Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, but...
This DVD is superb, but I'm not happy.

I'm not happy because I don't want a 'Best Of' Adam & Joe compilation. I want to see all 4 series in a complete DVD collection.

Nothing else will do.

I don't have Virgin cable TV, so I can't record the stuff that Channel Four repeats on there which includes complete series of Adam & Joe...
Published on 21 Jun 2007 by Red Rob

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Loved the radio Podcasts with my teenage kids so thought would delve back into the archives.
Only trouble is series one is noticeably smuttier and definitely by and for teenagers. Starts to get properly funny at series two.
Published 14 months ago by Simon W Bateman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, but..., 21 Jun 2007
By 
Red Rob "Red Rob" (Blackpool, Lancashire UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Adam and Joe DVD [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD is superb, but I'm not happy.

I'm not happy because I don't want a 'Best Of' Adam & Joe compilation. I want to see all 4 series in a complete DVD collection.

Nothing else will do.

I don't have Virgin cable TV, so I can't record the stuff that Channel Four repeats on there which includes complete series of Adam & Joe. Grrrrrrrrrrrrr!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Schmazin, 5 Jun 2006
This review is from: The Adam and Joe DVD [DVD] (DVD)
What a DVD, the best of a show that is very hard to find the best bits of.

Look out for the Star Wars toy spoofs and extra free sketch in the first series.

Toytanic, Saving Private Lion, American Beautoy and many more.

A must buy for anyone who remembers, and if you dont remember, buy it any way because it is the best DVD you will ever buy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant value above all else, 23 Oct 2006
This review is from: The Adam and Joe DVD [DVD] (DVD)
After downloading their brilliant XFM podcasts I needed another fix of Adam and Joe, so I decided to revisit their indispensible late night TV series from the ninties; The Adam and Joe Show. The DVD includes a half hour best-of compilation for each of the four series and these are mostly made up of their toy movie parodies, which vary in quality and humour, a pity actually because I would have preferred to have more chat from the boys themselves. This DVDs true strength though is contained within the huge number of quality extras; they are absolutely superb and best of all is the documentary "The Adam and Joe Story"; this includes embarrassing footage from their early teens, late teens (also starring a young Louis Theroux), art school installations (quite cool actually), failed attempts to get TV deals, the making of all four television series and a number of unused, cringeworthy outtakes, including a memorable (and scary) moment with Jonathan Ross. So, something of a bargain this one and a must for all A&J fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hit and miss..., 20 Feb 2007
This review is from: The Adam and Joe DVD [DVD] (DVD)
...but mostly hit, and when Adam and Joe are funny they're up there with anyone. The problem I had with the show is the toy spoofs of blockbuster films. I don't find any of them funny, and pretty much every one they ever made seem to be included on this DVD so you can only conclude that Adam and Joe found them to be really really funny...apart from that, this DVD is a bit of a goldmine of great comedy moments. Most of the best of them involve the duo going undercover in public situations and acting stupidly, but the genius stroke is that they always somehow manage to make the unwitting public come off as looking even more stupid...the street artists who blatently get people's faces wrong, the quiz show with impossibly complicated rules, the guy who gets his front room shredded to pieces in the name of mid-morning DIY entertainment TV programmes and then has to just stand there bewildered, pretending he likes it. Best of all is Adam Buxton's demented alter-ego Ken Korda assembling would-be actors to make a ludicrously over the top issues-conscious "street movie" which they all take deadly seriously, but is in fact the worst film ever on purpose. (and there's a another sequence involving him setting up a terrible pop band using volunteer applicants, with similarly horrific results). Imagine a cross between Brass Eye and Trigger Happy TV and that would kind of describe what both of these guys do best.

EXTRAS: Billions. There are so many extras in this DVD that it was two weeks after I got it that I even realised there was a 50 minute long documentary of Adam and Joe's early years and outtakes in amongst the other stuff. And there's a lengthy documentary following "Bad Dad" as he gives his memoirs of the show which is actually quite serious in some parts....plus "Vinyl Justice" where Adam and Joe go round to various pop stars's houses and arrest them for having bad albums in their collection....plus loads more stuff. Enough to give this 5 stars even though I don't like the toy-puppet sketches, basically.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adam and Joe best of dvd, 22 July 2007
By 
This review is from: The Adam and Joe DVD [DVD] (DVD)
I agree with Red Rob. Where are the dvds with the whole series on??! This is so utterly disappointing and crap that words escape me. Feel free to insert more wailing and complaining and sniffles here -->.
Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stephen!, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Adam and Joe DVD [DVD] (DVD)
Lolly, lolly bit 'o beef serva up to Willy and Katie. If you were a princess wha' kind 'o princess wud dyou boy?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Loved the radio Podcasts with my teenage kids so thought would delve back into the archives., 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Adam and Joe DVD [DVD] (DVD)
Only trouble is series one is noticeably smuttier and definitely by and for teenagers. Starts to get properly funny at series two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars bizaree, 16 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Adam and Joe DVD [DVD] (DVD)
The clips from the first three series are superb and the Rober de Niro song is unforgetable ( evn if you would like to!) The laters series are dull and generic - bring back the toys boys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My boyfriend loves it!, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Adam and Joe DVD [DVD] (DVD)
My boyfriend is a big Adam and Joe fan...lost his VHS copy a while ago so was chuffed when he got this for his birthday!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Adam and Joe, 4 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Adam and Joe DVD [DVD] (DVD)
Not as funny as when I originally saw it on TV but the home improvement spoof still makes me laugh
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Adam and Joe DVD  [DVD]
The Adam and Joe DVD [DVD] by Joe Cornish (DVD - 2006)
£3.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews