Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great alternative to traffic updates
There are some great pieces of music to be had on this collection, and plenty to keep you just under the boiling point during the rush hour madness. CD1 (movie themes rather than classical recordings) will probably be the one most listened to but there are also some real gems on the Baroque and Piano CD's. There are some production and recording issues, with one voice or...
Published on 15 Nov 2006 by C. Shanaghy

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rushed, nasty , populist machination: not being elitist but at least 50% of this is simply speeded up or slowed down!
I am not being in anyway snobby - but as a total classical and jazz nut - and a really keen player - and someone who LOVES soundtracks this should have hit it out of the park for me. And it did. But NOT in a good way. Honestly, you would be better to listen to real artists on YouTube and compare. Music is more than harmony it is also tempo and this really is a shoddy...
Published on 1 Mar 2012 by intelegant


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great alternative to traffic updates, 15 Nov 2006
By 
C. Shanaghy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There are some great pieces of music to be had on this collection, and plenty to keep you just under the boiling point during the rush hour madness. CD1 (movie themes rather than classical recordings) will probably be the one most listened to but there are also some real gems on the Baroque and Piano CD's. There are some production and recording issues, with one voice or instrument clearly audible above the rest on some tracks but this is a minor niggle and one which shouldn't prevent you from purchasing (or better still, adding it to the wishlist)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars hours of listening pleasure, 21 Sep 2007
6 CDs for about 10 can't be bad but this really impressed me - unlike some compilations that go for lightweight/woolly mini orchestration, the production values are pretty high and the selections on each CD are very impressive. I bought it as a 'one-stop' alternative to hunting/playing individually selected tracks from my existing classical CD collection and find it does that job nicely when I'm feeling lazy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing value, 17 Mar 2010
By 
AV maestro (Sutton Coldfield) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent 6 CD compilation and excellent value. What is not immediately obvious from the title or publicity is that with two or three exceptions (Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings, Star Wars) virtually all the tracks are clips from classical pieces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FILM 100, 1 Jan 2009
I often find compilations a bit of a gamble, however a 10 punt here is no disapointment. Every CD is a gem and packed with quality recordings which we have enjoyed listening to over and over, Something for all moods and worthy of taking to your imaginery desert island.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The King Of The Compilations, 3 Feb 2008
If you're looking for any CD's with movie music, this would be my first, and only, stop. There's something for everyone, and although stuff like the Indiana Jones theme is missing, and the opera CD (Disc 5) is a little week, the likes of "Ride of the Valkiryies" and "Ode to Joy" is just timeles, and best of all, immortalised by the films they're featured in, the compliment of all compliments to these films. It's very cheap to, I would highly recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC CD SO MUCH PLEASURE, 28 April 2013
By 
Ms. J. C. Croskell (PRESTON ,LANCS) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Best Film Classics (Audio CD)
BOUGHT THIS FOR GLADIATOR AND SCHINDLERS LIST THEMES....SUPERB CLASSICAL MUSIC AT ITS BEST.SOME FANTASTIC FILM SCORES AND MUCH MORE...MAGIC BRILLIANT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great starter piece, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Best Film Classics (Audio CD)
Ok, bad point - some of the recordings are not the greatest that they have ever been played, remember these are real people not manufactured/synthesized pop rubbish.

Good points - everything else, I havent been listening to classic for too long (a couple of years) and thought this CD would be a great addition to my fledgling collection, lets face it 100 tracks for 10, 6 cd's, some great selections on here.

Go for it, you wont regret it.........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
This review is from: 100 Best Film Classics (Audio CD)
Same as Cinema Century
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Covers all you need, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Best Film Classics (Audio CD)
A lovely balance of everything,makes for a good mind game of Guess the film if u don't bother to read the list!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 2 April 2013
By 
R. Dodd (S Yorks, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You can almost taste the popcorn, smell the crowd and hear the snogging on the back row. Good introduction to movies for deaf people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

100 Best Film Classics
100 Best Film Classics by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews