Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a belter of a compilation.
Smashing, smashing, smashing. A superb round-up of most of the tracks recorded whilst ELO were with Harvest Records.The quad version of the first album is presented for the first time in full and it is sublime to hear in all it's glory.

If I was to go to a desert island and I could only take one album, this would be the one I would choose as I never ever get...
Published on 3 Nov 2006 by PalominBeaut

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A nice artifact
I had all these and loved their unique direction at the time.Much of it sounds naff now but ithis genius did take a path not travelled later followed by many
Published 7 months ago by MR P R CHAPPELOW


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a belter of a compilation., 3 Nov 2006
This review is from: The Harvest Years 1970-1973 (Audio CD)
Smashing, smashing, smashing. A superb round-up of most of the tracks recorded whilst ELO were with Harvest Records.The quad version of the first album is presented for the first time in full and it is sublime to hear in all it's glory.

If I was to go to a desert island and I could only take one album, this would be the one I would choose as I never ever get tired of listening to it.

Buy this album now as it is sure to be deleted at some point and to miss out on the quad tracks would be such a shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars elo first 3 albums, 3 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Harvest Years 1970-1973 (Audio CD)
great value album, shows how ELO were formed and developed into a world class band, i am not a fan of the first album even though i have been a "woody" fan since 1967, the second and third album gives jeff lynne the freedom to develope, its worth it just for the demo version of "roll over beethoven" but also contains the finished version of the song and the hit "showdown"
from the first album you get "10538 overture" written by jeff lynne and an excellent single. john lennon called them "son of beatles" when he heard "showdown" and this takes up where "i am the walrus" left off
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cello driven Beatles-Prog., 5 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Harvest Years 1970-1973 (Audio CD)
Having owned the Showdown compilation Lp for many years, this 3cd boxset seemed a great value way to have ELO's early output on cd. As the cover indicates, this is Roy Wood-era ELO 1 & 2 together with a number of alternative mixes ( including a rare quad mix ). To these ears, they blanded-out as the seventies progressed, but this cello driven Beatles-Prog is anything but.
It is not the most careful or thorough presentation of the Harvest Years, but it's hard to complain at this price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE HARVEST YEARS (WHAT A FEAST FOR THE EARS), 30 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Harvest Years 1970-1973 (Audio CD)
ELECTRIC LIGHT ORCHESTRA THE HARVEST YEARS,THE EARLY YEARS OF THIS FANTASTIC BAND, A TREBLE ALBUM FOR UNDER A FIVER, I HAVE PURCHASED ALL THEIR OLD ALBUMS ON AMAZON TO REPLACE MY VYNIL COLLECTION ALL AT FANTASTIC PRICES,IF YOU ARE AN E L O FAN OR A NEW FAN JUST BUY THEM ALL YOU WONT BE DISSAPPOINTEDThe Harvest Years 1970-1973
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars three CD's of magic, 13 Feb 2013
By 
John T. (chesterfield uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Harvest Years 1970-1973 (Audio CD)
Early ELO a mixture of Wood and Lynne at their best.I never tire of hearing the magnificent "10538 Overture" so when i saw this collection from the Harvest Years and read a couple of the more lets say informative reviewers comments i knew i just had to buy it. Absolutely delighted and the long version(7 minutes) of "Roll Over Beethoven" plus quite a bit of ELO i've not heard before makes this 3 CD set even more perfect.I'm over the moon with it and i'm sure you will be too....just buy it!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A nice artifact, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Harvest Years 1970-1973 (Audio CD)
I had all these and loved their unique direction at the time.Much of it sounds naff now but ithis genius did take a path not travelled later followed by many
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Big ELO fan but find this set of CD's very ..., 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Harvest Years 1970-1973 (Audio CD)
Big ELO fan but find this set of CD's very disappointing. Choose any 1 of 3 discs and you have heard the other two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Harvest Years 1970-1973 (Audio CD)
fills a gap
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Harvest Years 1970-1973
The Harvest Years 1970-1973 by E.L.O. (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews