the best there is, and the dvd is a really great look back to a time a lot of rock history ignores (after punk, before rap and not Heavy Metal). And if nothing else, this set just looks so damned good, I wish I could wear it on my jacket when I go out.

Leave it on your coffee table when you have dates or friends over. Show some class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Mod Cons (Audio CD)
Why not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Class band of my youth, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Mod Cons (Audio CD)
Outstanding reminder of days gone by, played it and all the words came flooding back. Wouldn't it be nice if they reunited
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great stuff, 18 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Mod Cons (Audio CD)
This album was missing from my Jam collection so thought it about time i added it! Obviously a classicnot to be missed by any Jam fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must have, 21 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Mod Cons (Audio CD)
This is a classic album from a fine band at their peak. The songs are full of angst, anger and a yearning for a different reality. A powerful and compelling album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars made a 49 year old very happy, 6 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Mod Cons (Audio CD)
unfortunately i remember this quite well as it was played over over and over again. a well built house but boy did he like the bass!How i got up for school in the morning amazes me bedroom next door aah thank goodness i passed my GCSE's.NO i will NOT be asking to borrow it.At least he's happy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

All Mod Cons
All Mod Cons by The Jam (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews