Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wilkie's Jewel ...
These days, they would probably have hired a real diamond and blown the production budget on insurance.

In the good old days of Sunday Teatime Classic serials, a piece of yellow cut glass was more than sufficient to play the title role of 'The Moonstone'.

Remember that these things were usually in five or six episodes, a week apart. That meant they...
Published on 5 Jan 2010 by Green Knight

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very accurate but rather restrained adaptation
This BBC adaptation ticked all the boxes, but it still failed to fire my imagination.

The acting is fine, costumes and settings in period and faithful to the novel, but somehow the actors never seem to really relate to the characters and plot.

Nobody will be disappointed with this BBC production, but neither will they be very excited.
Published on 16 April 2008 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wilkie's Jewel ..., 5 Jan 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Moonstone [DVD] (DVD)
These days, they would probably have hired a real diamond and blown the production budget on insurance.

In the good old days of Sunday Teatime Classic serials, a piece of yellow cut glass was more than sufficient to play the title role of 'The Moonstone'.

Remember that these things were usually in five or six episodes, a week apart. That meant they had to have something about them to pull the audience back after a whole seven days' distractions. And back we flocked.

'The Moonstone' is a good corking yarn with an intricate plot and some excellent characters. Vivien Heilbron, Robin Ellis, and Martin Jarvis turn up trumps - with a lovely supporting cast of familiar faces: I have always liked the late Anna Cropper as an actress. There was something mysterious about her, and she is perfect as Roseanna Spearman, the hump-backed servant with a dark secret.

This studio-based '70s production has the usual hallmarks of good design and lighting, and the whole has a great sense of atmosphere, aided by the sometimes grainy 16mm footage of the exteriors.

Have this and enjoy it. It offends nobody, and it's good spooky family viewing. It's a reminder that not everything has to be condensed into a rapid-fire 90-minute lavish 'special' to make excellent telly.

A gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars old but mellow, 27 Jun 2006
By 
Julie Cutler - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Moonstone [DVD] (DVD)
If you wanted to prove to yourself that Robin Ellis could act - since I never remember him in anything but Poldark - Series 1 - Part 1 [1975]- sample this one. He acts restrained and confused and is a perfect match for the hero/villain. I found this a gripping version of Mr Collins' classic, if a leetle dated. However for those of you unaware of the tortutous plot it waived all the clues in your face to prevent you getting totally lost. Martin Jarvis is a restrained version of himself- all the better for it. Not so keen on Cuff of the Yard- he doesn't quite have the air of command. Definitely worth curling up on the sofa with the curtains drawn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Faithful to the book, 2 Sep 2010
This review is from: The Moonstone [DVD] (DVD)
An excellent telling of Wilkie Collins' story with the settings and dialogue lifted direct from the book. A joy to watch, with all characters sensitively and realistically portrayed. Also a good feel for the period in which the book is set, rather than, as in more modern costume drama, a sense of taking 21st century characters and placing them in costume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Adaptation of Wilkie Collins' Famous Book., 14 Jan 2014
By 
H. A. Weedon "Mouser" (North Somercotes, Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Moonstone [DVD] (DVD)
The problem with 'The Moonstone' by Wilkie Collins lies not in this BBC version of it but in the original story, which lacks the concise plotting and character development found in the works of some of his well known contemporaries. With this in mind, it's hard to see how the BBC could have made a better job of staging it than in this version. Since, when we read a novel or listen to a radio play we use our imagination to create the environment in which the action is taking place, stage plays, operas etc. present us with a kind of halfway house with the staging suggesting a real life context. Making a film of a book can ruin our enjoyment of the story because it might well destroy a wonderful picture which our imaginations have built up around the story. Often it happens that we think the film or TV version is not true to the original story. My view is that this version of 'The Moonstone' is as true to the original as one can expect in a TV adaptation.

Sometimes when a work is described as 'dated' it is a great compliment because some of the old productions produced with older technology are much better than more recent versions. It reminds me of the story of two men who were standing near the base of the Great Pyramid in Egypt. 'I don't see the point of it,' said one. 'Go back a few hundred yards and look up,' retorted the other, 'And you'll be able to see point of it well enough. It's right at the very top.' Lots of viewers will love this version of Wilkie Collins famous yarn. Not only has it not spoiled the written version, if anything, it has improved upon it. It's a good buy and I thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bit of 70's Nostalgia, 18 May 2009
By 
This review is from: The Moonstone [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD brought back memories of the old style 70's drama that had the family crowded round the TV set on a Sunday night. The costumes and wigs look quite comical now. But despite that a much better version than the later one with Keeley Hawes and Greg Wise. Who could ever to do a better job at the romantic lead than Ross Poldark?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good old-style drama, 11 Dec 2013
By 
Humphrey J. Jansz (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Moonstone [DVD] (DVD)
Old mini-series. Its' age is showing in the quality of the film. But this is a quite faithful rendering of the book and if you liked that, as many people did, then buy this. The movie does come across as dated and could have done with some artistic licence by the producer and director. It's also slow. But still worth watching. .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good dramatisation, 19 Aug 2013
By 
'Fountain Pen' (London, England, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Moonstone [DVD] (DVD)
Pretty faithful to the novel. Not at all dated. Nicely-paced plot development. Authentic settings, and good acting that avoids being melodramtic. Peter Salis particularly good as the lawyer.
Those who love period drama would be well-rewarded by having it in their collection.
[Purchased through Amazon]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Old but enjoyable, 28 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Moonstone [DVD] (DVD)
I've watched this twice now and it was entertaining both times. The quality is very 70's it could use a remaster, but it wasn't too bad. I haven't read the book yet, but it was one of the first of the "modern" mysteries and you can certainly see that in the story line. The costumes were pretty good too, fairly generic 1860's look but nothing that was glaringly wrong. The acting was pretty good too, sometimes when watching period things I get the feeling the actors are modern people playing "dress-up" but I didn't get that feeling with this. Like all DVD's I get from the UK I copy it to hard drive first which strips out the region code.

There is bonus here for fans of the Elizabeth Peters, Amelia Peabody mysteries as she borrowed the name and characteristic of a certain character in a couple of her books from this (though of course with an "Amelia twist") and it is interesting to see him in his original role.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very accurate but rather restrained adaptation, 16 April 2008
By 
Amazon Customer (Bournemouth UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Moonstone [DVD] (DVD)
This BBC adaptation ticked all the boxes, but it still failed to fire my imagination.

The acting is fine, costumes and settings in period and faithful to the novel, but somehow the actors never seem to really relate to the characters and plot.

Nobody will be disappointed with this BBC production, but neither will they be very excited.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Moonstone, 15 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Moonstone [DVD] (DVD)
The trouble with this version is that it is about 40 years old, and it shows.

It looks like a film of a play. Compared with other dvds it looks and sound old-fashioned. Watched it through but won't do again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Moonstone [DVD]
The Moonstone [DVD] by Paddy Russell (DVD - 2006)
Used & New from: £3.96
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews