Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars52
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 February 2008
I like music when it is made by artists who are obviously enjoying themselves making it. Especially rock n roll of which this is a particularly fine example. This album has more killers than fillers - Power of love being the best in my opinion. The opening track- Heart of Rock n roll - is a great intro to the genre of 80's rnr. Mr Lewis demonstrates his versatility on several covers of old soul tunes - It's alright & But it's alright are two of my favourites. Whilst his vocal talents are sometimes stretched he more than compensates with his energy and verve. Another artist in this vein is Bruce Willis. Why not buy both of them?
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2008
ah Huey Lewis & the News, how fondly i remember car journeys as a kid listening to Sports, Fore, Picture This etc. Huey Lewis & The News just didnt have any duff songs or albums, back in those days there was no such thing as a "filler" track, so in theory a Huey Lewis best of, could have every single song.
But for the bare essentials they are all here, Hip to be Square, Heart of Rock n Roll, Power of Love, Back in Time (we never had this song when i was a kid, so its great to be included here), and so many more.
The funny thing is that I am into more extreme music these days, but i find strolling round with my mp3 player moving from Carcass to Anaal Nathrakh to Huey Lewis is simply brilliant. I love it and will do for many more years to come.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2009
An extremely fine compilation album issued in 2006 from one of the all-time great rock/R&B bands (with terrific brass and reed sections), featuring 21 of the groups best tracks covering their heyday of the 1980s until 2000.

The album is a timely reminder of some really great tunes and the well orchestrated arrangements and harmonies that were produced by this top drawer group.

Watch out for the Huey's duet with Gwyneth Paltrow (really nice voice) on Crusin' - as well as a lyrical tenor sax solo from Stan Getz on Small World - and the live performance of Trouble In Paradise.

Overall - a great way to spend one and a quarter hours of listening time.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2006
What a great album this is...for anyone who LIVED through the 80's then this album is for you....so many good songs, including Hip To be Square,Stuck with you,Doing it all for my Baby and of course the Back to the Future classics...Power of Love and Back in Time...the list goes on and on.....a great summer feel album ....
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2013
All the best songs in one place, puts a smile on my face on way to work in the morning!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2014
fabulous album. a couple of tracks I didn't rate, a couple I hadn't heard (its alright being one - but what a song) but honestly, a brilliant collection. His name is Huey Lewis and you've just heard the News! :-)
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2016
To my mind, the 80s were not the greatest era for music - much of the electronic stuff was very much of its time and has not aged well - however, when some artists got it right, they really did and big time! Huey Lewis and the News would be one of these acts. Starting off with the Robert John "Mutt" Lange (think Def Leppard and Mr. Shania Twain - big, powerful choruses) written "Do You Believe In Love", they became a mega hit-making machine. This collection brings together the very best of their hits and it really makes a wonderful listen. Hear how Ray Parker Jr. nicked the riff from "I Want A New Drug" for "Ghostbusters" and ended up in court for it, relive "Back To The Future" with "Power of Love" and "Back In Time", boogie to "Hip To Be Square", and singalong to "If This Is It" and "Stuck With You" - and, in reality, to just about everything else on here. Great finds are also their harmony version of the Impressions' "It's Alright" and a surprisingly listenable duet with Gwyneth Paltrow on Smokey Robinson's "Cruisin". Anytime I need a pick me up or something to clear my mind, I put it on loud, hit play and suddenly the whole world seems a much better place. Wonderful!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2013
An excellent album containing all of the best Huey songs for you to sing along to. Ideal album for your record collection whether a die hard fan or not.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2012
One of the first cds that I bought was "Sportsnearly 30 years ago in the early '80's. Hooked on Huey ever since, tho' I did know of him for playing harmonica for some Irish band called Thin Lizzy. This is a full career retrospective remastered and shiny. This is second generation rock 'n' roll - kids liked it cos it's what their parents grew up listening to. All the hits are here and sound great. If you want to liven up a 40-something dinner party and get your mates nodding and smiling, put this on. Trust me, I know it works cos I've done it.
In 1983 or '84 Huey and the band did an "In Concert" for the BBC - most of the hits off here are on that broadcast- now if someone could persuade them to licencse that it would be a great testament to what a great good time band Huey Lewis and The News were in there heyday.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2011
The band which was originally called Clover came to the U K to cut some records and were used by Stiff for the first Elvis Costello album but without Huey Lewis who was shortly to found a new band gathering musicians from the North East West and South-hence the name NEWS.
The song The power of love-the 3rd in the 80s to use this title-was used on the soundtrack of Back To The Future which resulted in the first chart topper.
Lewis was also in the movie as an "actor" who spoke about one sentence as one of the judges at the school talent contest where he turned down Michael J Fox.
Many more hit singles followed of music heavily influenced by 60s R & B and soul with 2 albums of covers into the 2000s.
There was more to pop music in the 80s than the New Wave and synth bands and here's the proof
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.49

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)