Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Eagle has Landed - Remaster ?? - Certainly NOT !, 12 Dec 2006
By 
Aj Smit (the netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Eagle Has Landed - Live (Audio CD)
I had the impression that this version contained the original recordings from 1982 now as remastered edition; this is how this release was advertised. Well, in 1999 EMI records already released the original record announcing that it is a remaster edition, which appeared to be (just) a re-issue. Now in 2006, they re-release it again but now + bonus tracks. First of all this is NOT a remaster, but a re-issue (a big difference), but as said, with bonus tracks. This makes it a interesting release, and also additional liner notes from Biff. It is not the first time that myself (a saxon die-hard fan) gets trapped in wrong advertisement. I just recently bought the Power and the glory re-released in 1999/2000 with wrong advertising, as it was announced this is a remaster. It appeared to be a re-issue in the Rock Series classics. I guess EMI did the same with the eagle has landed back in 1999/2000. The only extras was additional liner notes from Biff.

cheers,
ajs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 17 Dec 2009
This review is from: The Eagle Has Landed - Live (Audio CD)
Live albums come in all shapes and sizes. There are the overblown, full concert dino snore double albums of old, such as Sabbath's Live Evil, that purport to give you the end to end, highs and lows, experience of the complete live show. Then there are the mini live albums, which are invariably rubbish (what was wrong with other 75% of the show, guys? Did you run out of tape?) - step forward Bang Tango, The Almighty, Circus of Power and so on. And finally there are the single album, distilled, classics that deliver the performance like an upper cut to the jaw. In my opinion the late 70's early 80's delivered the 4 reigning champions in this field - namely Motorheads No sleep, AC/DC's If You Want Blood, Priest's Unleashed and the totally sublime The Eagle Has Landed, by Saxon. This has all the basic ingredients of greatness. Firstly, every track is a bona fide classic, with only Never Surrender sounding like a bit of an outsider. Secondly the band is on fire, being at their absolute creative peak, and finally the production and packaging is simple, elegant and effective. The pace doesn't really let up as Biff blasts through hit after hit with gusto, all of the weight then being thrown behind the pummelling finale of Fire In The Sky/Machine Gun. When the sirens go off at the end, pretty much as they do on No Sleep Til Hammersmith, you are left seemingly as exhausted as the band is. A gold plated, genuine, classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NWOBHM, 31 Jan 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Eagle Has Landed - Live (Audio CD)
At last my own copy of the best live album to come out of NWOBHM. The cassette tape had worn so thin, but it was 25 years old! Great band great songs.Well done EMI for the bonus tracks, but why not sequence them into the running order so we get the feel of the live gig. I don't remember it being so loud, but it sounds great now. Treat yourself to a guilty pleasure - anyone who is not gently nodding along to this is either dead or was a new romantic back in the day. Only bettered by Strangers in the Night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good album, 14 Oct 2011
By 
M. Murphy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Eagle Has Landed - Live (Audio CD)
I bought this on vinyl when it first came out. I stupidly got rid of most of my records years back so when I saw Saxon were touring this winter I decided to get this CD. It's just as good now as it was then. The CD came a few days after I ordered it so all in all I'm very pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SHOULD HAVE BEEN A DOUBLE!!!!, 16 May 2009
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Eagle Has Landed - Live (Audio CD)
The magnificence of this live album is not in question!!! it belongs up there with all of our hallowed metal band live discs but it should have been a double!!! I believed at the time it should have been saxons' KISS ALIVE',maiden and lepard were quietly coming up in the wings and saxon were about to lose the top spot billing because despite what some journos' will tell you,saxon were top at that time and had this been a classic live double then i've no doubt that saxon would have been mega all over the world,look what happened with maiden and live after death,still what a disc this is,should have been a double!!!!! how can denim and leather not be on here god damn i still cant believe it 27 years later,cmon emi raid the vaults do the decent thing,there are 2 fantastic radio clyde recording from the glasgow apollo 82 and 84 if your feeling generous,still back to the album from the opening of motorcycle man to the finale hungry years this is perfect british metal of the 80's,head bang yer way to oblivion and scream IT SHOULD HAVE BEEN A DOUBLE!!!! Ha ha rock n roll nirvana
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic. Simply Classic, 23 Feb 2014
By 
M. G. Chisholm "chiefengineer3" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Saxon make up one of the select few British heavy metal bands that defined the music in the early 80's when metal really took off. The are also one of the few to survive for decades and even more amazingly keep on ploughing their own furrow of proper old school heavy metal music.

The Eagle Has Landed is of course a well known classic that any Saxon fan will know and probably have. All the greats are on it from Denim and Leather to Wheels of Steel. Live songs of headbangingly great music played live when live records were generally meant to be live with minimal post production work done.

As far as I can see this version was re-produced from the originals in 1999. It's still live but the sound has been cleaned up a bit and generally made better on digital players. I have the original version on LP and whilst it has it's charms, it is a bit low fidelity.

So, if you haven't got this then why not? Saxon make up one of the pillars of heavy metal music and have created some of the best NWOBHM songs ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Saxon at their best, 24 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Eagle Has Landed - Live (Audio CD)
I'm a hard rock fan of the early 1970's, so it took me some time to warm to the NWOBHM bands. Saxon, for me, are the best of the bunch. I love the earlier stuff from them, so i treated myself to this cd. It's fantastic, love the twin guitars.
I would highly recommend this cd and of course, play at maximum volume.

Cheers

Super Stu
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Saxon Live !, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Saxon recorded live in their hey day ! The boys don't let us down here with one mega song after another .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More quality riffs than any other metal album I know., 9 Jun 2010
This review is from: The Eagle Has Landed - Live (Audio CD)
You only need one Saxon album. This is it. Recorded on the Strong Arm tour this features the classic original line up at its peak, during the golden NWOBHM era. Anyone who saw them at the time will attest to how this captures the live experience brilliantly (the crowd noise is manipulated in the mix for effect). The sound of screaming motot bike engines signal the imminent arrival of set opener Motorcycle Man. Theres almost no gap between it and 747 (Strangers In The Night) and very little before train tribute Princess Of The Night. A slew of choice album tracks follow inc. riff-tastic Wheels Of Steel before we get to the sweet spot of (Donno 1980 tribute) Bands Played On & See The Light Shining (dedicated to Fast Eddie). This was originally a single album and the new CD version adds in all the missing tracks, including the glorious, epic Dallas 1PM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good old live Heavy Metal, 25 Mar 2010
This review is from: The Eagle Has Landed - Live (Audio CD)
Saxon are pretty corny nowadays IMHO, but these live tracks capture Saxon at their best. The intro to Heavy Metal Thunder is fantastic. Play the whole album at max volume and stuff the neighbours!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Eagle Has Landed - Live
The Eagle Has Landed - Live by Saxon (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews