Customer Reviews


169 Reviews
5 star:
 (102)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Value
If you are thinking about the standard release or spending a couple of pound more on this then go for this, you won't regret it. Such great value, obviously the album is here in all its greatness and then you get the DVD which has a great making of documentary, a short film, music vid and making of and then basically the whole album in either demo or early live format...
Published on 7 July 2006 by J. L. Watkins

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The often difficult second studio album...
"Hopes and Fears" was the top album of 2004 for me (the last two tracks are my favourites), and I had high expectations for this follow up album. Whilst he first single from the album, "Is It Any Wonder?", was undeniably Keane, I found it somewhat lacking; almost formulaic. Having now listened to the entire album a number of times, I feel deflated... Disappointed. Don't...
Published on 12 Jun 2006 by L. Bowers


‹ Previous | 115 16 17 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hopelessly Insipid, 2 Aug 2006
This review is from: Under the Iron Sea (Audio CD)
Despite Keanes tragic image and saccharine melodies I kind of liked them because they were capable of writing anthems and anthems are cool. The pre-publicity to Under The Iron Sea suggested that the little cherubs were coming back all dark and moody however sadly this couldn't be further from the truth. The album is full of music that wouldn't sound out of place being piped into McDonalds. It really is absolute rubbish without a single outstanding track. Theres even a moment on "Crystal Ball" where the band seem to realise this and appear to sing the chorus "oh Chris de Burgh,Chris de Burgh, oh, oh, oh, Chris de Burgh". Without a "Somewhere Only We Know" to shut everyone up they sound exactly like the bunch of bed wetters Alan McGee said they were.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sea-Saw, 27 Jun 2006
This review is from: Under the Iron Sea (Audio CD)
I guess "Hopes and Fears" was a pretty difficult CD to follow,not only because of the strength of catchy songs and powerful delivery from the lead singer but needing to make "Under The Iron Sea" just as likeable but without making it seem the same.

They've done a pretty good job.Slightly more experimental musically using more of a meatier sound on the keyboards with some tracks and fine choral over-dubs on others.

Don't take my word for it,have a listen yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the first, 28 Jun 2006
This review is from: Under the Iron Sea (Audio CD)
People have been giving mixed reviews of this album but I think it's brilliant. A lot of the songs I didn't like at first but if you listen to the album over they really start to grab you.

The best songs on the album in my opinion are:

Atlantic

Nothing in my way

A bad dream

Crystal Ball

Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Buyers Beware!, 19 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's a shame.
Great album, loved the tracks as i had already listened to it via purchased download. I Liked it so much i thought i would get this hard copy for the artwork/booklet/case.
But No!
It's cardboard. Looks homemade really, maybe a cereal box, and with no booklet!! What if it gets wet? I was very annoyed. What a waste of money.
i suppose one could reason it's the same CD as any other, with same quality, just stupid eco friendly case.
Just be aware of this before purchase, particularly if you're like me and want it for the aesthetic value.
(Love Keane though)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The better of the two, 2 Jan 2008
By 
D. A. Mcculloguh "Deborah" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Under the Iron Sea (Audio CD)
The reason its more atmospheric and darker, therefore to me its more intresting. Ontop of this it has more stand alone songs, their debut having too much filler and aimless songs.

If you like Radiohead and Coldplay chances are high this ones for you, not Hopes and Fears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 86 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Keane conquers the iron waves, 13 May 2006
By 
M. P. Sullivan "funnyperson" (Wassamattau) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Under the Iron Sea (Audio CD)
Keane's debut album "Hopes and Fears" was remarkable. The first time. Every listening from then on got worse and worse! I have now listened to "Under the Iron Waves" no less than 5 times and am still enjoying it as much as the first time. Well done boys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Awful, dreadful tosh, 21 July 2006
By 
Nicholas W. De Sidley (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Under the Iron Sea (Audio CD)
Hopes and Fears was a brilliant album that clearly proved that Keane were one of the best in the business. Under the iron sea, however, is outrageously disappointing. Atlantic is probably the worst tune to have been created on God's green earth. There are a couple of decent tracks such as Leaving So Soon? and Hamburg Song, The rest of the songs are absolutely dreadful. What on earth was Tom Chaplin and his goons doing when they recorded this dreadful nonsense? motorway.
The two stars are for Try Again and Hamburg Song. Do yourself a favour and buy This New Day by Embrace or Eyes Open by Snow Patrol as they are class albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars sad songs for pretty people, 23 Jun 2006
By 
S. Treuting "s. patrick" (long beach, ca usa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Under the Iron Sea (Audio CD)
The instrumental at the beginning of track 8 is the jumping off point for Under The Iron Sea. Start there and you'll realize these miserable bastards really love everyone. This isn't just Coldplay with better lyrics. This isn't just Aqualung with better, more complex arrangements. The new songs filter Burt Bacharach through the Stone Roses. If you listen closely enough, you can hear the Left Banke. Listening to Under The Iron Sea is like that magical moment when you tell your first girlfriend you love her, and she tells you not to ruin it. You don't break up with a girlfriend to the new Keane, you divorce a wife. The new songs should push you in the direction of bands like The National, The Black Rebel Motorcycle Club and Andrew Bird.

Remember track 8. Buy it. There is hope and fear...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A magic 50 minutes, 23 Jun 2006
By 
S. Carpenter (Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Under the Iron Sea (Audio CD)
I have been eagerly awaiting this album and I was not disappointed.

I am a huge fan of their previous album Hopes & Fears and would have been more than happy with another one of these style album's but Keane have bravely moved forwards and without losing their own distinctive sound they have managed to unfold a deeper and darker side of themselves and it's a success!

There isn't a single track that makes me want to skip past, even The Iron Sea is a gem to listen to. I wouldn't have normally said this was my cup of tea but it's strangely hypnotic. My favourite track has to be Hamburg Song. So beautiful and moving. Well done Keane, you certainly have not let your fans down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent second album, 29 Jun 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under the Iron Sea (Audio CD)
Having bought Keane's debut album 'Hopes and Fears' and having loved it and played it over and over again, I was apprehensive about buying 'Under The Iron Sea' incase it wasn't as good. I needn't have worried. It's different from their first album, but that doesn't matter - it's still very, very good and I would recommend it to anyone. They are an excellent band with a great deal of talent. Give it a listen, read the lyrics and see what you think!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 115 16 17 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Under the Iron Sea
Under the Iron Sea by Keane (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews