Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars31
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 May 2012
It is the best opera in my opinion. The music is beautiful and the cast is the best you can get. I heard many versions of this opera. I saw a production this year and I can say that it never can get any better. Anna Netrebko is at its best performance of all time. the voice is bright and clear so present at any moment. I never hear a better interpretation of this opera. I think it is the best opera of all time. I like Mozart very much and the magic flute is the best you can hear but this production kicks it out better. Thomas Hampson plays a great part in the opera. Rolando Villazon shows his brilliant voice. In the last time it has suffered a lot. The last aria in the first act is the best aria I ever heard. You can hear it so many times that you are never bored.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2013
The central pair of this Traviata are beautiful people, wonderful singers and great actors. I have not seen or heard their likes on screen or on the stage before.

The staging is in my opinion a work of art. The scene has been reduced to bare essentials. The mostly empty stage is contained within a curved wall that may represent a prison or a cage. A flower and a clock remind us constantly of the impermanence of life and of the inexorable passage of time. The lighting of alternately cold and warm colours plays on the theme of life and death. The ominous chorus harks back to classical Greek drama and the "ballet" of Act III is both terrific and terrifying.

I feel this production may be conciously complementary to Zeffirellis lush and magnificient film of 1983. Both share the language of flowers and of alternately cold and warm colours. And certain themes like that of the cage and of fleeting time are common to both..
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2012
This is quite simply the very best Traviata I have ever seen.The blank set and the sybolism, insted of being irritating, contributed to the emotional impact.Netrebko, then at her most beautiful was superb; wonderfully acted and sung. Villazon as good as usual but overshadowed.To not see this is to miss a great opera experiance, have your handkerchiefs ready.
Usual good service from Amazon.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2010
really enjoyed the staging and the performances . the standard of the singing was extremely high and would recommend this DVD to any good opera fan
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2013
As a fan of the old traditional setting I came to this warily. The minimalist scenery caught my eye, and I am a great fan of Villazon and Netrebko. Singing is of course superb - and the set a dream. If you love Traviata you will adore this.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2011
I WAS a traditionalist until This ( Netrebko, Villason ) Traviata.The singers NOT FORGETTING Thomas Hampson as Germont senior, cannot be bettered.The Chemistry really does exist and for me the simple stage setting is not simple at all, but very powerful and moving if you let it into your head !I think the clock and the sinister figure of Time are strokes of genius.Love it,Love it,Love it !!!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2008
Verdi - La Traviata (Netrebko, Villazon, Rizzi) [2006]

No, the set does not have the glamour of the Met or Covent garden, but the acting and singing easily make up for that .... if you doubt my view, see the reviews for what is the same DVD except that it a 2 disc version (the 2nd disc is behind the scenes etc. for those who want it, otherwise, the same). Netrebko and Villason sing beautifully, which is confirmed by the standing ovation at the end of the Opera. Reviewers at the concert spoke of her (Netrebko's) 'bell-like purity of tone' and 'golden gleam of her voice'.

Worth buying then!? I would say definitely 'yes' but, not if you need to have a sumptious setting on the stage!?
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2011
This is the best "Traviata" I have seen. The whole performance is absolutely full of life and energy and is directed with great imagination and flair. Anna Netrebko puts her entire heart and soul into Violetta, singing and acting with an intensity and passion rarely encountered in opera. Her final moments are heartbreaking. Roland Villazon, another fine singer-actor, is an ideal Alfredo for her: the sexual chemistry between them really fizzes (and is still there at the end in the wings, when the two are waiting to take their bows) and he captures to perfection Verdi's blend of ardent young lover and petulant, immature young man. Thomas Hampson completes the picture with a truly chilling portrayal of Germont senior, Verdi's representative figure of bourgeois moral hypocrisy. He absolutely drips with self-righteousness and insincerity and, even at the end, conveys the feeling that his self-reproach is formulaic rather than genuine.

Willy Decker's non-naturalistic, feminist production wrenches the opera away from its usual unchallenging identity as 19th century "period piece" and turns it into something much more uncomfortable, disturbing even, and much more relevant to our own times. Of course, this does not go down well with dessicated canary fanciers, who do not understand theatre and regard an opera performance as the equivalent of an Associated Board grade exam. Ignore these people and side with the Salzburg audience, who give the show a prolonged and well-deserved standing ovation.

Incidentally, although Amazon advertises this DVD as NTSC Region 1, the copy I obtained (from Moviemars) is Region 0 and is fully PAL compatible. Maybe Amazon should take another look?
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2013
Outstanding opera production with great singing. I am addicted to it.

I have nothing more to say so your word requirement merely irritates me about Amazon.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2014
If you only ever have one version of this, perhaps the most famous of operas, I urge you to buy this one; it is just fantastic both aurally and visually. Normally modern productions do not appeal but this bleak but strangely surrealistic setting lends a whole new dimension to the story which becomes believable. The acting of the two main leads is superb and even after repeated viewings it brings tears to my eyes
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)