Customer Reviews


57 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spans the Big O's career but note a few rerecordings, 30 April 2006
By 
Jeff Pearlman (Lakeland, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential (Audio CD)
The only compilation among a gazillion to span Orbison's Sun, Monument, MGM, and Virgin successes is a welcome add to the Essential series that now, post-merger, features RCA & Arista artists as well as Sony's. Roy Orbison is one of my absolute favorites. He simply may be the best rock 'n' roll singer ever.

Amazon UK does well to specify the few re-recorded versions; while the originals should be here, the remakes are a legit part of Mr. Orbison's career. Roy's popularity was at a deeply undeserved lull circa 1987, when David Lynch used some Roy songs in his classic/eerie film "Blue Velvet." In the wake of renewed public interest*, Roy released an LP of remakes called "In Dreams" (Virgin, 1987). It was very well done, an exception proving the rule that rerecordings are rubbish. The Wilburys, the live "Black and White Night," and "Mystery Girl" followed and the pop world was much better off for it. Then, tragically, Roy died in December 1988, rendering perhaps Rock History's best comeback bittersweet. "You Got It"'s ensuing Top Ten ranking in early 1989 is one of my all-time favorite chart events.

If I could, I'd dock this a half a star for not including the original of the #1 single "Running Scared." (Note definition of "essential.") It's just over two minutes long. Somehow they could have made room. But since it's Roy Orbison, I rounded back up to five rather than four.

*It seems Bobby Vinton did not enjoy the same resurgence. The reader may draw his/her own conclusions as to why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mr Ooby Dooby's finest... in two discs!, 31 Oct. 2010
By 
Cella Mauro - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Roy Orbison (Audio CD)
This CD set is clearly aimed at everyone who wants to have a good look at Roy Orbison's musical career without purchasing the superb but expensive The Soul of Rock and Roll boxset.
All the iconic hits are here: Pretty Woman, Crying, Love Hurts... as well as some the less known gems. Some of the songs a re-recording of the originals but it can be forgiven given the excellent value for money of this CD set.
Whatever you want to know better the giant who influenced modern music so much or please a music fan with something more than the usual one-hit wonder CD, this is the way to go.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Essential Roy Orbison, 6 July 2009
This review is from: The Essential Roy Orbison (Audio CD)
The Essential Roy Orbison includes all the key songs by the super writer/performer and is well presented. I fully recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'GREAT MEMORIES OF THIS QUALITY ARTIST', 22 May 2015
By 
rbmusicman/and/movie-fan' (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I do have several albums of 'Roy Orbison' in my music collection including a A and B sides double of all his 60's Hits, of course
as followers of this class-act will know, many of the B-Sides were indeed as good as the A-Side releases, so that is a prize
possession i have.
Many of the albums i have does not include the hits that Charted following his passing in late 88' those that do have many album
tracks also and not so many of the 60's Hit-Material, this release however more or less does both, though i do have to point out
that one or two of his 60's favourites such as - 'Borne on The Wind' and 'Goodnight' are not in fact included, that aside, many of
our fond memories are.
For myself, as i'm certain is the case for many followers of 60's favourites such as 'The Big O' you cannot put a price on memories.
Among the favourites upon disc One - 'Oh Pretty Woman' (Chart '1' U.K 964)......'Only The Lonely' (Chart '1' U.K 1960) this being
his first U.K success - 'Love Hurts' (not released as a single in the U.K of course the song proved a winner in further years for artists
such as - 'The Walker Brothers' and 'Nazareth' ) ......'Running Scared' (Chart '9' U.K 1961) this is certainly one of my favourites which
in fact topped the U.S Charts - 'The Crowd' (Chart '40' U.K) another favourite of mine, though it's Chart-Success didn't, for me, reflect
the quality of that one......'Falling' (Chart '9' U.K 1963)......and.....'It's Over' (Chart '1' U.K 1964) must admit when i saw 'Roy' on stage
back then, he had to do around three encore's of that one before finally leaving the stage.....just a few of the great memories to be
found among the play-list on the first disc, on disc two......'You Got It' (Chart '3' U.K 1989)......'I Drove All Night' (Chart '7' U.K 1992)
of course both 'Cyndi Lauper' and 'Celine Dion' had success with that one, all three versions, for me, are worth owning......'In Dreams'
(1987 Version) the song was a number '6' hit for 'Roy' back in 1963......'She's A Mystery To Me' (Chart '27' U.K 1989) with his version
of great songs such as - 'Unchained Melody' and a list of lower order Chart entries such as - 'Crawling Back' and 'Walk On' included
upon the play-listings of the second disc.
This is a great reflection of this 'All-Time-Great' artist works down the years, an artist that could sing as well on-stage as on record...
A Great Collectable (currently just £4.99 on this site.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Essential Roy Orbison, 4 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Roy Orbison (Audio CD)
This compliation CD gives clear evidence of the brilliance and unique singing style of one of the icons of 20th C popular music. Outstanding entertainment, not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roy Orbison, 6 Oct. 2009
By 
Mr. S. Walker "Stephen Walker" (edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Roy Orbison (Audio CD)
This double cd album has everything and is probably the best Roy Orbison album you can get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction, 15 Mar. 2009
This review is from: The Essential Roy Orbison (Audio CD)
I'm a new convert to the music of Roy Orbison, after a couple of very good recent television programmes which featured his life and music. This compilation seems to me an excellent starting point to explore his music, with everything from his earliest rock and roll hits to his later songs included. Purists, may quibble, but I'm enjoying it very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE VERY BEST OF THE ESSENTIAL, 13 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've been looking to downsize my huge collection a bit by picking up on the major artists that I admire which form a backbone to what I own -- the Presleys, the Cashes, the Jerry Lees, the Everlys etc (the classics), then finding a single CD which covers a good cross section of their whole career. I've elected to do this in the Big O's case and this particular double fits the bill admirably. There's oodles to choose from, but here we have all the originals, from his very early rockin' days with Sun, to his highly successful period with Monument Records (not lesser quality re-recordings made 'for contractual reasons'), plus the work he did in his 'middle' not quite so successful career, and then the newer stuff he did when it was re-vitalized by the likes of Jeff Lynne before Roy's untimely death. Such a fantastic voice, admired by so many, not to mention his other abilities as both a song writer and a guitar player. This is definitely the one! Now my racks are a little bit emptier and there's stuff for sale ... over to Ebay!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of The Greats, 11 May 2013
By 
Silver Surfer "James" (Nottingham, Nottinghamshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Coverage of his early stuff and his later stuff. All good from a great performer, a real rock legend in his own right and his inclusion in the Traveling Wilburys underlines his status.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good buy, 11 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like all is old hits, But I don't like a lot of the other songs perhaps I was just spoiled, saw him a few times in is early years,"THE TALL TEXAN" GOOD VALUE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Essential Roy Orbison
The Essential Roy Orbison by Roy Orbison (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews