Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb
Absolutely superb. An orchestra that deals with Bruckner is perfect for Glass: the spaciousness, the blocks of sound. Dennis Russell Davies is brilliant here, and through him we see an interesting development in the music of Glass. Passions hinted at in Glass' film soundtracks are explicit here: the second movement is emotionally involving, and the third movement is...
Published 23 months ago by Phlegethon

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quiet joy
I always think of PG as audio-wallpaper. As we age, I begin to appreciate the consistency that mathematicians make their "break-throughs" in their early maturity. PG's imagery has transformed from the fecundity of the motion, colour and detail of - say - William Morris to the still expansiveness of Mark Rothko
Published 5 months ago by G. Best


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 18 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Symphony No.8 (Audio CD)
Absolutely superb. An orchestra that deals with Bruckner is perfect for Glass: the spaciousness, the blocks of sound. Dennis Russell Davies is brilliant here, and through him we see an interesting development in the music of Glass. Passions hinted at in Glass' film soundtracks are explicit here: the second movement is emotionally involving, and the third movement is probably the most moving music Glass has written. These two movements are also inventive. The first movement also boils with ideas; what could be a schematic presentation of variations becomes a thrilling torrent. At some points, Glass' familiar swirls become a violent threshing.
There's a lot of Glass out there: a lot average, some poor, some excellent. But this really is magnificent- if only he was this good more often. I would recommend this fantastic recording to Glass fans, and to people who don't particularly like him, or even haven't heard a note of his music. Like his Symphony No.9 I would also recommend it to those who enjoy Bruckner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A competent performance of a standard Glassian work., 19 April 2007
By 
Nicholas Casley (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Symphony No.8 (Audio CD)
Philip Glass himself writes in the CD sleeve a brief introduction that is both forthright and yet cryptic to this work. He tells us the form of each of the three movements but there is no explanation for why he chose those forms or any inkling behind the inspiration for the content. The result, for me, is a disjointed work, each of the three movements seeming to bear little contact with the others.

Much of the content is standard Glassian fare. The opening movement is very good, very strident and full of thematic riches with interesting developments. The second movement is a passacaglia that progresses slowly under its own leaden weight rather than by the intrinsic rhythm. The final movement is again, for me, weighed down by its own langour. No movement could stand on its own, and yet neither do they relate to each other. The result is a patchy and ultimately unsatisfactory work.

That being said, the performance by the Bruckner Orchestra under Dennis Russell Davies is very good. They commissioned the work, having previously given the European premier of Glass's sixth symphony. They demonstrate here the required strong rhythmic discipline and a richness of sound that cannot be faulted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quiet joy, 9 Feb. 2015
By 
G. Best - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Symphony No.8 (Audio CD)
I always think of PG as audio-wallpaper. As we age, I begin to appreciate the consistency that mathematicians make their "break-throughs" in their early maturity. PG's imagery has transformed from the fecundity of the motion, colour and detail of - say - William Morris to the still expansiveness of Mark Rothko
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 18 April 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Symphony No.8 (Audio CD)
For anyone considering Glass is not first rate they should buy this. Mature and profound. The second movement particularly so. A wonderful piece of music I had to play it again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of his best., 13 Mar. 2011
By 
D. E. Potts - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Symphony No.8 (Audio CD)
The first movement of his 8th is one of the best peices he has wrote. Every now and again Glass comes up with something special, I thought his 6th Symphony was very good too.

The style is the same, using a full orchestra to chug along the familiar Glass rhythms only this peice is life affirming stuff!

If you are a fan then you already have this, but if you are new to Glass then I can recommend it wholeheartedly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 16 Oct. 2010
By 
W. N. E. Meredith "William" (Chester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Symphony No.8 (Audio CD)
I guess Glass is unfashionable since he is so prolific and for other reasons I am not aware of. I keep looking in the FT and the Sunday Times for reviews of his new work and have yet to see one.

But I like Glass. Not all Glass. But Low Symphony, Heroes and now this. I really think this music is underated. Try it. This is a good one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Symphony No.8 (Audio CD)
brilliant and brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Symphony No.8
Symphony No.8 by Philip Glass (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews