Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fable- a true 'legend' of a game!
Well, where do I start? The game itself has now had 3 editions, the original 'Fable' followed by 'Fable - The Lost Chapters' (Classics range) and is now included in (which comes as no suprise to me)the 'Best of' section of the Classics range.

- This game is phenominal. The story is so in depth and the possibilities are endless! Good or Evil - for those of you...
Published on 21 Mar 2007 by Eddy Reynolds

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A more basic version of later games
This is actually just a more basic version of Fable II, there is not a great deal of difference between them, but is more than worth the money for you to have a go and enjoy the game and it provides something new to the story you may not already have known, but it is not something that you seriously need to appreciate it.
Published 18 months ago by Mr. Thomas D. Hill


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fable- a true 'legend' of a game!, 21 Mar 2007
By 
Eddy Reynolds (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Fable: The Lost Chapters - Best of Classics (Xbox) (Video Game)
Well, where do I start? The game itself has now had 3 editions, the original 'Fable' followed by 'Fable - The Lost Chapters' (Classics range) and is now included in (which comes as no suprise to me)the 'Best of' section of the Classics range.

- This game is phenominal. The story is so in depth and the possibilities are endless! Good or Evil - for those of you that hadn't played the original Fable these are the two choices that face you whilst you play. Will you lead a heroic onslaught of all that is evil in the world? Or will you pursue all that is pure and good, destroying, and creating a reign of terror along your way? The choice is yours. Anyway, onto the storyline - which I must say is superb! The game starts with you as a small child, it's your sisters birthday and your father has asked you to get her a preasent. You have one problem though, you have no money. So your Dad offers you a deal - for every good deed you do around the town he will give you one gold coin. However, there are other ways of getting the money you require. For example: A local bully is threatening a young child for his toy, and the boy cries for help. You are now faced with those two choices again. You could either: defeat the bully and get the gold off your father for performing a good deed...or you could kick the holy crap out of the little kid until he offers you gold to leave him alone. Its quite simple, yet very entertaining! After the gold is gathered for your sisters birthday you buy her a present and just as you go to give her this preseant, bandits raid the town...typical? Your father is killed and your mother and sister kidnapped. You are left alone. That is until a mysterious man appears and explains that he is your only hope of survival. Now this is where the real game starts. This man is infact Maze, head of heroes at the heroes guild. He and the guildmaster(whom you will also meet)train you to become a hero, to fight evil in the world - that is, if you want to of course, lol! You are told that there is a growing evil arising in Albion (the world in which the game is set) and you are given a series of missions besides the main story line to complete. Along the way you will grow stronger and wiser, enabaling you to use heavier weapons and powerful spells to defeat your foes. You are faced with a huge arsenal of weapons and spells to choose from, each with there own unique ability and strengths. There are also many types of clothing, armour and mystacal robes to wear - all of which you will buy with your hard earned cash...and its tuff being a hero! As for the extra content in the game - excellent! Another island to explore more weapons, more armour, more monsters to fight and another chunk of story to play through. There are so many secrets to unvail, so many choices to be made and so many puzzles to be solved that you will simply never grow weary of this game. It can be played again and again. I loved it, so will you! Now go, buy this game, and be faced with the choices that I have...Good or Evil, what will you be? 5/5 - Phenominal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great adventure whilst it lasts., 16 April 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Fable: The Lost Chapters - Best of Classics (Xbox) (Video Game)
A truly stunning game, that whilst not a long adventure is absolute class while it lasts. The love and care that has been lavished on creating this game is evident from the start. The graphics are easily the best I have seen on Xbox and the sound is as equally impressive, the game play is as near perfect as you could wish for with intuitive controls and an easily manageable inventory system.

People have complained about the length of the game however, provided you do not rush the game and enjoy the full experience it can easily last 25 to 30 hours, which for me is fine as I would rather have quality over quantity.

I cannot recommend this game enough, I have finished it twice now and although the story was the same my characters had developed completely differently. The game offers plenty of things to do and many choices for shaping your character. I for one cannot wait for the sequel.

Just buy this game and discover the world of Albion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Fable of a Brilliant Game, 26 Aug 2006
By 
T. H. Boyd - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Fable: The Lost Chapters - Best of Classics (Xbox) (Video Game)
This game is the newly improved version of its predecessor Fable. I had the old game and when completed there were a few questions that you wanted answering. A few enemies you wanted to fight. New places you wanted to go to. This game has all of those and more. You can be good or evil depending on what actions you do and, in turn, this changes your image and the way people react to you. With THIS RPG however, you get real time battles instead of turn based battles out of games such as the legendary final fantasies. Not only can you battle and complete quests but playing around is funny too. You can get drunk, marry women (or men if you prefer...), commit crimes, trade and...er...kick chickens. Anywho this is a must have for any self respecting RPG fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun, 9 July 2007
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Fable: The Lost Chapters - Best of Classics (Xbox) (Video Game)
This is a good game for a non seriously serious XBox player. It's easy to pick up, has some good challenges, clues are not to criptic and the ability to build up majic powers is fun. Only downside for me is it's fairly easy to earn cash by trading, once you know how, but otherwise an addictive and enjoyable game for a small price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fable xbox, 5 Feb 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Fable: The Lost Chapters - Best of Classics (Xbox) (Video Game)
This was the first game we played on the xbox and it's brilliant! Loads and loads of places to explore, buying food/potions/weapons from the local trades men, battles to be had. You begin as a young man with no skills and no money but as you work your way through the quests you gain skills and get paid. You can then buy better weapons, use potions that you've found/bought to better your skills and take on more challenging quests. In between you can buy houses, marry, talk with the locals - who all seem to be on magic mushrooms! and generally mull around - fishing is a good past time because you can 'catch' some interesting stuff. A great game, just a shame its a bit short - we completed in 20hrs after having never played an xbox (1st console since the megadrive - yeah sad i know).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars immensely playable, 7 Mar 2014
By 
J. A. Swan "julfull" (sutton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fable: The Lost Chapters - Best of Classics (Xbox) (Video Game)
I got addicted to this and my eldest son kept going evil, this was to annoy me because I wouldn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A more basic version of later games, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fable: The Lost Chapters - Best of Classics (Xbox) (Video Game)
This is actually just a more basic version of Fable II, there is not a great deal of difference between them, but is more than worth the money for you to have a go and enjoy the game and it provides something new to the story you may not already have known, but it is not something that you seriously need to appreciate it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not worth tarnishing those old memories :(, 17 Sep 2012
By 
I. Denison "Anti-Flame" (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fable: The Lost Chapters - Best of Classics (Xbox) (Video Game)
I picked up an original Xbox on the cheap around a year ago and Fable was one of the first games I decided to buy, along with Star Wars Battlefront 1 and 2, and Halo: CE. I had fond memories of staying up late when I was round friends' houses, sitting in the dark and taking turns to complete quests and watch our character grow into a hero of the people or, equally, turn into a crazy demon badass. After playing around four hours this time around, I found myself getting extremely bored, and genuinely having to just turn the console off and switch to something more entertaining on my PC. It's not that Fable wasn't ground-breaking for its time, and it will always hold a place in my mind as one of those RPGs (alongside Final Fantasy IX, Chrono Trigger and The Legend of Zelda: Link To The Past) that really just stunned me when it first came out. Unlike those games, however, it doesn't stand the test of time nearly as well and the gameplay simply feels dated; I can't quite explain why, but the best way to describe it is that it plays like a PS2-era RPG. It's fun, but so, so many of them were exactly the same. Around 18 months ago, a game called Alice: Madness Returns was released on the current generation of consoles, and that similarly suffered from the traits that make Fable feel old. Old in a bad way. It's a shame, but I would suggest that, unless you REALLY ABSOLUTELY HAVE to play the original Fable again, you'd be much better off picking up one of the other games I mentioned, or even Fable 2 or 3 because, to quote a recent meme, if you pick up the original Fable, you're gonna have a bad time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great game - very entertaining, 13 Aug 2006
By 
A. Baldwin "shartain" (Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fable: The Lost Chapters - Best of Classics (Xbox) (Video Game)
This is an excellent RPG. It has superb graphics and game play and is the sort of game that action enthusiats and role players will like. You can choose to be good or evil so either the townsfolk run up to you and worship you or flee in fear screaming for their lives.

As for the previous reviewer who says you get trapped in a prison, you have to sneak up to the table and steal the key from the right box when the head guard is reading you his poetry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as it thinks it is, 23 July 2008
By 
Mr. M. L. Hanford "MH74" (Hereford,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fable: The Lost Chapters - Best of Classics (Xbox) (Video Game)
I mean that whilst the game is indeed very good the fact you can be good or evil doesn't make one jot to the game,you're good everyone cheers and gives you respect,you're bad everyone jeers you a bit,does it affect the game?NO!,you don't get attacked on sight for being evil,prices aren't cheaper if you're good,places aren't inaccessible being one or the other,There was mention at the time about how you could damage a tree and some years later the damage will still be there,same thing applied to scars etc..,can you? NO!,overall a very good game but doesn't deserve all it's praise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fable: The Lost Chapters - Best of Classics (Xbox)
Used & New from: £1.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews