Customer Reviews


146 Reviews
5 star:
 (102)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars at last an energy saving bulb with bright light
Having energy saving light bulbs throughout the house it was always disappointing that I had to use an old traditional daylight bulb for sewing. Reluctant to lose the brightness I continued to use the traditional daylight bulbs until recently when these proved impossible to locate. I then tried the Ecozone Biobulb - success - clean brilliant light, ideal for handicrafts,...
Published on 16 Nov 2009 by D. Grierson

versus
49 of 50 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great daylight balance, poor longevity
This bulb gives a great daylight balanced light that makes the indoors look much more like the outdoors! At first, this takes a bit of getting used to if you have previously used normal energy-saving bulbs. But after a while it becomes very natural and is great for reading.

However, I must comment on the poor lifespan of the bulb. Mine was purchased in October...
Published on 14 July 2011 by squarepeg77


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 50 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great daylight balance, poor longevity, 14 July 2011
This review is from: Ecozone Biobulb, Energy-Saving Daylight Bulb, Screw Cap E27, 25W Equivalent to 100w, 1750 Lumens, Full Spectrum, Daylight White 6500k, Uses 75% Less Energy. Ideal for suffers of S.A.D (Kitchen & Home)
This bulb gives a great daylight balanced light that makes the indoors look much more like the outdoors! At first, this takes a bit of getting used to if you have previously used normal energy-saving bulbs. But after a while it becomes very natural and is great for reading.

However, I must comment on the poor lifespan of the bulb. Mine was purchased in October 2010 and stopped working in July 2011. Compared to normal energy saving bulbs that usually run for 5+ years - and cost a small fraction of a Biobulb to buy - this is very disappointing. A colleague at work also had a Biobulb fail within a year. Read the reviews of the bayonet fit Biobulb and several people complain of getting less than a year's use from them too.

I'm now deliberating on whether to buy a replacement. I love the quality of light, but I just expect it to last much, much longer. So much for 10000 hours lifespan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars These are 'not' full spectrum bulbs!, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ecozone Biobulb, Energy-Saving Daylight Bulb, Screw Cap E27, 25W Equivalent to 100w, 1750 Lumens, Full Spectrum, Daylight White 6500k, Uses 75% Less Energy. Ideal for suffers of S.A.D (Kitchen & Home)
Firstly the description of these bulbs is misleading as they are 'not' full spectrum lights that are suitable for treating SAD. In order to properly treat SAD they need to cover the 'Full Spectrum' of light which includes near ultra violet and infra red.

An example of 'Full Spectrum' lights are hydroponic grow lights, Marine fish tank bulbs, Car Xenon lights, sunbed tubes and SAD light boxes, as they output near ultra violet and infra red light which simulates real sun light.

These bulbs just output a whiter light than standard CFL bulbs which 'may' appear to lift moods slightly (but that is probably just a placebo)

A proper 'Full Spectrum' bulb will light up a room (and make every white surface almost hard to look at) and you definitely wouldn't want to run one all day/night long (imagine the light output of a Xenon car light switched on in your room)

As I've found out there are very few 'real' Full Spectrum bulbs (mostly made by General Electric) but they are 3x the price of these ones and very hard to find.

Lastly the packaging of these bulbs was terrible as one turned up smashed due to Amazon just wrapping the boxed bulbs in a thin cardboard sleeve that has no protection whatsoever. Amazon however were great though, and refunded my straight away so at least I didn't lose anything.

Oh and if you want to buy more 'reliable' bulbs of this type Philips do a 23w 'Daytime' bulb for £5 which output the EXACT same light but with Philips reliability (I know this because I bought two of them before buying these)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful life/Good light, 27 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ecozone Biobulb, Energy-Saving Daylight Bulb, Screw Cap E27, 25W Equivalent to 100w, 1750 Lumens, Full Spectrum, Daylight White 6500k, Uses 75% Less Energy. Ideal for suffers of S.A.D (Kitchen & Home)
Bought this bulb at the end of August 2011 and was very impressed at the start with the bright light produced.
However its now 27 October 2011 and the bulb has blown so naturally I am a bit ticked off that I paid eight quid for a bulb that lasts two months.If I can wade my way through Amazons returns policy I'm going to try to get my money back.
Such a pity the light is great but I should have paid more attention to other reviews!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't last long, 22 Nov 2011
By 
Jacques Basson "Jazz" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ecozone Biobulb, Energy-Saving Daylight Bulb, Screw Cap E27, 25W Equivalent to 100w, 1750 Lumens, Full Spectrum, Daylight White 6500k, Uses 75% Less Energy. Ideal for suffers of S.A.D (Kitchen & Home)
Had mine in the conservatory and it lasted about a month after which it suddenly started flickering for a bit and just fizzled out. I don't know whether this is because i had it on a dimmer switch(turned on full at all times otherwise it would flicker)

Light quality is good, although very white.

I will try another one and see if it lasts any longer, if not i will try another brand. If i still get failures after that then i know a dimmer switch is evil to these bulbs. Can't do anyting about that i'm afraid as I can't change the dimmer switch for a regular one...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dangerous and DOES flicker a lot, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ecozone Biobulb, Energy-Saving Daylight Bulb, Screw Cap E27, 25W Equivalent to 100w, 1750 Lumens, Full Spectrum, Daylight White 6500k, Uses 75% Less Energy. Ideal for suffers of S.A.D (Kitchen & Home)
I don't usually write reviews but wanted to warn others...

The first bulb I purchased flickered a lot and stopped working within two weeks. I ordered a replacement. It too flickered sometimes (usually when on for a while so I assume it's to do with overheating). This morning I could smell burning and the electricity switch tripped. I took out the bulb when cooled down and could see it had burnt the plastic near the fitting. I have never had problems with the actual light fitting and have used other energy saving bulbs for years without problems. I am not sure what's wrong with this product but I'm too worried to replace it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars less than a month, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ecozone Biobulb, Energy-Saving Daylight Bulb, Screw Cap E27, 25W Equivalent to 100w, 1750 Lumens, Full Spectrum, Daylight White 6500k, Uses 75% Less Energy. Ideal for suffers of S.A.D (Kitchen & Home)
Maybe I was unlucky, but this only lasted about a month. previous bulb from another brand lasted years. maybe it is a bad batch but I am not willing to reorder the same item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor bulb, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ecozone Biobulb, Energy-Saving Daylight Bulb, Screw Cap E27, 25W Equivalent to 100w, 1750 Lumens, Full Spectrum, Daylight White 6500k, Uses 75% Less Energy. Ideal for suffers of S.A.D (Kitchen & Home)
My item did not work on arrival I wonder now why it was suggested to be bundled with a desk lamp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great light, terrible lifetime, 27 Dec 2011
By 
Philadelphus (New Quay, Wales) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ecozone Biobulb, Energy-Saving Daylight Bulb, Screw Cap E27, 25W Equivalent to 100w, 1750 Lumens, Full Spectrum, Daylight White 6500k, Uses 75% Less Energy. Ideal for suffers of S.A.D (Kitchen & Home)
I strongly prefer full spectrum bulbs to "cosy" "warm" bulbs. They may appear cold at first but it is far easier to read by them , my energy levels crash less in winter and I soon got used to the bluer, more genuinely natural light. The bulbs most folk are used to now seem hopelessly hard to see by.

But my two biobulbs only lasted a few months despite being in low switching frequency rooms. So i'll sticks to brands with better longevity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars at last an energy saving bulb with bright light, 16 Nov 2009
By 
D. Grierson "alexia" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ecozone Biobulb, Energy-Saving Daylight Bulb, Screw Cap E27, 25W Equivalent to 100w, 1750 Lumens, Full Spectrum, Daylight White 6500k, Uses 75% Less Energy. Ideal for suffers of S.A.D (Kitchen & Home)
Having energy saving light bulbs throughout the house it was always disappointing that I had to use an old traditional daylight bulb for sewing. Reluctant to lose the brightness I continued to use the traditional daylight bulbs until recently when these proved impossible to locate. I then tried the Ecozone Biobulb - success - clean brilliant light, ideal for handicrafts, reading etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING, IT WILL CHANGE YOUR LIFE!, 6 Nov 2007
This review is from: Ecozone Biobulb, Energy-Saving Daylight Bulb, Screw Cap E27, 25W Equivalent to 100w, 1750 Lumens, Full Spectrum, Daylight White 6500k, Uses 75% Less Energy. Ideal for suffers of S.A.D (Kitchen & Home)
This bulb is fantastic. Not everyone suffers with serious SAD in the winter, but everyone definitely gets the blues on with dark mornings, evenings and gloomy daytimes so this is a real boon. You'll be in a room with it on and think you should be outside enjoying the sunshine, only to look outside and realise it's dark and miserable because the light is so natural you forget you've got it on! Great if you set it on a timer and put it in your bedroom to come on just before your alarm goes off - helps with the winter blues that make you just want to stay in bed because it's so dark - also much cheaper than the specialist SAD alarm clocks which are very expensive, the only difference being they gradually increase the light. Great for reading by as it's a very white light and so emphasises the contrast of the letters against the page, without being stark or cold. You will believe this is daylight I guarantee it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews