Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Japan's first classic album
The first two albums from Japan, `Adolescent Sex' and `Obscure Alternatives', were less than great - this might have been due to the New York Dolls-direction of those records and their unhappy tenure on Ariola-Hansa, whom they left for Virgin in 1980. Their third album `Quiet Life' and singles like `European Son' and the Moroder-collaboration `Life in Tokyo' showed a...
Published on 28 May 2006 by Jason Parkes

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sophistocated electro pop
This album is a step up from 'Quiet Life' which marked the beginning of the new, sophistocated Japan culminating in their final ( and best) album, 'Tin Drum'. It's probably the most accomplished and subtle electro pop album of its time. While lacking the world music/ electro synthesis of the latter, its pretty melodies and lush ambient textures make it a very pleasant...
Published on 25 Oct 2008 by Lazydrake


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect polaroids, 3 Aug 2011
By 
S. Wilson "Seany" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gentlemen Take Polaroids (Audio CD)
Simply one of the greatest albums of the early 80's. Superb band who produced atmospheric tracks. A must purchase in yr record/cd collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 12 April 2011
By 
P. Long - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gentlemen Take Polaroids (Audio CD)
This is an excellent 80's album and far better than anything Duran Duran did. The only drawback is the subdued colours of the photos, which were very vibrant on the orignal LP with a photo of Sylvian looking away from the camera. There was also a promo poster at the time of the original LP release where Sylvian was laughing instead of posing, shame we can't have those photos included here. Anyhow, it is still an excellent album. Stand out song for me is "My New Career".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 4 Jan 2009
By 
Mr. M. Allison (N.E. England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gentlemen Take Polaroids (Audio CD)
A Beautiful album, each track blends into the last and it's a great way to loose your self for a while. With a descent pair of headphones on Dave Sylvian haunting voice can transport you a long way away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 27 May 2000
By A Customer
This album proves that avant garde and pop are not mutually exclusive, bringing finely crafted original songs together on an excellently produced album which also contains the most original version of "Ain't that peculiar" I have ever heard; now ain't it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sophistocated electro pop, 25 Oct 2008
This review is from: Gentlemen Take Polaroids (Audio CD)
This album is a step up from 'Quiet Life' which marked the beginning of the new, sophistocated Japan culminating in their final ( and best) album, 'Tin Drum'. It's probably the most accomplished and subtle electro pop album of its time. While lacking the world music/ electro synthesis of the latter, its pretty melodies and lush ambient textures make it a very pleasant listening experience indeed. The title track, 'Methods of Dance' and 'Swing' are the most lively and immediately appealing, but the Satie-esque 'Nightporter', and 'Burning Bridges' are very calming and atmospheric. Two songs originally from the 'Polaroids' EP, 'The experience of swimming' and 'The width of a room' and included here, are fully fledged, beautiful ambient pieces. The oblique yet elegant 'My new career' is a favourite of mine and 'Ain't that peculiar' is an interesting cover of a Smokey Robinson song nicely showcasing the bassplaying talents of Mick Karn and the drumming skills of Steve Jansen. 'Taking islands in Africa' is another tuneful song with ambient brushstrokes representative of the album as a whole. Not many other bands of this era made music as many layered as this, with such distinguished musicianship, and Sylvian's arrangements were immaculate. This album must be purchased by any serious fan of Japan. Indispensable and classic. A five star rating, the two stars on my review were a mistake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classic 80s electronica, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I lost one so had to replace it . brings back so many memories of the 80d especially when a group of friends went to see this band live
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mick Karn's bass, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gentlemen Take Polaroids (Audio CD)
The main reason I would recommend buying any Japan album is to hear the sublime bass playing. All four musicians are superlative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gentlemen, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gentlemen Take Polaroids (Audio CD)
This still sounds fantastic and in my mind timeless but my kids tell me it's a bit dated. Buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent If not Superb Album transfer., 6 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gentlemen Take Polaroids (Audio CD)
I am slowly replacing some of my really old albums with the best (cost effective) CD recording I can find. This recording of the album is fine and maybe I am a little too critical, but why can't the quality be superb these days. I listen to my CDs ripped to LAME V2 lossless format through my Sony NWZ-A845 with LOD into a FiiO E07K then into my Sony headphones. Sonically it's fine, just not as good as I expected.
The album itself is a work of art, I saw Japan countless times in the late 70's / early 80's and this album brings back such great and enjoyable times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars superb offering from japan, 5 Jun 2009
By 
shally (manchester ,United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gentlemen Take Polaroids (Audio CD)
a great album from agroup with a short life span,Thank god sylvian is stilling releasing great work.Gentlemen take polaroids is timeless album from one of our most underated acts ever.A must for any collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gentlemen Take Polaroids
Gentlemen Take Polaroids by Japan (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews