Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars36
4.0 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 March 2011
Ok, try to put yourself in a 1950's mind set (and close your eyes to certain low-budget zippers and things).
A little kid looks out a window, and sees something
crashing in the gravel pit behind his house.....
And afterwards he realizes that the people in his
life space are no longer the same. A great film, with
an ending on the creepy side.... according to
the little booklet which came with the DVD (an excellent idea), the
author of the story didn't like the way the film finishes, and had his name taken
off the credits......He shouldn't have.
With the original "Invasion of the Body Snatchers," "Invaders from Mars" is one of the best of the 50s
Sci-fi films.....
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2012
Presentation of this release is fine - nice booklet, clever information cards - and the alternative USA and UK versions with the switched climaxes.
BUT it is let down by the print quality. The box claims a 'brand new digital transfer' well, that comes complete with vertical,white scratch marks(tram-lines)
often right down the centre of the image with other blotches around.
Many years ago, I had a feature length print - on Super 8 home movie film(released by Mountain Films UK) - with not a scratch or mark in sight !
So - the booklet claims "This is how America first saw the picture" . . .
I think not . . .!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2009
This Region One disc includes both the U.S. and British versions of the movie and an illustrated collector's booklet. It claims a brand new digital transfer but lines and flashes are still evident, this being a very old movie (this didn't bother me at all). There is also a theatrical trailer and a still gallery. A young boy is awakened during a storm and sees a UFO land near his home. His father (Leif Erickson-went onto play Big John Cannon in The High Chaparral) is abducted and is fitted with an alien implant (this in 1953!). His father and others are controlled by the aliens through their implants and the movie develops at a cracking pace from thereon. The British version is longer (everything is on one disc). This is because the movie was considered too short for a British cinema release and the ending also deemed as inappropriate. You will notice that sometime had elapsed before the extra footage was shot and consequently the actor (Jimmy Hunt) playing the boy was older and somewhat taller in the extended planetarium scene. This scene also includes reference to a famous UFO incident, not mentioned in the U.S. version. I prefer the British ending which seemed more reasonable but I won't spoil anything for you. Well worth buying this 50th Anniversary Special Edition. Sorry, there are no subtitles for either version of the movie.
11 comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 May 2006
Be sure to notice all the standard Sci-fi actors and even the Beaver's mother "Kelston's Secretary" (Barbara Billingsley).

This movie was well done with just the right amount of spookiness and has a kid's perspective on what is happening. This is not a kid is smarter than his/her parents movie. There are lots of strange happenings and lots of tension. I will not go into the details as if you have not seen the movie it is more fun to be surprised.

Right from the beginning Little David MacLean sees a flying saucer land in the sandpit behind the house. He tells his parents. They being good parents check it out for him and naturally find nothing out of the ordinary. Maybe he had a nightmare or maybe the nightmare is just beginning as everyone starts acting strange and only David can sound the alarm.

What would you do? Where is Col. Fielding when you need him?
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2011
A young astronomer witnesses the arrival of a flying saucer in the wilds outside his house one night. His father goes to investigate and returns a very different man. Before long it is evident people are being taken into the underground saucer and put under alien control. But who will believe this lad's fantastic story?

Forget "Invasion of the Body Snatchers". This is a masterpiece of sci-fi. It captures excellently the threatening, imposing world from the viewpoint of a small boy, combined with classic "reds under the beds" paranoia. What really holds this film above the majority of other similar films of the 1950s and 60s are the genuinely unnerving atmosphere, the superb acting (for example, witness the first victim's transformation from caring family guy to icy conspirator and the creepy little girl who tries to burn down her family home), the attention to detail, the cerebral story and of course the aliens themselves. They are voiceless and underplayed, and therefore come across as memorably sinister.

This DVD set comes with the original US and the extended British version (the one with the proper ending which strangely isn't available in Britain). There's also a collector's booklet.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2009
Please don't hammer me for giving this 3 stars, bear with me. This is NOT a review of the movie (which would be a 5 star review), it is a review of the DVD, which just ain't brilliant.

Firstly, I was hoping for some sort of cleaned-up, remastered picture. What I got instead was something which has had no effort put into it. In some places the picture is pretty terrible. Sound quality is ok, but could have done with a clean-up too.

This film has two different versions (including two completely different endings) for the UK and US. This DVD presents the film with the US version, and the UK extra bits (including the re-shot ending) are shoved on as an Extra. This is good I guess, but would branching really have been that difficult? I think that's what happened with the Region 1 version??

The poorer picture and sound thankfully do not detract TOO much from the enjoyment of the movie, but I just think this is a film that needs way more attention than it's getting. A Collector's edition would be an absolute treat, for this movie which is strangely relevant in a post 9/11 world, if you pick it apart.

In conclusion, the movie is great but the DVD is merely OK.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2014
One of the greatest of those 1950's Sci-Fi films speculating on space aliens existing and what would happen if the come to pay Earth a visit. This one, in impressive full color and good athmosphere, well played out in a solid story line was as good as it gets. Currently of course such productions can be created with more spectacular effects using our modern techniques, but never the less, this is about as good as it can get for a good space invasion story. A classic to be recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2010
This is a genuine Sci-fi classic, and i enjoyed it as much today as i did when i first saw it on television when i was a child.

I would recommend this movie to anyone who loves sct-fi movies, from before everything was created digitally, back when special effects were made rather than thought up on a computer.

If you get the chance buy this DVD,
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2010
This is the original classic which famouslyt showed a headless alien entity, good special effects and people disappearing under the sand and all mitnessed by a boy who is unable to prove it.

Remade in 1986 this film still remains a classic tale of fearing those people next door. It was a sort of forerunner to Invasion of the Body Snatchers.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2009
I had been searching for this film for ages, having seen it many years ago in the telly. It did not disappoint and is a classic Sci Fi film. OK some of the characters are a bit rubbery, but that was what classic Sci Fi was. It left things to your imagination and put you in that place in the living room that early Dr Who put you.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.