Customer Reviews


142 Reviews
5 star:
 (114)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


165 of 167 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great balance of strategy and luck
We got this for Christmas and it was real hit with the whole family (it's recommended for ages 8+ and I would say that's about right). The very simple aim is to lay your hexagonal tiles on the board to make clusters of similar colours - the more matching colours, the higher your score. There are six different colours in the game and you have to be careful because when no...
Published on 16 Jan 2009 by Tealady2000

versus
26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good game, AWFUL quality!!
Fun to play and quick, simple-to-understand rules. But playing the game is not a pleasurable experience because the tiles, racks and little pegboards to keep track of your scores are of such poor, cheap and nasty quality. You have got big, very thin plastic tiles which stand up in a flimsy rack which falls over as soon as anyone breathes or fidgets. They are placed on...
Published on 28 Dec 2011 by M. Guinan


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

165 of 167 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great balance of strategy and luck, 16 Jan 2009
By 
Tealady2000 (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ingenious Strategy Game (Toy)
We got this for Christmas and it was real hit with the whole family (it's recommended for ages 8+ and I would say that's about right). The very simple aim is to lay your hexagonal tiles on the board to make clusters of similar colours - the more matching colours, the higher your score. There are six different colours in the game and you have to be careful because when no more tiles can be laid, it's your lowest scoring colour that counts. So you can't just go all-out to get a massive score for one colour, you have to plan ahead, and there's an element of luck too because you don't know what tiles you're going to draw from the bag. It's for up to 4 players and it takes about half an hour. And the board looks really pretty when all the tiles have been played!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


161 of 164 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great strategy game, 30 Oct 2009
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ingenious Strategy Game (Toy)
I bought this game last year having read the reviews posted on Amazon. It is brilliant.

Initially, i played it against only with a gaming friend of mine and we quickly went from having no idea about what strategy to use, to thinking quite hard about what we were doing. Like any number of great games, it's very easy to learn but you could play for years without ever perfecting a single winning tactic.

That said, if you don't want to put that much thought into it, it's still a really enjoyable game. Unlike, for example Scrabble, you're not having to think in a way that warrants silence and deep concentration; I've taken it to the pub to play with mates and you can play whilst chatting away (and drinking). I've played it with my family, who are increasingly resistant to elongated instructions, and they all got it and enjoyed it.

For all it's simplicity though, there must be a key to winning - i rarely beat my gaming mate and my partner rarely beats me.

No little warnings, or slight negatives, this is a fantastic game and i'd recommend it happily to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good family game, 4 Feb 2009
By 
Dawn Stanhope "Mad Shopper" (Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ingenious Strategy Game (Toy)
Bought this game for a christmas present for my 9 year old son, after reading reviews on Amazon. I have to say it is a very easy game to play and thoroughly enjoyable. The whole family including grandparents played this and even though I said it was easy to play you have to think about all the moves you make. Overall a very good game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


94 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best game we've ever bought, 15 Jan 2008
By 
Jennifer Spence (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ingenious Strategy Game (Toy)
I am about to buy our 3rd set of this game. The original one is played in our family with our 2 boys aged 12 and 10 and we play it more than any other game we have. The other two sets are for friends' children who have played the game at our house and loved it (right, that's it, no more friends round ...). It is easy to pick up and suitable for younger children too, as they really only need to be able to match. Strategy comes into it later as you get competitive ...

Overall, a great game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really simple, 25 Nov 2007
By 
N. Wong - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ingenious Strategy Game (Toy)
My family really like playing this game. The rules are dead simple but it seems to have that magic that holds the attention throughout the playing, and makes you want to start another game as soon as one is finished. It also looks good to the eye, indeed it looks amazing when you fill up the board with the coloured tiles. High quality production as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


99 of 106 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun, catchy and easy to learn, 6 Jan 2008
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ingenious Strategy Game (Toy)
We got this game for our son's Christmas this year (he is nearly 7)and I don't think there has been one day it has not been used since! We all absolutely love it. It took 5 min to learn (mainly how to count the points), you can play adults vs kids and it is very addictive.
I bought the travel version: we have many games and space is becoming a premium in the games cupboard, and we were abroad for Xmas so it had to fit in our suitcase easily. It is indeed quite compact but nicely finished. The fabric bag for the tiles is very handy. The only thing that could be improved on are the scoring "pins" and the point markings: the pins are really small, hard to handle and easy to loose if you play in the car or on the plane for instance, the points marks are not contrasted with the board and hard to see.
But apart from that, it is just brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab for all ages!, 11 Oct 2010
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ingenious Strategy Game (Toy)
Wanting a game thats easy to play with not too many rules, and a game you do not need to be an expert artist, sculptor or singer, this game is excellant! I bought it only after reading previous reviews. We like playing the game tri-ominos and this is along similar idea. The jist of the game is adding your own coloured shapes onto other shapes already laid down on a board but in a way that will score you the most points to move your pegs along a score card. The idea is to get as many of your colours out as possible and along the score card by clever positioning of your shapes on the board and counting the same coloured shapes next to it giving you your points, wiv a little help on the first game children soon get the idea as its easier than ive made it sound! Also once you have played the first game you no longer need to read instructions. Quick game too so concentration lasts. Only thing I may be concerned about is the small counters you move on your scoring card are very small and could get lost if not careful. My kids ages are 9 and 12.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive, 5 Jun 2008
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ingenious Strategy Game (Toy)
We have owned this game for years and whole family still thoroughly enjoy playing it. Originally and rather pretentiously it was called Mensa as it was designed by people belonging to Mensa. Don't let that put you off though as it is a quick game to pick up. It involves matching colours (or shapes for the colour blind) in as long a string as possible to reach a specific total. Matching one colour only is no good as all six have total goals to obtain.

The tiles are tough and durable and the board is robust. It can be played by 5 year olds on a simple level but is great for teenagers and the rest of the family. You can play tactically and if you want to play dirty you can block your opponents (but expect the same in return). Every game is different and it can be played repeatedly without becoming boring. We all found it quite addictive and I would say it is good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good game, AWFUL quality!!, 28 Dec 2011
By 
M. Guinan (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ingenious Strategy Game (Toy)
Fun to play and quick, simple-to-understand rules. But playing the game is not a pleasurable experience because the tiles, racks and little pegboards to keep track of your scores are of such poor, cheap and nasty quality. You have got big, very thin plastic tiles which stand up in a flimsy rack which falls over as soon as anyone breathes or fidgets. They are placed on a hexagon pattern on a board as you play the game, a bit of texture on the board would help here too because any light brush with a sleeve sends them all skittering around the place. Then you have to keep track of your moves by moving little plastic pegs along holes in a bit of cardboard, the holes aren't quite big enough for the pegs so you have to manhandle them a bit, which bends the card.

No reason why anyone under 8 couldn't play the game itself, except for the unmanageably flimsy build quality of the components which require firm, but gentle and steady handling!! An extra quid or two per game would have made a good idea into a game which is much more pleasurable to play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fun game for all, 4 Jan 2011
By 
Mr. William R. Booth "iceeagle" (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ingenious Strategy Game (Toy)
Got this for my wife for Christmas - our youngest player is 25 so it is a great game for adults - but its fine for kids too

The rules are simple but the play requires a lot of thought if you want to win - Another plus is that it plays equally well with 2 3 or 4 players - unlike many games where less players make the game less playable

Each game does not take too long either - actual timescale depends on how long each player takes to decide where to put their tile.

As each player does their own scoring it requires honesty, not a problem for us , but if you need to validate the marking by each person I think it would detract from the joy of the game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ingenious Strategy Game
Ingenious Strategy Game by Sophisticated Games
£15.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews