Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Collection!
This album is an excellent collection of songs. From hilarious covers to spine tingling live versions of already well known songs. There are too many highlights to mention, my personal favorite being Corinne Bailey Rae's version of the Editor's song 'Munich'. Jo Whiley deserves a special mention for the creation of this album. Go ahead & buy it, you won't regret it.
Published on 28 Nov 2006 by J. L. Godbehere

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Will you ever listen to it?
I enjoyed Jo Whiley's Live Lounges. However, I think that although i enjoyed them, and they're interesting, they're not perfect. and I never really want to listen to them on my iPod or even at home. They're good, and definitely good enough to listen to more than once, but I don't think they have the long-lasting factor.
But on compilations you're always going to get...
Published on 15 Oct 2009 by L. Bartleet


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing song collections with life, humour and soul., 12 Jan 2007
By 
pepemia (scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Radio 1's Live Lounge (Audio CD)
This album is amazing. I rarely buy cd's as there are so few new albumns I think are woth spending my money on. However this is very different. From first listen its music at its best and there are songs for everyone. Its quirkiness is in the covers that the artists have recorded.At first listen you are knocked sideways trying to figure out what groups singing, whose song there singing and being amazed at some of the qualitys of the covers ( some are FAR better than the originals).There is also a lot of good humour in some of the song choices, the best being the Artic Monkeys covering of girls aloud " Love machine ", you can hear the singer laughing as he records it and sings " your my man and I need you tonight ". However it is a really great version and miles better than girls aloud. There are other unusal combinations like Boy kill boy version of maneater, Lemar version of the darkenss. Some work realy well and some dont but thay are all intereasting. Their are also some amazing combinations on this album with some more serious songs like Keanes version of U2.It also proves how great some of the artists are by making a lot of cover songs their own ,for example Will young delivers a great version of Hey ya that sounds like it always has been a Will young song. Despite mostly being covers this sounds really fresh and like brand new great songs. I can guarantee you will be listening to it again and again- absolutely terrific.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CD, 6 Dec 2009
By 
Ms. A. J. Tinkler (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Radio 1's Live Lounge (Audio CD)
I am a big fan of the live lounge so this was a good buy, the song choices are amazing and good to hear them sang differently, just try it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some great surprises, 14 Aug 2009
By 
C. Henley-calvert "Conrad HC" (Country NSW, Aus) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Radio 1's Live Lounge (Audio CD)
I bought this for a single track; a cover that I heard played in a pub recently. It was very different from the original. I was very pleased to discover that the two CDs were full of such gems. Not being in the UK now, it was virtually all new to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Something a bit different, 31 May 2007
This review is from: Radio 1's Live Lounge (Audio CD)
There is a word which describes this CD and really does it justice: Outstanding. This CD has been compiled with a handful of tracks that you may have heard while listening to the Radio 1 live lounge sessions. Some of which are covers (for example The Arctic Monkeys cover of Love Machine - originally by Girld Aloud) and others are just live versions of original songs (i.e Golden Touch by razorlight).

If you buy this CD you certainly won't regret your decision. I have had this CD now for about 3 months and must have found myself listening to it at least once every other day, it really is that good. But the fact that there is a 50 cent song on the album is quite a let down - it just doesn't seem to fit in with the other songs, most of which are indie, rock, or acoustic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It was definitely worth the wait!, 21 Oct 2006
By 
Tom "Ginge" (Southampton, England-the greatest) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Radio 1's Live Lounge (Audio CD)
When Jo Whiley announced that there would be a live lounge album coming out I couldn't wait!

The live lounge is one of the best things to come out of the BBC and Radio1, where else would you get to here your favourite bands and artists doing covers of some of your other favourite bands and artists.

Where else could you hear the Arctic Monkeys doing a cover of Girls Alouds's Love Machine?...brilliant!

We have had to wait a while but it has certainly been worth it!

If you love the live lounge then get this album!Even if you have never heard it before but just like music you cannot afford not to have this album in your collection!

It's just brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Gold, 16 Nov 2007
By 
Darryl Curtis "Max" (Shepperton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Radio 1's Live Lounge (Audio CD)
I am gutted cos I have lost one of the CDs in this amazing double album. Even with one CD is is TOPS. My favorites are Lemar singing the Darkness Track, and James Blunt singing Lemar..... as I said Pure Gold!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Some great songs but patchy in places, 9 Jan 2007
By 
James Andrew - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Radio 1's Live Lounge (Audio CD)
What you get here is a mixture of live tracks by a variety of pop and indie acts. The first disc starts well with an acoustic version of Foo Fighters' DOA followed by an entertaining cover of the Girls Aloud song "Love Machine" performed by Artic Monkeys. Then there is a mixture of songs most of which are too similar to their album counterparts to be of particular interest sadly but all is forgiven when you reach the hilarious cover of Kanye West's "Gold Digger" by The Automatic. This is a must hear if you haven't already!

However the second disc is a bit disappointing with very few interesting covers apart from Franz Ferdinand's cover of Gwen Stefani's "What Are You Waiting For?" which suits the band so well you'd be forgiven for thinking they wrote it in the first place.

Overall this is a good CD to put as background music and has a handful of real gems, however if you are looking for something more consistent that you will listen to again and again, look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful compilation, 24 Oct 2007
By 
Love Books "Jessie" (Durham, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Radio 1's Live Lounge (Audio CD)
This album is sheer listening pleasure from beginning to end and it makes me proud of the institution that is Radio One! There are some brilliant covers, the most outstanding being Embrace's version of 'How Come' which has been transformed into the most beautiful, heart-rending song and you realise just how good D12's lyrics are. There are also some funny covers, we really like the Artic Monkeys cover of Love Machine. It's all brilliant, and put together so very well. Great value for money too. You won't regret buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Word - Incredible!, 14 Dec 2006
By 
SimonP (Wolverhampton) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Radio 1's Live Lounge (Audio CD)
Wow, this album is literally incredible! The acoustic live feel to it throughout really gives all the songs a fantastic quality. As for the covers that artists have done on others songs though, they are just so good and completely transform old favourites.

The best one on the album has to be Will Young's cover of Outkasts Hey Ya! It is just amazing! I love most of the songs on the album to be honest - other greats though include Lemar's cover of I believe in a thing called love by the darkness, Hard-Fi with Tied Up Too Tight, and Editors All Sparks.

Really though, I definately recommend getting this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Covers and Classics, 19 Oct 2006
By 
R. Mullaney (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Radio 1's Live Lounge (Audio CD)
Many of you will already be familiar with 'The Live Lounge' as featured on Jo Wiley's show on BBC Radio 1. Artists are invited to perform live on air and more often than not they will treat listeners to a cover version of a song from the most unlikely inspiration.

This double CD features 40 of the best Live Lounge moments and contains some real gems. The Queens of the Stone Age do an acoustic version of their hit 'No-one Knows', The Kooks cover Gnarls Barkleys 'Crazy', Franz Ferdinand cover Gwen Stefani's 'What You Waiting For?' and Jamelia does a suprisingly good cover of Linkin Park's 'Numb'. There are also tracks by the Arctic Mokeys, Mylo, Outkast and an excellent version of Kanye West's 'Gold Digger' by The Automatic.

Like This? Try: Cosmosonica: Tom Middleton Presents Crazy Covers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Radio 1's Live Lounge
Radio 1's Live Lounge by Various (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews