Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


68 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Movies Stunts and Effects Expansion ASIN: B000F3NWE8
I went to the Warrington Film Festival 8th April 2006. Lionhead had Stunts and Effects available to play on.
The tycoon past of the game has been improved on. But I played mostly the movie making side of it.
There are a lot of improvements from The Movies game. You now have a free camera. Which can be placed where you like. It can also do sweeping shots between...
Published on 9 April 2006 by Mr. R. J. Strange-Burlong

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It was OK...
... but I don't think it's that good. It's cool to get more scenes, clothing and that kind of stuff, but The Movies is good with or without this...
Published on 3 Oct 2010 by Anna-Sofie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

68 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Movies Stunts and Effects Expansion ASIN: B000F3NWE8, 9 April 2006
By 
Mr. R. J. Strange-Burlong "Roger" (Eastbourne, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Movies: Stunts & Effects Expansion Pack (PC CD-ROM) (Video Game)
I went to the Warrington Film Festival 8th April 2006. Lionhead had Stunts and Effects available to play on.
The tycoon past of the game has been improved on. But I played mostly the movie making side of it.
There are a lot of improvements from The Movies game. You now have a free camera. Which can be placed where you like. It can also do sweeping shots between points 1 and 2, which you can choose their position.
There is a blue screen and green screen now. Blue screen allows you to have backdrops including custom made ones. As well as different floor textures. The screen screen has the backdrop options too. But it has a side screen which makes it appear as if it is moving continually. I saw a helicopter that appeared to be flying above a road. I also saw a spaceship that looked as if it went through hyperspace.
There is also a parrelex set, where you can get say a helicopter or more if you desire to fly between buildings.
There are new sets, Jungle, commercial street, sci-fi corridors including no 5, plus several more.
There are new costumes, hairstyles, backdrops, music, scenes.
Advanced movie maker is now easier to use, also the free cam is easy to use, I found it very natural. But if you prefer the pre shot scenes, you can still do that too.
There is a minature city, which has car chase scenes, helicopter and spaceship scenes. Like a mothership hovering above the city.
From the perspective of making movies with Stunts and Effects, your creative options are now almost limitless. What I saw just blew me away. I can not wait for this to be released, it is totally awesome. You can make your own movies, that can actually look very good.
I was the second person to play the game, and the first person to use the free cam. Whatever you here about this game, can not do justice to how good it actually is.
This is the best game I have ever played, by far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally!, 6 April 2006
This review is from: The Movies: Stunts & Effects Expansion Pack (PC CD-ROM) (Video Game)
The first expansion pack from Lionhead Studios for the underappreciated, 2005 title: The Movies.
This time around you'll be building up your studio with all new sets including a minature city, blue/green backdrop CGI - custom scenes, Japanese gardens, Spy settings and more. Behind the scenes you'll be given the chance of training and exploiting a team of stunt experts and advancing in the latest special effects technology. While you juggle your cash with producing movies, and looking after your cast, you'll be given more options than ever before.
Not only from new scenes and sets, more options are available to add an even more distinctive stamp on your movies. Due to fan outroars, finally one of the most sought modes is available: Free Camera! You'll be able to literally take your shots from any angle, in any motion or direction you want!
This expansion, along with added content, expands on the eye candy with new particle effects shown off by the new stunts and effects package, that feature the ability to add high speed car chases, and air chases! Catastrophic explosions and the most insane stunts you could put any actor through.
The expansion not only explores more depths to the movie industry, but opens the oppotunities for all gamers to create the true movie they've been waiting to make.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hollywood, watch out!, 18 Jun 2007
By 
D. Climo - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Movies: Stunts & Effects Expansion Pack (PC CD-ROM) (Video Game)
I must say when I first got the original 'Movies' simulator for the PC I was very dissappointed as it only seemed to allow you to create films that the game already had the basic plot for. In other words you couldn't create films with plotlines from your own imagination. However I was soon proved to be wrong as you soon unlock the Intermediate Scriptwriting office that allows you to do that. Because of that I was glad that I didn't turn my back on this game.

Then I soon felt even more like a Director when this expansion pack came out. This expansion pack allows you not only to unlock brand new sets and vehicles/props and costumes etc but also allows you to do your own blockbuster stunts for your films. Since then I have made many epics ranging from comic book themes to horror and spoofs and I intend to make many more films. You can only make films that are about 20-30 mins max because they take up a fair bit of memory space but don't let that put you off, if you want to make films of your own get both the original Movies as well as this expansion pack for 100% pure fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Game i've played yet!, 9 Feb 2007
By 
Andrew Skelhorn "Sophie 16" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Movies: Stunts & Effects Expansion Pack (PC CD-ROM) (Video Game)
The stunts part of this is boring and annoying BUT the free cam is GREAT! Your movies are much easier to make look the way you want and the extra costumes and haristyles add way more to the game. I also loved the set that makes it look like you being chased by a plane or UFO :) If you loved the movies there is NO reason not to buy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lights,camera,Action, 20 Mar 2007
By 
Andrew Wright (u.k.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Movies: Stunts & Effects Expansion Pack (PC CD-ROM) (Video Game)
This movies game is amazing, you can chose from a number of stunts from, slipping on a banana to a 2 wheeler car crash, its just the same as the first game when you make the movies but the upper hand is that you can high stunt men/ woman to fill in for your actors wen a stunt is needed.

but i must worn you, you must train you stunt men up before you give them a stunt to do because if there status is low in exsperiance and the stunt you want them to do is the highest one in the game,you will lose points towards your movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars make it happen, 17 July 2006
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Movies: Stunts & Effects Expansion Pack (PC CD-ROM) (Video Game)
i loved the movies i think it is genuinly a ground breaking game even though you needed quite a powerful computer to play at any real level.This adds so much that was missing the explosions and more violence and action to all your films.Adds so much more depth and fun to creating your master pieces even though i personally find game quite difficult i do love it and love the thrill of making the movies

top drawer you got the movies buy this you havent buy the movies then buy this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Makes the original look pants!, 3 Sep 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Movies: Stunts & Effects Expansion Pack (PC CD-ROM) (Video Game)
The Movies is nothing without the stunt and effects expansion pack. Had some hilarious fun playing around with the movie maker/lip syncing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Movies, Stunts and Effects, 25 Aug 2011
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Movies: Stunts & Effects Expansion Pack (PC CD-ROM) (Video Game)
Players of The Movies can now bring their studio lot up to date thanks to the Stunts & Effects expansion pack. While it doesn't quite give you WETA at your fingertips, it does introduce stuntmen (and women), new sets, action movies, and includes enhancements to the movie making tool that shipped with the original game. All this integrates into the game rather seamlessly, and after a while you'll wonder how you ever got by without it.

Stuntmen function in pretty much the same way as the actors you employ, so you'll have to build training facilities, pick the suitable stuntman for the role, and even send them to hospital every now and again in order for their rather battered and bruised bodies to recover. As with every aspect of The Movies, the goal is to do things before your competitors, and the expansion introduces stunts and special effects into the mix. Whether it's the use of 'Blue Screen' technology or filming in a miniature set, doing so in a film released before that of another studio will earn the movie great reviews and bring in large amounts of cash.

Stunts & Effects is an expansion, and therefore will only be of interest to fans of the original game, and as such does its job of extending the game pretty well. The new sets, vehicles and costumes add another element to the movie making pie, and while the same old problems remain, the gameplay is as engrossing as ever. Wannabe movie makers will also find their lives taken away from them thanks to the newly improved movie making tool. Could The Movies live without Stunts & Effects? Probably, but it's more entertaining thanks to the additions found in the expansion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It was OK..., 3 Oct 2010
By 
Anna-Sofie (Denmark, Odder) - See all my reviews
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Movies: Stunts & Effects Expansion Pack (PC CD-ROM) (Video Game)
... but I don't think it's that good. It's cool to get more scenes, clothing and that kind of stuff, but The Movies is good with or without this...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Movies: Stunts & Effects Expansion Pack (PC CD-ROM)
Used & New from: £11.02
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews