Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for school.
Used this for Victorian project at school and it was really useful. Lots of information and bringing it to life for the students. Excellent.
Published on 6 Jan. 2013 by Deborah Clare

versus
48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad
Life in Victorian Britain(1995) is an OK documentary using excellent pictures and photographs of the age. The sound quality is poor on the DVD but apart from that its watchable. I recommend this for beginners in the victorian era, it covers most parts of the era from lower classes to upper classes, industry and empire and has interviews and dramatised readings. The DVD...
Published on 31 July 2007 by Dan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 31 July 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life in Victorian Britain [DVD] (DVD)
Life in Victorian Britain(1995) is an OK documentary using excellent pictures and photographs of the age. The sound quality is poor on the DVD but apart from that its watchable. I recommend this for beginners in the victorian era, it covers most parts of the era from lower classes to upper classes, industry and empire and has interviews and dramatised readings. The DVD is one hour long, and also includes a picture gallery. Not a brilliant dvd but i learned alot from it so i recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars cannot recall I was so disappointed. I thought it was aimed at young children ..., 18 Aug. 2014
By 
Mrs. Carole Buttle (Kent UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life in Victorian Britain [DVD] (DVD)
Amateur and scratchy. Threw it away, or gave it away, cannot recall I was so disappointed. I thought it was aimed at young children as a sort of history lesson, rather than a historical journey for Adults depicting life as it was in Victorian times. I thought the film was shoddy, and a waste of money. Would never recommend it to anyone. Not even to schools to show to children. Definitely not something I would spend any money on again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor documentary, 17 Mar. 2014
By 
Mr. R. W. E. Hall "BH" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life in Victorian Britain [DVD] (DVD)
A very poor quality DVD with little or no in depth information regarding victorian life in general more detail can be found in other cheaper sources.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Life in Victorian Britain, 10 Aug. 2009
By 
C. W. Bradbury (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Life in Victorian Britain [DVD] (DVD)
This is an interesting DVD, which does pack in a lot of good information. However,I find the constant 'criticism' over the class system of Victoria's age both unnecessary and hypocritical. We in the West today are living with even greater differences in real wealth between rich and poor than they had then.

Victoria's reign was in fact England's heroic age. A time in which the population, industrial and military strength of both Great Britain and Europe, all grew faster for longer; than ever before or since. It was an age that saw a highly sucessful English ruling class create the largest Empire the world has ever seen. This Empire in turn allowed the establishment of the first genuinely worldwide economic system; a system we all benefit from even today.

The Victorian educational system was, in it's day, the best in the world bar none; as were the British engineering, banking, shipbuilding, and railway industries. In medical and scientific research, England took a world lead which has only recently been lost; and many other Victorian achievements could easily be added to this list.

To conclude; this programme does have a lot to offer, but I feel that there was far more positive information on Victoria's age which could have been included in order to give a more balanced view. Life In Victorian Britain [DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars victorian Britain, 8 Nov. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life in Victorian Britain [DVD] (DVD)
I ordered dvd this hoping I could use it as part of my Project Victorian Britain with my class of nine year olds. It was very interesting but too adult for them. Perhaps this could have been mentioned in the description?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars What an awful resource. The music throughout is too ..., 20 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life in Victorian Britain [DVD] (DVD)
What an awful resource. The music throughout is too loud and you can hardly hear the speakers - and as for them they drone on and on with very little use of images etc. My intention was to use it with my class - I couldn't!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for school., 6 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life in Victorian Britain [DVD] (DVD)
Used this for Victorian project at school and it was really useful. Lots of information and bringing it to life for the students. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hardly worth it. Too shallow., 26 Feb. 2013
By 
Alan Jones (Melbourne.Australia.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life in Victorian Britain [DVD] (DVD)
A very quick and superficial approach to Victorian Life in Britain. Probably at late Primary School level. . Not worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The History File, 3 Jun. 2011
By 
M. Taplin "mikekoi" (Weston-super-Mare, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life in Victorian Britain [DVD] (DVD)
I missed this series of programmes when televised so I bought the series. Worth every penny. Informative and insightful. Some drollery but lots of facts.
Was left wanting more, but I think that is a sign of its quality rather than incompleteness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I Like History, 23 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life in Victorian Britain [DVD] (DVD)
I like looking back into history, and it shows how far we have come in a few short years.very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Life in Victorian Britain [DVD]
Life in Victorian Britain [DVD] by The History File (DVD - 2006)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews