Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Edita Regina
This is a total triumph – one of the most brilliant opera DVDs I’ve ever watched. The story is updated from the court of Elizabeth I to the “court” of Margaret Thatcher (sort of). The plot is otherwise unchanged and the whole thing works superbly well.

It’s obviously a star vehicle for Edita Gruberova, who is on superb form. All...
Published 12 months ago by David Garrett

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars WHAT A SHAME
The music is wonderful; the singers are exceptional BUT it is supposed to be Elizabeth I not Margaret Thatcher. They made a mess of the stage production. Whoever suggested to set the opera in a dark bus station deserves to be sent to the Tower and decapitated.
Published on 31 Oct. 2010 by Kitty


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Edita Regina, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roberto Devereux: Bavarian State Opera (Haider) [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
This is a total triumph – one of the most brilliant opera DVDs I’ve ever watched. The story is updated from the court of Elizabeth I to the “court” of Margaret Thatcher (sort of). The plot is otherwise unchanged and the whole thing works superbly well.

It’s obviously a star vehicle for Edita Gruberova, who is on superb form. All her normal mannerisms are present, of course, but I found her performance completely riveting – especially the final “meltdown” scene, which is exhilarating. The singing, acting and direction all come together to produce an unforgettable climax to a very dramatic opera.

The other singers were all new to me, but all are superb, especially Jeanne Piland and Albert Schagidullin as the Nottinghams. The whole is extremely well directed, with the series of dramatic confrontations very well realized. I don’t normally like extraneous business being added to operas, but here the addition of the silent character of James I is a stroke of genius. His final smirk as he becomes king is one of the many unforgettable images from the production. The orchestra is conducted with great spirit by Friedrich Haider (Gruberova’s husband) – bringing out all the drama in the score.

The only slight negative is the set – basically a large wood-panelled room with some ugly leather furniture. It works well in the “court” scenes – basically an antechamber in the Parliament – but less well as the Nottinghams’ house or Roberto’s dungeon. However I found that I was so riveted by the singing/acting that I wasn’t really looking at the sets much.

For anyone who is not got to be put off by the updating, I cannot recommend this highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars non regno... non vivo, 19 Dec. 2008
By 
Barrie Scott (Sutton Coldfield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Roberto Devereux: Bavarian State Opera (Haider) [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
This is a superb dvd of the Munich production of this Donizetti opera. Gruberova does not disappoint, and gives a splendid interpretation of the title role, which she makes her own. If you like Gruberova, you will love this. If you don't like Gruberova, this could well convert you...
A modern production, with Thatcherite overtones... which work quite well, if you're not too attached to the big frilly collars of the more usual Tudor Queens!
Good sound quality, and pretty good supporting cast, with Haider on good form in the pit. The closing scene will make you gasp with Gruberova's vocal technique and dramatic flair. Worth it just for that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Didn't quite work for me., 13 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roberto Devereux: Bavarian State Opera (Haider) [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Having watched Gruberova's grotesque performance on the Lucrezia Borgia dvd, I approached this with some trepidation but I was won over by her spectacular assumption of the role of Elizabeth I surely one of the most dramatic roles Donizetti ever wrote for the soprano and indeed the whole work packs power. Where this falls down for me is the production which is set in Thatcherite Britain (is Elizabeth meant to represent Mrs T herself?).The costumes make a nonsense of the text and the set reminded me of a large and shabby waiting room at a train station. If you want to enjoy or get to know this exciting work without visual distraction then you would be better off in investing in the Opera Rara cd with Nelly Miracou as a truly majestic Elizabeth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great interpretation, 16 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roberto Devereux: Bavarian State Opera (Haider) [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
The cast is very appropriate with the roles for each character and the staging is inspired, though with some naturalistic accents in depicting the raw reality. As a whole, I think that this production can be considered a milestone achievement .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent., 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roberto Devereux: Bavarian State Opera (Haider) [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
A fine recording of a rarely performed work. The whole cast is on top form and an ecxcellent production. Overall highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars WHAT A SHAME, 31 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roberto Devereux: Bavarian State Opera (Haider) [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
The music is wonderful; the singers are exceptional BUT it is supposed to be Elizabeth I not Margaret Thatcher. They made a mess of the stage production. Whoever suggested to set the opera in a dark bus station deserves to be sent to the Tower and decapitated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roberto Devereux: Bavarian State Opera (Haider) [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Roberto Devereux: Bavarian State Opera (Haider) [DVD] [2006]
£15.23
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews