Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 60 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Timex Heart Rate Monitor
As a person with Angina who needs to exercise in a controlled way, it is important that I know what my heart rate is during exercise. As well as walking I also exercise in the gym where most of the equipment has a heart rate display, but the rowing machine - my favourite - does not have a display. The Timex T5G941 has such a large display that my heart rate can be seen...
Published on 6 Sep 2009 by H. Leyland

versus
22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent in-use functionality, but poorly designed for monitor battery replacement
This monitor gives consistent reading of heart rate during workout. When a workout is finished the monitor can provide you with your maximum heart rate during the session, as well as your average heart rate during exercise, and the total time of exercise. Its functionality as a monitor is excellent.

The reason for the less than five star rating is the...
Published on 11 Sep 2010 by One-Reader


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent in-use functionality, but poorly designed for monitor battery replacement, 11 Sep 2010
This review is from: Timex T5G941 Heart Rate Monitor (Sports)
This monitor gives consistent reading of heart rate during workout. When a workout is finished the monitor can provide you with your maximum heart rate during the session, as well as your average heart rate during exercise, and the total time of exercise. Its functionality as a monitor is excellent.

The reason for the less than five star rating is the unfortunately poor design and planning for battery replacement in the monitor. The chest strap battery is easy to change, just insert a coin, twist to remove the battery compartment cover, install a new battery and replace the cover. Unfortunately, the battery in the wrist monitor is not so easy to change. It requires releasing a watch strap pin where the watch strap connects to the monitor, to allow the watch's back to then be opened. Next, four small screws must be removed from the back so it can be taken off. Then an even smaller screw, it is quite small, must be removed from the battery cover so a new battery can be reinserted. This process must be reversed to close the watch monitor. This is quite a tedious process requiring jewelers screwdrivers to work with the monitor's small screws. This process clearly presents some significant problems for the end user. In fact, the manual states in capital letters, "TIMEX STRONGLY RECOMMENDS TAKING YOUR MONITOR TO A LOCAL RETAILER OR JEWELER TO HAVE THE BATTERY REPLACED".

The batteries have proven to be quite long-lived, so perhaps some of the five star reviews may have been made before the batteries needed changing. For a relatively inexpensive monitor to require visiting a retailer or jeweler to replace a battery or risk damaging the monitor is simply poor design.

I like the comfortable elastic chest strap and its excellent water resistance, and continue to use it. However, because of the replacement battery problems with the wrist monitor, I use another brand of watch monitor with the Timex chest strap. Fortunately, many companies have now standardized the data transfer format between strap and receiver, so components from different brands are frequently compatible.

Bottom line: Five stars for information display and functionality and the excellent chest strap, two stars for monitor battery replacement design. So, overall 3 stars for making a different wristwatch monitor an appropriate choice, if not an absolute requirement, for long-term use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 60 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Timex Heart Rate Monitor, 6 Sep 2009
By 
H. Leyland (St. Helens) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Timex T5G941 Heart Rate Monitor (Sports)
As a person with Angina who needs to exercise in a controlled way, it is important that I know what my heart rate is during exercise. As well as walking I also exercise in the gym where most of the equipment has a heart rate display, but the rowing machine - my favourite - does not have a display. The Timex T5G941 has such a large display that my heart rate can be seen with just a glance,whilst rowing.
This watch is so much better than the other watches I have used in that it concentrates on the main function without anything else cluttering up the screen. Good value for money as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timex T5G941F7 Monitor, 17 Jun 2010
By 
M. PEAL "Mike P" (Herne Bay,KENT,U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Timex T5G941 Heart Rate Monitor (Sports)
I bought this monitor after a lot of research as I felt it would be helpful with the exercise program I was on.I had a heart attack and am on a rehab program and heart monitors are a very useful part of the process.It has so far done everything I could want.It is simple to use and gives all the necessary information at a glance.Very pleased with it and would recommend it to anyone needing a simple,basic monitor with that little bit extra.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart Rate Monitor Review, 14 Jan 2010
By 
Mrs. Pauline Davies (Kuwait) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Timex T5G941 Heart Rate Monitor (Sports)
Excellent. Easy to set up from the instructions. Easy to read whilst exercising. Instructions easy to follow to review time of exercising, max heart rate and average heart rate. It only stores one set of information so if you want more, go for a higher spec model. This is ideal for a basic heart rate monitor that can be clearly read.Timex T5G941 Heart Rate Monitor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robust device, 30 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timex T5G941 Heart Rate Monitor (Sports)
Excellent heart rate monitor, I picked it because it has a nice big readout easily visible to someone with ageing eyesight like me. I don't need any bells and whistles, just a readout of heart rate. You need to moisten the back of the device in order to achieve electrical contact with your skin and after that your body continues the job by sweating. If you don't exercise it loses electrical contact and stops working. I've had it for three months and I use it daily at the gym. It is easily detected by the TechnoGym equipment there and the belt detector signal controls their Exercise Bike and "Vario" exercise programmes, these can be set to adjust resistance in order to maintain a target heart rate. I even used it (once, more out of curiosity than anything) in the swimming pool, immersion in the pool water had no effect on the watch device which carried on picking up signals from the belt even when underwater. Unfortunately, pushing off from the end of the pool caused the belt to slip down around my waist even after I had adjusted it tighter.
All in all, this monitor is heartily recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars does the job- stop watch missing, 19 Dec 2009
By 
S. Ullrich "Susann" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Timex T5G941 Heart Rate Monitor (Sports)
The product does the job- its basic but good value for money
I miss the stop watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simple and clear, 9 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timex T5G941 Heart Rate Monitor (Sports)
Bought this for my father (80 yrs old) after a heart scare. He finds it simple to use, no sub menus or scrolling or multiple button pressing. Does what it's supposed to, with no bells and whistles which are never used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Timex heart rate monitor T5G941, 13 Jun 2011
This review is from: Timex T5G941 Heart Rate Monitor (Sports)
I train 5 times a week using an airmaster rowing machine then free weights and found this monitor to be very helpful. The only thing I would have liked would be a memory in it to recall past sessions.
For the price it is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars heart rate monitor, 2 May 2010
This review is from: Timex T5G941 Heart Rate Monitor (Sports)
Does what it says on the tin. I mistakenly thought it was strap round middle free but that was my mistake. Works fine. Simple and nice review facility after a run which gives stats from the period monitored. Good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Smart and comfortable, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timex T5G941 Heart Rate Monitor (Sports)
Really love this easy to use watch/heart monitor. It looks great, the strap is comfortable to wear and plenty of holes for adjustment. It only take a few minutes to learn how to work it. The chest strap is easy to fit and so comfortable to wear you forget you have it on.
The light function is a green colour to it does not blind you at night.
You will not be disappointed with this watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Timex T5G941 Heart Rate Monitor
Used & New from: £95.07
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews