Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Paling Shadows, 13 April 2006
By 
B. KIRKHAM "kirkham_ben" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Twilight Zone - Series 3 (Black & White) [DVD] (DVD)
With its third season, The Twilight Zone was beginning to get restless. Rod Serling had so much input and influence on the first two seasons that his fatigue was beginning to show. Still, Season Three does feature some excellent episodes.

'A Game of Pool', in which a pool shark (the excellent Jack Klugman) has to defeat a game legend or lose his life, is tightly constructed drama; 'It's A Good Life' is one of the all-time classics, featuring Billy Mumy as a little boy in control of a whole town; 'Deaths-Head Revisited' is an extremely powerful tale of retribution, starring Oscar Beregi and Joseph Schildkraut; 'The Midnight Sun' is a beautifully produced episode in every way with an outstanding musical score.

Other episodes such as 'Five Characters In Search of An Exit', 'Nothing in the Dark', 'To Serve Man' (with one of the most memorable endings in TV history), 'Little Girl Lost', 'Person or Persons Unknown', 'The Trade-Ins', 'The Dummy', and 'The Changing of the Guard' are also high-ranking episodes.

The problem with this season is that the bad episodes really rancour. In the first two seasons, these had been rare and quite forgettable, but in this season the bad episodes stick in your mind. 'The Arrival' is a complete cop-out, 'The Shelter' is pompously written, 'The Passersby' is predictable, 'Showdown with Rance McGrew' is boring. It's sad to think that many of the shows could have been much better. 'The Hunt', 'A Quality of Mercy', 'Dead Man's Shoes', Kick the Can', 'A Piano in the House' all showed much potential, but unfortunately a lot of this is not met.

And unless you're a collector, don't bother with what is surely one of the worst Twilight Zone's ever, 'The Gift'. It's difficult to find a good word to say about it.

In retrospect, Season Three contains some of the shows finest episodes scattered thinly, and it's nowhere near as bad as Season Five. This represented the end of an era. After this season, producer Buck Houghton left to pursue other projects, and Serling's involvement in the show dramatically reduced. With Season Four, Twilight Zone started short-lived hour-long stories.

Despite the misses, Season Three is an essential part of any Twilight Zone fans collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "The Twilight Zone - Seasons 1 to 5" on BLU RAY - Compatibility Issues With The 'US' Versions For UK Buyers..., 22 Mar 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Even though they're oddly more expensive in some cases - the American BLU RAY releases for "The Twilight Zone" (Season 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5) on Image Entertainment are all REGION A LOCKED - so they won't play on our machines unless they're chipped to be 'all regions' (which few are).

Opt for the UK releases (on Region B) instead. They're usually reasonably priced and don't have any playback problems...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Package, 24 Mar 2010
By 
Patrick Gleeson (Limerick Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Twilight Zone - Series 3 (Black & White) [DVD] (DVD)
The bar was raised considerably in Twilight Zone's first two seasons, and it does not dissapoint here.
I'll not repeat what other reviewers have said about the episodes (I can't improve what was said), but I'll
concentrate on the overall package. The episodes have been remastered, and look superb with little or no artefacts, and excellent contrast. I like the fact that the original break bumpers, Rod Serling intros of the next weeks episodes, CBS promos and Public Information Films are all intact. This gives a real sense of context of the times these programmes were first broadcast. The extras are a little thin on the ground, conisting of audio commentaries of selected episodes.

Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic series..., 27 Sep 2014
By 
Mr. Pt Nash (milford haven) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twilight Zone - Series 3 (Black & White) [DVD] (DVD)
Some critics on here claim as the seasons progress they were less lacklustre than previous seasons .I totally disagree, think of how the sixties changed and the writing styles, well this also influenced tv shows so it was a thing of the times. To be honest I loved every episode, there was thought and imagination from the minds of some fantastic writers, and compared to the garbage on tv today this is pure gold, I was only disappointed when I came to the end of season five it left you wanting more. What many don't realise when watching programmes like this, space was still a mysterious undiscovered place, man hadn't even set foot on the moon so selling young and old alike fantastic tales of alien encounters, parallel universes, paranormal events was as easy as breathing.. Just forget about all that you know, let your imagination take over and just enjoy it for what it is.. A lovable series from a golden era of tv..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true TV masterpiece !!!, 14 Jun 2010
By 
G. Woodward "Fairlight Man" (Ramsgate, Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I used to love watching The Twilight Zone back in the 80's and 90's taping almost every episode that was shown on TV, most of them were usually in the early hours of the morning! Season 3 comprises of 30 short stories with the highlight of the season being 'The Hellgramite Method' which see's Timothy Bottoms given a capsole to take which is supposed to help fix him of his drinking problem but turns out to be a rather nasty worm that hatches inside him and feeds on the alcohol he consumes making it grow in size in his stomach!! Another good story is 'The Cold Equations' which see's a space pilot of the future having to eject an unfortunate hitch hiker from his ship, heart wrenching stuff!! 'Room 2426' starring Dean Stockwell is another good instalment from the season. In fact, there is not one tale that I didn't like on this DVD.

All in all, I loved this and if you are a fan of short stories with a twist, so will you. I highly recommend that you buy it.

Featured episodes are: Extra Innings, The Trunk, The Crossing, The Curious Case of Edgar Witherspoon, Dream Me A Life, The Hunters, The Hellgramite Method, Memories, The Call, 20/20 Vision, Our Selena Is Dying, The Cold Equations, The Trance, Acts of Terror, There Was An Old Woman, Stranger in Possum Meadows, Appointment on Route 17, Street of Shadows, A Game of Pool, The Wall, Father and Son Game, Room 2426, The Mind of Simon Foster, Something in the Walls, Cat and Mouse, Rendezvous in a Dark Place, Many Many Monkeys, Love is Blind, Special Service and Crazy As A Soup Sandwich.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dvd, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The product i have purchased is everything i expected it to be and compliant with the advertisement relating to the goods being sold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Original is always Original!, 23 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twilight Zone - Series 3 (Black & White) [DVD] (DVD)
After watching the first two seasons of TZ we decided to buy this as well. Fantastic box and decent prize.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twilight Zone - Series 3 (Black & White) [DVD] (DVD)
good episodes, plenty to watch and entertaining
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great shows but..., 2 Jun 2010
By 
This review is from: Twilight Zone - Series 3 (Black & White) [DVD] (DVD)
As with the other box sets of this classic series that I've seen it's a case of excellent shows, shame about the extras. The shows themselves are still some of the most watchable half hours of telly ever and even the most average Twilight Zone has something that makes it stand out. There are plenty of famous actors and actresses that went on to become household names - Jack Klugman, Charles Bronson, Elizabeth Montgomery, Donald Pleasance, Joseph Wiseman, I could go on. Great screen performers the lot of them.

Thing is the extras on the discs could be better. There is no denying that Marc Scott Zicree knows his stuff about TTZ but to call the interviews with some of the stars of the shows (which can be played as an alternative audio track over the episodes) commentaries is stretching it a bit. They are not very well micro-phoned and in one notable case you can clearly hear background goings-on and even a dog barking. They often don't last half the time of the episode and, because they're not watching the episode together, they don't refer to the episode with any accuracy, just vague recollections of their time on it.

Some of the commentaries aren't all that good either and in some it's clear that the person giving the commentary hasn't watched the episode to remind themselves of it. Having said that, until they release a Blu-Ray collection of TTZ, this is the only way to see them all and it's great to have such a superb slice of American TV history available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Twilight Zone - Series 3 (Black & White) [DVD]
Twilight Zone - Series 3 (Black & White) [DVD] by Charles Bronson (DVD - 2006)
Used & New from: £19.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews