Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


69 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He's simply the best. The world has lost a master.
Santa at last gave me this DVD, although the Santa looked not unlike me. As with Rory Gallagher Live at the Rock Palast (see my review), this collection of elctrifying performances once again sets the standard that others should aspire to, although many of them clearly do not even try.

Those of you familiar with Rory know the score. The first concerts contain...
Published on 26 Dec. 2006 by Mr. Thomas Thatcher

versus
1 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rory Gallagher - Live At Montreux
I am sorry but as a long time Rory fan this is awful poor video and terrible audio with drop out all through. I do not recommend this DVD it is more likely to put people off Rory than encourage them. I am very disapointed with this DVd set.
Published on 9 July 2006 by Colin Tinker


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

69 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He's simply the best. The world has lost a master., 26 Dec. 2006
By 
Mr. Thomas Thatcher "Tom Thatcher" (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Montreux Collection [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Santa at last gave me this DVD, although the Santa looked not unlike me. As with Rory Gallagher Live at the Rock Palast (see my review), this collection of elctrifying performances once again sets the standard that others should aspire to, although many of them clearly do not even try.

Those of you familiar with Rory know the score. The first concerts contain the ultimate Rory line-up of Gerry McAvoy, Lou Martin and Rod De'Ath, the latter being surely among the few top rock drummers ever. The first three concerts, from '75, '77 and '79 are really exciting and brilliant, with Laundromat from the 75 concert being one of the best live performances I have ever seen. As most of you know, Rory didn't like pedals or effects at all, so one has many opportunities to see how he uses the tone and volume controls on the guitar with his right hand to produce the sounds he wants, plus a whole variety of "pick" harmonics and use of amp/guitar.

I cannot single out any particular track becuse they are all exceptional, and perhaps Rory's exuberant rendition of his hero Muddy Waters' Garbage Man sums up the band and the man: Rory adored urban and country blues and always considered that the proponents, Muddy, Blind Boy Fuller, BB King, Freddie King and so on were in a different league. Not so. Rory brought back the exciting blast of music that was made to be danced to and to be celebrated that somehow got lost in many of the po-faced purist interpreters. We should remember that Robert Johnson, for example, played for dances and weddings and in juke joints, not in a sterile "I got de blooze" atmosphere.

I have to say that the last full concert shows a Rory that saddens me. Of course he's better than most peole will ever be, of course he loves it and gives it his all - but he looks ill and his hands have liver spots. How guilty do we all feel that Rory sat alone in a dismal flat in London for a couple of years, virtually unvisited, and the year after this he was to die? How sad is it that all those who eulogised him after his death (no names, but you two know who you are) never mentioned him when he was alive or even half-alive? All those Irish rock concerts with the dreaded U2, the dreaded Van Morrison, the dreaded Water Boys and the dreaded Sinead O'Connor - but no mention of Rory.

No, Rory was not about striking attitudes, or being a professionally rude and grumpy grumpy rock star or saving the world, or insulting public figures with the cover of fame to protect him. He was about playing the best, most exciting rock and blues ever and this DVD confirms it with no further words needed. How in God's name all those who claim to have been influenced by Rory can say that, when their playing is so anodyne and lacking in real feeling is beyond me. As always, the viewer is left with a huge sense of loss that Rory died so young, a victim, ultimately, of the grape and the barley.

The world lost one of its greatest players and, importantly, nicest and kindest people in 1995: thank God these tapes are surfacing so that others can see what it was like to be in the presence of a master. He didn't change the world, he just made it better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dynamite!, 4 Sept. 2006
By 
This review is from: The Definitive Montreux Collection [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
This DVD is as good as it can get without rolling the clock back and actually being there at a live Gallagher gig. That said, I have to say that for me the early stuff from the three seventies concerts is the best since that's how I remember the man in his prime. He also looks, sounds, and performs like the possessed dynamo he was, spitting out the blues and leading his band like a true pro - just study the version of "Laundromat" from 1977 and the incredible "I Take What I Want" from 1977 and you'll see and hear what I mean.Apart from the brilliant playing, his body language and general movement on stage reveal the exlosive electricity of a Rory Gallagher concert in those now far-off times and still gives me goose pimples! The later stuff is fine, although the last bit, a year before his death, makes me feel a bit sad on seeing his physical deterioration. The sound quality and the playing are excellent throughout, and the DVD menu is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rorys Legacy, 1 Sept. 2006
This review is from: The Definitive Montreux Collection [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I always wanted to see Rory Gallagher live,but DVD,s like this fulfilled that desire at least some of the way,there,s 5 or 6 concerts from the Montreux jazz festival here, i wanted to see the 1994 gig first because i think Rory just got better and better through the years,"Let,s go to work" says Rory at the start of 'Continental op' a great blues/rock number which sees him expertly pull his slide out of his back pocket for the solo,there,s a new band with him here,a right bunch of characters,a nutty bass player and a keyboard player who looks like he needs some much needed shut eye,i caught him staring at the back of his eyelids on more than one occasion(lovely fella)and the drummers snare drum is completely destroyed after the first couple of numbers, and that beautiful battered strat looking just as battered as it did twenty years previously, althogh he dons a gorgeous sounding telecaster in 'i could have had religion'(this certainly wakes noddy the keyboard player up)Disc 1 contains gigs from 75 77 79 85,and for 15 pounds sterling you just can,t complain because my earholes were well and truly fried after blasting all this masterful blues and rock guitar played by a an absoloute legend,i love rory as a person as well as a musician,he even goes and talks to someone in the audience whilst he,s playing in the 75 gig!

if you want to see him in his hey day these earlier concerts will show you his stage prowess and energy that i don,t think any other guitar player really comes close to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True and full of passion, 31 Mar. 2006
This review is from: The Definitive Montreux Collection [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Rory, the G-Man who played full of passion ALWAYS. Due to my information this will be a 2CD set selected from his several performances in Montreux. The setlist should be:
DVD 1, 1975: Tattoo'd Lady - Garbage Man - Cradle Rock - Tore Down - Laundromat 1977: I Take What I Want - Calling Card - Secret Agent - Bought And Sold - A Million Miles Away - Do You Read Me - Pistol Slapper Blues 1979: Shin Kicker - The Last Of The Independents - Mississippi Sheiks - Too Much Alcohol - Shadowplay 1985: Bad Penny - Moonchild - Banker's Blues - Philby - Big Guns
DVD 2, 1994: Continental Op - Moonchild - I Wonder Who - The Loop - Tattoo'd Lady - I Could Have Had Religion - Ghost Blues - Out On The Western Plain -Amazing Grace - Walking Blues(he played this one already with The Taste) - Blue Moon Of Kentucky - Off The Handle - Messin' With The Kid - I'm Ready
This is a more than fantastic edition, highest recommendition! I hope they'll release the complete material some day (soon!). Enjoy this fantastic music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars EVEN JOHN LENNON WAS A FAN, 29 May 2007
This review is from: The Definitive Montreux Collection [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
This is a great DVD document of Rory Gallagher's shows at montreux.In the past the festival has been famous because of a casino fire and a certain Smoke On The Water song.Rory Gallagher has provided us with plenty of his own flames since then.Although sadly no longer with us this 2 disc Dvd is a real treasure.
Disc one features 4 concerts from 1975,1977 followed by '79 and 1985.The stages are smaller for the first four concerts and you get the closeness of the crowd which clearly inspires Rory and he in turn rewards them with stunning performances.From his fresh faced '75 gig brief highlights include Tattoo'd Lady,Tore Down.Two years later he returns with the mindblowing blues A Million Miles Away.1979's gig has Shin kicker as opener and the lightning fast Shadowplay complete with TOWEL guitar sacrifice (well almost).1985 with masterly performances of Bad Penny,Moonchild and the exotic eastern sounds of Philby amazing.
Disc 2 has a 1994 concert this is a complete concert on a much larger stage.I cannot believe how good his slide guitar playing is on I Could Have Had Religion.Talk about making something look easy, I don't think the world has ever seen a better slide guitar player.
Disc 2 also features bonus tracks of Pistol Slapper Blues and Too Much Alcohol.Followed by 1977 bonus of Western Plain Medley.Barley And Grape Rag,Pistol Slapper..and Going Home To My Hometown.Finally 1985 with Walking Blues.This is a great archive from a star performer, guitarist,singer and songwriter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lets go to work!!, 9 July 2006
By 
F. Clark "clarkie3000" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Definitive Montreux Collection [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I actually spied this on the shelf next to the Rockpalast collection which I intended to buy and decided to pick this one up as well. I was simply blown away.. I've been a Rory Gallagher fan for some time now and have always regretted that I never got the chance to see him play live. Anyone with a bit of musical knowledge has heard of the Montreux Jazz Festival and seeing him on this DVD playing there on 5 seperate occasions is just too good to miss. Rory's performance is blinding all the way through and there's some great interplay between him and his other band members.

One of the things I've always loved about Rory is that he had an infectious enthusiasm and joy for playing that just shined out of him and got the audience jumping (and if you dont at find yourself at least creasing into a smile and tapping your feet to 'Shin Kicker' then there's something wrong with you..

Technically this DVD is very good with the picture and sound quality being uniformly excellent given that its a festival recording. The menus are also clear and well laid out. The camerawork is great and most importantly focuses a lot on Rory's playing as well as the other band members.

All in all I cant think of a reason not to buy this, particularly when its about 1/3 of the price of the Rockpalast collection. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different Class!!, 11 Sept. 2007
This review is from: The Definitive Montreux Collection [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Wow! This is an excellent double dvd which really brings his music to life. I was introduced to Rory's music 3 years ago around my 30th birthday and now i just cant get enough!! For those who are existing fans, is it just me or does this man really get into your soul or what?? For those not really familiar with him , then all i can say is buy this and be hooked like the rest of us. For all the reviews i have heard or read i have yet to experience any that are not blown away by him. It seems to be the whole package though...the playing, the voice, the feel, the sound, the warmth, the passion and the genuine nature that comes across.
Back to the dvd... The 70s shows are so exciting and vibrant with my fav being Million Miles Away, its like the music and blues are oozing out his pores! Again like other reviews i have difficulty enjoying the 94 gig fully, knowing he wasnt right. Still amazing though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Rory In More Ways Than One, 16 July 2006
By 
M. Tanner - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Definitive Montreux Collection [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
A thoroughly entertaining trawl through Rory's appearances at the legendary Montreux Festival. Includes one of the best of his latter day shows (1994) in it's entirety. I would disagree with the previous review slating the technical quality. Some of this material is over 30 years old. Given that it's very good quality. In this digital era some people's expectations of vintage material to look as though it was recorded yesterday are unrealistic. Anyway it's the music that matters and there's plenty of great stuff here! The legendary SHADOWPLAY from 1979 for one. I have only 1 minor criticism. One performance is repeated (PISTOL SLAPPER BLUES from 1977). It appears at the end of the 1977 show following a very obvious edit (watch the guitar!) then also is included in the bonus acoustic section on disc 2. It would have been better to leave it off disc 1 altogether. As i say a very minor one!! I personally would have liked to have seen all the montreux shows in their entirety

but that's just the completist in me. Who knows though it happended with ROCKPALAST so fingers crossed!! Buy this DVD you will not be disappointed if you truly love Rory's music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars recommended, 17 Nov. 2006
This review is from: The Definitive Montreux Collection [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
As others have said, the only disappointment is the material that was left out. Fine performances all round by a unique performer.

I wondered about 1994 because he looked weary, but the warmth and unique playing was still there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a must have - for everyone!, 3 May 2006
This review is from: The Definitive Montreux Collection [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Two discs of non-stop excellence, spanning almost 20 years of the career of Rory Gallagher, in his natural habitat, onstage. Sheer genius from start to finish, and what a finish, the 1994 performance is stunning, with outstanding renditions of Off The Handle and Tattoo'd Lady, plus a jam with Bela Fleck which is a joy to watch.

If you're a Rory fan, you really don't want to miss this!

And if you've just heard the name and are wondering what all the fuss is about, watch this and find out!

Thanks to all who put this great collection together, and above all, thanks a million Rory, for everything.

Fire, passion, dedication, great songwriting (something that's often overlooked), blistering guitar playing, unique vocal style, and stage presence to spare!

They don't make them like you anymore, that's for sure!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Definitive Montreux Collection [DVD] [2006]
£14.02
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews