Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun and Tough
Had this for a week now. When you fire it up, you first run through a tutorial which shows you all the moves available - this is very useful, and the basics are very easy to learn and pick up. The game is great fun to play overall - lots of high speed action, tension when the rallies get going, and some great visuals.

It can get a little frustrating - I find...
Published on 31 May 2006 by J. Millward

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Table Tennis
i got this game on the strengh of other reviews and because it was exceptionally cheap as a second hand copy, and the comments i make are done so after only a very few hours play! This is on the whole a very difficult game to play!!!! i read other reviews that refered to how much like real table tennis the game was, however having played both this and real table tennis, i...
Published on 24 Oct. 2010 by Ian M


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun!, 22 Jan. 2007
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Table Tennis (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Yeah yeah, it's ping-pong. A bit of a waste of the 360's power, I know, but it's mad fun!

I found it a bit frustrating at first - for some reason I couldn't get the hang of it - but perservered for a few minutes and when it finally clicked I could see what the fuss was about. It's very satisfying to win a hard-fought rally, and the control that the different shots give you is brilliant. The graphics are very detailed and it looked brilliant on my standard telly.

The down-side is that there's a very limited choice of characters and bonus features, but for 15 quid you couldn't do better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Game for a laugh!, 19 Jun. 2006
By 
R. Pringle (Scottish Borders) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Table Tennis (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Rockstar table tennis is one of the best simulations of any sport and just as much fun as all the others aswell.

If like me, you are on LIVE then it just gets better with Exhibition matches, Tournaments either timed or point based and also the option to spectate on you fellow Live players.

Graphically this is on of the nicest looking games to date. It's very fluid and i have yet to find a flaw. Basically Rockstar Table Tennis excels if you are looking for a game for you and your mates to get stuck into and just have a laugh. I love it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Value for money, 11 Feb. 2007
By 
Nawm (Twickenham) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Table Tennis (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
For the price it's great. The details put into the characters are excellent but it's let down by some bad controls. As a "pick up and play" game it's great, but it quickly becomes frustrating in one player mode. Stricly for after the pub with mates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ping Pong with Power, 27 July 2010
By 
Paul R. Norton "cutsey-cuddly" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Table Tennis (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
It aint your mother's ping pong!

This game makes you sweat - just like the players in the game. It's easy to learn and difficult to master. Great game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best sports games ever, 28 May 2006
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Table Tennis (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Rockstar does it again. Another fantastic title that is utterly addictive - everything that is in the actual game is here. Yes there is no career mode, but what really gives a game longevity is the online play and you'll be playing this for months. Unlike a lot of titles, there is absolutely no lag at all.

If you're considering to go for this or Top Spin 2, get this - it's 1000% better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Simple is best, 8 Jun. 2006
By 
M. T. Weston "markwezzy" (Lutterworth, Leics) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Table Tennis (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The premise that the simple ideas are usually the best ones is correct. This is even more appropriate for this game. Who would have though that knocking a virtual table tennis ball about would prove to be so addictive? As soon as I picked up the controller I couldn't put it down. Going bed at 2.30am and getting up for work at 7am four days on the trot doesn't help things. But as with all great games the more you play the better it gets. You learn as you go whether it is tactics against computer-controlled players, which you can use on Xbox Live, or new shots.

The only down side is the longevity of the game. Once mastered will you want to carry on? Hence one star will be knocked off. Then only saving grace might be tournaments on Xbox Live in the future. But then will the standard be too high for an old fogey like me?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars table tennis, 27 May 2006
By 
Mr. Paul Mitchell "lurch" (st albans ,u.k) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Table Tennis (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
i found this game to be brilliant in its execution.the graphics are amazing and so is the gameplay.i have to however question its longevity as you cannot improve your character's stats.but all in all this is a must buy for any xbox 360 owners.can't wait for table tennis 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Next Gen Pong!, 29 May 2006
By 
Scott Murdoch (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Table Tennis (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Basically this game is next gen pong. But when pong came out, it was insanely addictive much like this game. It has a basic tournament structure to play through which is fairly challenging and is very easy to just pick up and play or spend a whole day ploughing through it. Once you have completed the Single player games get a friend round and play them or take the game on to Xbox Live where you can play individual games or tournamnets ranked or unranked, the online play is good but would be even better if i could avoid players with hideous lag as it really does ruin the game. If you manage to avoid the lag the online play is excellent. This game is MUCH cheaper than any other next gen title and is a great game to play online or with mates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars an interesting idea...., 21 July 2006
By 
Mr. D. Hunter (Suffolk, United kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Table Tennis (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I like the idea of this game. using all the power available to the developers to do one simple thing, focusing on getting one type of game as close to perfect as possible.

I also loved the price; releasing a xbox 360 game that was cheaper than standard games (most of which had been £49.99 up until that point) was a lovelly way of interesting alot of players.

This is also coming from one of the best companys around at this time, in my opinion. When rockstar announced this as their first next-gen game i was a mixture of excited, worried and slightly dissapointed.

If you were to mention rockstar games to most gamers, everybody will instantnly say 'grand theft auto' or 'manhunt'. both these games have been a huge success and controversial, both being quite violent but well designed and made.

For rockstar to suddenly decide to make a game about table tennis is a strange idea. I, for one, was completly dumb-founded by the announcement.

After playing the game though, i can see the reason for it. it is all about experience. if they jumped straight into the new grand theft auto on the next-gen consoles the expectation would be immense and this could lead to a dissappointment when the game was released.

But by making this game first has not only given them time to get used to making games for the next gen consoles, but also made all the die-hard fans have to forget about gta for a while, as it isn't going to be finished for quite some time.

The table tennis game itself is quite a surprise to. i expected it to be a typical 'tennis' type game, which are, for me, incredibly boring and often frustrating. This game, however, is slightly different.

The controls are a very intuative set-up, with each of the face buttons (a, b, x and y) representing a type of spin; they key to the game is the ball spin. when your opponent strikes the ball it you will see a color around the ball indicating the type of spin and you must consider the direction you should hit the ball and the type of spin.

The trouble comes from the sheer speed of the game. much like real world table tennis the game is very fast and frantic. you don't have much time to catch your breath, or to think about strategy, between hitting the ball and recieving it again.

The are still a number of issues with the game. The game is still infinatly infuriating in 1 player, due to the way the game will go from easy to insanly difficult between each point. This is a similar problem that many 1 player games have (such as playing against bots in counter strike source) the skill level swings suddenly if the game decides you are playing to well and it is insanly infuriating.

i also find that when push comes to shove, i end up playing the same game over and over again. direct the ball right, then left, then right, then left. over and over and eventually they'll mess up.

But these are only to minor issues with the game, and don't matter if you just want the game for multiplayer.

Overall i would rate the game very well and recommend to anybody, unless you have a short temper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars makes the sport of table tennis truly shine, 14 Mar. 2015
This review is from: Table Tennis (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
A humble game that manages to make the sport of table tennis truly shine.
Once you get into the game there's only you, your opponent and the props.
The visual presentation of the game allows you to focus 100% on the tough technical gameplay.
It creates the kind of focus in the gamer that all good sports game should be able to create.
While there's not that much content, considering how cheap the game is today its well worth it.
In any case, what makes sports games so addictive to me is the technical gameplay and endless replayability.
And this is a very challenging game, where the game-pace is very fast and requires full concentration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Table Tennis (Xbox 360)
Table Tennis (Xbox 360) by Take 2 Interactive (Xbox 360)
£9.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews