Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rockin the Blues, 13 Sep 2010
By 
Grayzee66 (Colchester, Essex) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lovehunter (Remastered / Expanded) (Audio CD)
Originally released in 1979, it seemed David Coverdale cared little for the Punk that was dominating the music scene. Opening track "Long Way From Home" sets out Whitesnake's intentions, a good mid paced rocker, great bass lines with plenty of organ fills, for me "Walking In The Shadow Of The Blues" is what Whitesnake are all about, hard driving Blues based rock. "Help Me Thro'The Day" is a slow burner, "Medicine Man" could be a Deep Purple outtake but for the twin guitar work, "You 'N' Me" is a straight ahead rock track, "Mean Business" is up tempo cock rock, this leads onto "Lovehunter" for me the second best track on the album, with a great slide solo, "Outlaw" is ok, "Rock 'N' Roll Women" is blunt and to the point, but essentially this is Whitesnake. Original album closer "We Wish You Well" just really is one of the greatest farewell songs ever. The bonus tracks are from Andy Pebbles Radio 1 session recorded in March 1979, the stand out track is Whitesnakes version of the Bobby Bland song "Ain't No Love In The Heart Of The City" a true epic, "Trouble" concludes the bonus tracks with some memorable vocals and guitar work, Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Whitesnake on the verge of the big time!!, 25 April 2002
By 
Mr. Illya G. Simpson "igsimpson" (Isle of Wight) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lovehunter (Audio CD)
I love this album, it has got so many great things about it, the only thing it lacks is Ian Paice on the drums, but the drummer (one Duck Dowel) makes a very good noise on the round chair. There are several highlights on this album, the first just has to be the sleeve, beautiful art work that sets the tone for this, and many more Whitesnake albums to come. The album then opens with what I belive to be its best track. Long Way From Home, just oozes class, great tune and fantastic words, also serves as a reminder that David Coverdale was not only blessed with one (if not the) greatest rock/blues voices ever, but he was also a very capable songwriter, this song also shows that you can sing about your love for a woman without mentioning things like loveguns, honey pots and so on..... Track 2, is Walking in the Shadow of the Blues, this is a real Whitesnake classic, it says a lot about the band and its future direction, it is also a thouroughly great tune. Help me thro' the day is often refered to as a "filler" I disagree, i think this in one of the stronger tracks on the album, a damn fine slowie! Medicine Man is the usual rock and roll, doctors and nurses, "ive got some medicine for you, would it be too much trouble if I was to inject it into you baby" type of thing, but it really works, also has great backing vocals. side one of the album finishes with You & Me, again great melody and some nice guitar work a worthwhile finish to side one. Side two wastes no time getting up to speed with the intollerably fast, and fantasticly funky Mean Business, I just love the lines "Dont you knock on my door if you dont want an answer, give me a beat if you dont wanna dance aaa!" Just great. The title track, is yet another timeless Whitesnake track, almost sounds like it was written with the big croud sing-along in mind that it was enventually destined for. Outlaw, is I think the weakest song on the album, but it is nice to hear Bernie Marsden sing a whole song to himself, and he has a very good voice. Rock & Roll women is pretty much what you would expect from a song of this title (sounds a bit like Status Quo to me). Just to round the album off there is the one minuite wonder "We wish you well" it is such a shame that the boys never invented a nother verse or two and a piano or guitar break for this song, it is such a great tune, it really deserved another few minuites. All in all I think this album is one of the best individual Whitesnake albums you can buy, it is a big improvement on "Trouble" and a good mood setter for "Ready & Willing" that was to follow. That is the great thing with Whitesnake, all of thier albums seem to pick up where the last one left off, and listented to as a sieries of albums shows that the were one of the most consistent rock bands of our era. If you are thinking of this album as your first Whitesnake, its not a bad introduction, but try "Ready & Willing", "Come & Get it" or "Slide it in" first, then buy this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Walkin' in the shadow of....no one!!, 19 July 2010
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lovehunter (Remastered / Expanded) (Audio CD)
Aaaaah the memories,my mums face when i strolled in with this album under my arm back in the vinyl days,great stuff,to pee your parents off and you havent even played it a full volume yet,ha ha.

That was then,this is now and another remaster,the production on this album always sounded thin to me,the remaster just enhances that and at times its a bit shrill,trebly particularly up loud,at the time Coverdale hated it,said it should have been an E.P and wanted to redo the drums when Ian Paice joined,it wasnt to be and poor old David Dowle was shown the door after the albums completion

However its a great album and the class is obvious another step up from the previous release,the album opens with a classic one ,two of 'Long Long Way From Home' and 'Walkin' In The Shadow Of The Blues',two of the finest tracks penned by the band,the former another one of those classic sing along feel good tracks Coverdale was so good at while the latter just motors along the classic groove and makes you want to punch your fist in the air,fabulous stuff.Up next a lost gem,the soulful ballad 'Help Me Thru The Day' which allows David Coverdale to show he's blessed with a fantastic voice.

The rest of the album is split between classic rockers such as 'Medicine Man','You N Me',the decidedly average 'Mean Business',2 underated tracks,the Bernie Marsden sung 'Outlaw' and the Quo Riffery of 'Rock n Roll Women' alongside the epic title track 'Love Hunter' best track on the album and the short ballad 'We Wish You Well'

Bonus tracks are from a radio 1 session,i'd never heard of,superb renditions of 'Belgian Toms Hat Trick','Love To Keep You Warm','Aint No Love....' and 'Trouble',the three tracks from '78's Trouble album sounded tougher in the live setting with another superb rendition of 'Aint No Love...',did he ever not sing it superbly?

The remaster booklet as ever is smothered in photos although its a bit harsh to have Ian Paice everywhere to the exclusion of David Dowle who's almost airbrushed out of existance.Another must buy disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars He's a Lovehunter, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovehunter (Remastered / Expanded) (Audio CD)
Coverdale is a genius at writing words and music and this is good example of his earlier times, and it is a good album with some very good tracks, but it has never been my favourite, but always has ben worth listening to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovehunter (Remastered / Expanded) (Audio CD)
I Would recommend this CD to a Friend.This is my Era,Wonderful Headbanging Music. Just love the front Cover as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Early whitesnake rocker, 21 Jun 2013
By 
H. Oram - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovehunter (Remastered / Expanded) (Audio CD)
Whitesnake's second album. A couple of classic songs mixed with a few album fillers. It's great to have the bonus tracks such as 'heart of the city'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Second the Best, 12 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovehunter (Remastered / Expanded) (Audio CD)
I Love this album its so good its mind boggling from the artwork down to the lyrics,

the best track for me is probably the opener as well like other reviewer, the bass guitar playing on this album is still good a bit less complicated sounding and bit more laid back which suits the bluesrock of Whitesnake, The drums are also awesome I think the drum production is a little bit less thin on this album its nice and dry though, the guitar work is exciting to listen to if thats a word I can use to describe guitar playing, there is a hint of the more metal style they would take on later albums, the crooning soulful voice of the best blues rock vocalist in history is to die for, he croons, he sings, he wails and generally just makes you wish yo had pipes like his, Excellent, don't forget the organ playing too everyone always forgets the organ on Out law there is a really nice little organ solo.

one the remaster you get a nice four track live e.p from the radio 1 sessions which includessome songs form this album and trouble in cluding the well known ain't know love in the heart of the city Walking in the shadow of the blues is another
top song its so good and it shows they have respect for their roots

Album artwork

the album artwork is such a classy piece of art yes its could be called 'sexist' or anything else but its not its just a women right but naked on agiant snake and suits the album almost perfectly.

top album and a must own for any rock fan A proper classic album it should be more classic than it gets credit for like in a 1001 albums you must hear type classic I do like it that much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Top Snake, 10 May 2010
This review is from: Lovehunter (Audio CD)
Countless seed has been shed over the Chris Achilleos artwork on the cover with big tiited, big buttocked rock bitch straddling a massive snake. I wonder what that represented?! The albums every bit as good, capturing Coverdale's most sucessful post Pruple venture in the early, hungry days. Moody & Marsden absolutely dazzle with the excellent guitar interplay. Hidden gems like ballad Help Me Through the Day and Marsden penned & sung Outlaw complement better known tracks brilliantly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovehunter (Remastered / Expanded) (Audio CD)
Many Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 4 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovehunter (Remastered / Expanded) (Audio CD)
Magic Album nuff said. Can't believe we are approaching 35 years since it's release. Bonus tracks are excellent & favourites from other LP'S. Cover was always controversial - how would our PC society nowadays comment on it - debate please??????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lovehunter (Remastered / Expanded)
Lovehunter (Remastered / Expanded) by Whitesnake (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews