Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At Last....Mr. Coverdale Gets The Full Re Mastered Treatment!!!
At last, EMI have done it!!! Remastered some of the Whitesnake back cat!!! And as a bonus put they have put the first Whitesnake EP on it. This means you get to hear the studio version of "Ain't No Love In The Heart Of The City", which in my opinion is far superior than all those live versions.

The original CD album on the whole suffered from those last '70's...
Published on 17 May 2006 by Mr. G. T. Clark

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 stars for a decent debut disc.
After the class of two by and large excellent solo discs and the excellent 'Snakebite' E.P. this despite having a couple of classic tracks was slightly disappointing,a step back,possible due to material running dry,whatever the reason its not as good as what went before but its still worth discovering.

So what do you get ? well some classic heavy rock in the...
Published on 19 July 2010 by Mr Blackwell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At Last....Mr. Coverdale Gets The Full Re Mastered Treatment!!!, 17 May 2006
This review is from: Trouble (Remastered / Expanded) (Audio CD)
At last, EMI have done it!!! Remastered some of the Whitesnake back cat!!! And as a bonus put they have put the first Whitesnake EP on it. This means you get to hear the studio version of "Ain't No Love In The Heart Of The City", which in my opinion is far superior than all those live versions.

The original CD album on the whole suffered from those last '70's production values, where the drums always sounded as if they were recorded in a bathroom but that has been cleaned up and the power and excitement of Mr. Coverdale surrounded by his own band on their first outing is a joy to hear. And let me tell you, it's great to hear the blues crooning of David Coverdale coming over crystal clear!!! This man CAN sing.

Kicking off with the rocking "Take Me With You", which got a welcome airing on their last tour this album is full of those tounge in cheek innuendo's that made this band fun to listen to. Put that together with the soulful blues of "Trouble" and the aforementioned "Ain't No Love..." and you've got yourself a classic blues rock album that this band went to better with their next release "Love Hunter" and then with "Ready And Willing".

There is also a cover of The Beatles "Day Tripper", which, with it's voice box arrangement certainly shows that the band were willing to experiment with arrangements. I used to be a Beatles purist...don't tamper with the originals was my stance but playing this again, it was refreshing to hear it again. And then there is the instrumental "Belgian Tom's Hat Trick", which brings in the slide guitar excellence from Mick Moody.

A good ablum made great by the job of re mastering. The booklet contains extensive notes and interviews, with some great pictures. If you want to either re live those days when rock music was wonderfully under rated, thanks to punk, disco and the power pop bands of the late 1970's or discover a great blues rock albums, you cannot do any worse than buy this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Whitesnake Album, 1 Aug. 2007
By 
Mr. Jonathan Clark (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trouble (Remastered / Expanded) (Audio CD)
All the Whitesnake albums between Trouble and Slide it in (UK version) are excelent. This has become the cream of the crop by the addition of the Snakebite EP. The remastering is really good and you can really hear all the instruments clearly. Sometimes you can't tell what each musician is contributing as little fills can get lost in the mix, but this cd is excellent.

Buy this with "Live....in the Heart of the City" and live happily ever after.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 stars for a decent debut disc., 19 July 2010
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Trouble (Remastered / Expanded) (Audio CD)
After the class of two by and large excellent solo discs and the excellent 'Snakebite' E.P. this despite having a couple of classic tracks was slightly disappointing,a step back,possible due to material running dry,whatever the reason its not as good as what went before but its still worth discovering.

So what do you get ? well some classic heavy rock in the shape of 'Take Me With You',a superb strutting Free/Bad Co influenced title track, a tongue in cheek romp titled 'Lie Down' plus a couple of poppier tracks which hint at the commercial approach that would allow the band to bask in hit singles namely 'Love To Keep You Warm ' & 'The Time Is Right For Love' throw in an excellent instrumental 'Belgian Toms Hat Trick' on which Micky Moody excells and you have the backbone of a decent debut album.However 3 frankly luke warm substandard Purple fodder ,'Nighthawk...','Free Flight' and 'Dont Mess With Me' let the side down while a cover of the Beatles 'Day Tripper' seems misplaced.

Still as a 'debut' with Marsden,Murray,Dowle & Lord joining Coverdale and Moody it showed the potential the band had from the start,worth investigating.

The remaster has a decent sound,to these ears better than the previous remaster circa 87/88 and includes 4 bonus tracks ,the original Snakebite E.P.,the tracks on the E.P. were in my opinion the equal of anything on TROUBLE and indeed in places better,had they cut out the weaker tracks and just put the E.P tracks on the original album it would have been a classic.

The bonus tracks are 'Come On' a super rocker which would open the show for years,a firm live favourite,'Bloody Luxury' a typical 'Snake rythmn n blues rocker,the excellent 'Steal Away' which Micky Moody would use parts of in his live solo and the legendary cover of 'Aint No Love In The Heart Of The City' which would take on a live persona all of its own.

Final note ,its a nice touch that the excellent booklet has reversable sleeve to allow you to display the original UK white cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not my favourite album by whitesnake but its still great, 12 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trouble (Remastered / Expanded) (Audio CD)
Trouble this remastered version also has the snake bite e.p on it which is coool,
Sleazy songs about sex are awesome and nobody NOBODY pulls it off quite like whitesnake.
on first listen My favourite track is nighthawk with its catchy little run down type riff, The bass lines are quite fantastic really compared to later albums, with nice jangly guitar work over the top and a healthy dose of organy keyboard hammond stuff too. they managed to pull off having strange vocal effects in one song which I quite enjoyed.

the whole album is rather dancable I find my self bouncing to it so thats a good sign.
David coverdales vocals are excellent and a good showcase for what was too come as are the lyrics, they are not quite as sleazy and are more innocent on this album.

all in all well rounded album that I wish I could have made with some awesome bassplaying and nice jangly guitar stand out tracks FOR ME are

1. take Me With you
2 nighthawk (vampire
3 the time is right for love ( the song with the awesome bassplaying.
I also really like ain't no love in the heart of the city which is in the bonus e.p part and was not part of the original album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Buy this for your girlfriend, 28 Aug. 2009
By 
C. Gerrard "Craig Gerrard" (Liverpool, Merseyside United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trouble (Remastered / Expanded) (Audio CD)
...and get her into Trouble (as the advert in the music press at the time put it)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trouble (Remastered / Expanded) (Audio CD)
5 STAR SELLER - SUPERB service - EXCELLENT item - FAST dispatch - HIGHLY RECOMMENDED...
MANY THANKS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just great rock and roll!!!, 27 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trouble (Remastered / Expanded) (Audio CD)
Brilliant rock and roll. DC is a master. Turn it up loud and treat the neighbours!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trouble (Remastered / Expanded) (Audio CD)
One for all Whitsnake fans collection, you wont be dissapointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Remaster!, 26 Oct. 2007
This review is from: Trouble (Remastered / Expanded) (Audio CD)
I love all Whitesnake albums so am probably biased, but this is great, the reissue is good and gives us newer fans the chance to buy whitesnake music this time round!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Early potential, 13 Sept. 2010
By 
Grayzee66 (Colchester, Essex) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Trouble (Remastered / Expanded) (Audio CD)
The album opens with the racing "Take Me With You" providing a showcase for the band as a whole, "Love To Keep Me Warm" is, to me, more in keeping with what 'Snake would be doing in the coming years, "Lie Down" again up tempo and a live standard, a crowd pleaser. I'm less keen on their take on the Beatles "Day Tripper" and "Nighthawk" seems a bit....messy, maybe it's just me? "The Time Is Right for Love" seems to show where Whitesnake would be in 10 years time. "Trouble", title track and album stand out track, "Belgium Tom's Hat Trick" is a great instrumental track with the band showing how tight they were, the last two tracks on the original album are perhaps the last two tracks for a reason. The Bonus tracks are from the Snakebite EP and ae nicely rounded of by "Ain't No Love...." Classic, but don't dismiss the other three tracks, especially "Come On". An album containing potential, as we would see with future releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Trouble (Remastered / Expanded)
Trouble (Remastered / Expanded) by Whitesnake (Audio CD - 2006)
Click for more info
Usually dispatched within 1 to 3 weeks
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews